We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for car nerds like me”

Larz Anderson Auto Museum - Museum of Transportation
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Brookline
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just ten minutes from downtown Boston and nestled inside the 64 beautiful acres of Larz Anderson Park, the Museum is home to “America’s Oldest Car Collection”. These automobiles form the Museum’s permanent collection and are housed within the Carriage House, built in 1888 and designed by the city architect of Boston, Edmund M. Wheelwright, who was also responsible for several notable Boston structures like the Boston Public Library. The Larz Anderson Auto Museum also offers enjoyable and informative tours, with varied and in-depth discussions on the automobile and its impact on society. Aside from the tour, we offer four different educational programs that range from kindergarten to high school and cover a variety of topics from early transportation to automotive design. Each tour offers hands on artifacts and real life observational tools. Visit the Larz Anderson Auto Museum for a day of exploration and fun that will create lasting memories for you and your group that is guaranteed to stay with you long after you leave.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Interesting for car nerds like me”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pretty great way to spend an afternoon - all sorts of wonderful cars and memorabilia. I particularly liked the oldest of the old cars they had in the kind of basement area. Any time they have a car show out front you should go!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Riptor3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
553 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Admittedly, I am not the world's biggest car buff, but thoght this museum was overrated. Interesting exhibits of cars indoors, but not enough of them to justify the $10 price per person.
Showing clothes that a woman of the period might have worn next to many of the cars was interesting.
On the lawn, there was a hige motorcycle rally. Every weekend in the spring, summer and fall; there are car and motorcycle rallies for different kinds of vehicles.

Helpful?
Thank panpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Musuem - Fantastic location”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Lars Anderson Auto Museum describes itself as being the home to America's oldest car collection. There are any number of museums that are larger, but you would be hard pressed to find one with a better selection. Consider this a true gem worth visiting. Many visitors make this a destination, and it is easy to see why.

The museum itself is in the carriage house of the Larz Anderson estate. The carriage house is in what is now Larz Anderson Park, and that makes for a special visit, too.

On the day our visit the main gallery featured superbly restored and preserved cars that included a Allard and several rarely seen MGs. There were cars on display that we see in books, but rarely in real life. Tucked away in an alcove near the bookstore was a 2002 Ferrari F1 car that was driven by Michael Schumacher. The lower gallery featured a Winton, two Packards, and lots more. There are even classic bicycles on display!

If you are lucky you might discover that on the day of your visit there will be a lawn event. We missed by one day a Ferrari meeting.

The only drawback to our visit was that we went on a very hot day and the carriage house was a bit toasty. But I would expect this to be a rare experience.

If you are in Brookline, MA you should not miss this museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A gem of a find!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I was very fortunate to coincide my visit with a lawn show of Italian cars. A veritable cornucopia of Lancias, Alfas, Fiats, Ferraris and Lamborghinis to add the the interesting contents of the museum.

As an Englishman it was good to see the display around our UK motor industry at the end of WW2 and the Export or Die mentality.

Great way to spend some time for $10 on a beautiful summers day.

Helpful?
Thank Phil223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a fabulous museum on an absolutely glorious estate, and it really comes alive during the summer for its numerous lawn events specializing in specific types of cars. Check out their web site, mot.org, for the dates of the lawn events. This is a great family venue. The membership is well worth the price, as it covers all the lawn events.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bethamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larz Anderson Auto Museum - Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Larz Anderson Auto Museum - Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing