We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolidge Corner Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Judging by some of the other reviews, whether you like this place or not depends on the room you choose. We were in Sunshine on floor 3, with its own bathroom, and found it quiet and comfortable, if a little cramped. Breakfast was 'as described on the tin' and perfectly fine for us and we enjoyed the conversation with the other guests from many different states. The location is superb with access to downtown Boston easy via the T at Coolidge Corner and local restaurants feeding us very well on each of our 3 nights. We even took in a movie at the Coolidge Theatre. Parking for our hire car at $2/night was an added convenience. All in all, a place I'd come back to when in Boston again.

Room Tip: Sunshine (3rd floor with own bathroom) suited us well.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    82
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
86
96
48
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Location is good, but that's about it. Older, noisy house with a very squeaky bed. Every toilet flush was loud. One bathroom shared by 8 adults on our floor. Only had 6 seats at the breakfast table for at least 16 guests. Breakfast itself was continental style, nothing special.

WiFi only worked in the sitting room, not anywhere else.

Air conditioning went out the second night on a very warm evening and didn't even get an apology.

We'll be in a real hotel next time.

We'll be in a real hotel next time, even if it's a couple of bucks more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place was ideal for me to walk to my meetings and back everyday I was in Boston. Nice clean, homely place. Everyone was great. WiFi was non-existent and was told that it would be something that would need fixing but was not done during the time I was there. I considered it something minor given our over dependence on technology. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would choose rooms on the top floor only because of the noises from the plumbing (when the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmeoverthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location of this B&B in Brookline was good for us but the house was old, noisy, and not well appointed for the price. The breakfast was the big disappointment - hardly more than a continental, you could not access the food on your own but had to wait in line in a crowded eating area, six seats for all guests in the home, where the gentleman in charge tried to "serve" you and play traffic cop at the same time. Also, the times of breakfast were not convenient, especially on the weekend. I would search for other options, either B&B or the hotels not far from Coolidge Corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The rooms are small but clean, attractive, and well-cared for. There is a roomy fridge in every room, and WiFi. Hall bathrooms, though shared (in the case of our room and several others), are large, clean, well-appointed with Trader Joe's citrus shampoo and conditioner, hair dryers. Nice towels. Breakfast is quite good with ample fresh fruit selection, cold cereals, good coffee, hard boiled eggs, fresh bagels toasted to order with cream cheese, butter, all-natural peanut butter and an abundant selection of pure fruit preserves. High quality food for discerning tastes. Fresh fruit, cookies and coffee cake are available all day as is coffee. Fellow guests are generally polite and respectful, interesting people from all over the world and usually intellectuals connected with Harvard or another university. Owners/staff/managers are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Outstanding value for the money. Have been there four times and it is our home away from home.

Room Tip: Every room is on the second or third floor and there is no elevator. Be prepared to carry your lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at the Coolidge Corner B&B for three days with my husband and five-year-old daughter, and we all had a great time. The location in Brookline is very handy for the T, and there are numerous restaurants, drug stores, and other services near by. The B&B itself is charming both on the outside with its multi-coloured paint and gingerbread, and on the inside with an eclectic decor. My daughter especially liked the dramatic display of vintage dresses in the stairwell. The rooms are a good size, well-appointed, with cable television, and in our room (13), the most comfortable bed ever! The walls are a tad thin, and the doors do rattle a bit but really it wasn't an issue. We had a shared bath, which worked out just fine (though next time, I probably would book a room with a private bath for convenience). Overall, the B&B is very clean, comfortable, and inviting. The staff who greeted us each day and served tea, coffee and bagels in the morning were all very personable and engaging. We were given great suggestions for restaurants, and areas of town to check out, as well as directions on how to get around. The rate per night is very reasonable for the service we received. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 13 is located on the third floor at the front of the house, so you're up high but can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenM155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in the Coolidge Corner in April 2013 in a private room with attached bath. The room was lovely but the wooden walls meant that you could hear activity in other room sometimes. If you can get around to ignoring this (which I managed to), then the decor is elegant and the guest house is wonderfully clean, and feels cozy and safe for the lone traveler.

I really enjoyed my stay on the whole! The breakfast is continental and a really nice spread: cereal and/or oatmeal, a variety of bagels, jams and preserves, fresh fruits, OJ and organic yoghurt. Tea, coffee, cocoa, cookies and a lovely rich cake are available through the rest of the day to snack on, if the fancy takes you. The breakfast managers are very helpful and friendly and really make you feel at-home. This was important for me since I had traveled from afar (India) and it was my first time in Boston.

Another big plus was the location of the B&B which was very close to the Green line of the T and this makes it wonderfully convenient to go anywhere and everywhere in Boston.

Possibly the only minuses were:
1. The rooms were a little on the expensive side (but I was happy with the service provided)
2. Messages left by my folks from India were not transcribed very efficiently; some of this might have to do with cross-cultural barriers but I feel that an effort made to surmount this will make international customers happy (spell Indian names correctly, for example).

Overall, I was delighted with my stay in this quaint B&B in Brookline...and hope to go back sometime definitely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayathri_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolidge Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolidge Corner Guest House

Property: Coolidge Corner Guest House
Address: 17 Littell Rd, Brookline, MA 02446-6504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coolidge Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coolidge Corner Guest House, a Brookline bed and breakfast, is in a quiet residential neighborhood a 6-minute walk from the nearest Green Line public transit station for access to central Boston. We're a 10 minute drive from downtown Boston MA and close to local colleges, universities, and hospitals. Our family-owned Victorian B&B guesthouse is an affordable and comfortable alternative to luxury inns, hotels, and chain motels. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will help you find the best of Brookline and Boston dining, sight-seeing, transportation and make the most of your stay at The Coolidge Corner Guest House. The guest rooms at this Boston area inn blend antique chic style with modern amenities: flat-screen TVs, free WiFi, cable channels, and central air conditioning. Some guest rooms share bathrooms. Common areas at our Brookline bed and breakfast inn include a private garden, sitting room, and dining room. Guests can also use a kitchenette and laundry facilities. Our expanded Continental breakfast is complimentary and features Boston's best bagels from Kupel's Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coolidge Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed And Bagel
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed & Bagel Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing