We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coolidge Corner Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coolidge Corner Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“A jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Quietest neighborhood. Copious breakfast. Excellent service. Kind owners. Charming room (number 13). Only handicap: doors between rooms instead of walls. If the guest on your left or right is inconsiderate, you have a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedandBagel, Owner at Coolidge Corner Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Daniel,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll be back to see us again! For future stays, we do have two sets of rooms with the option of connecting doors between them: the Green Room and the Captain's Room, and the Bay Room and the Royal Room. Our other rooms are not connected. We encourage guests to contact us directly so we can help them choose the right room for their needs!

Best wishes,

Jessica LaCount
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    81
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
83
94
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is more than 70 year old house in Boston metro. Walls are covered with papers and they are peeling off at many places. Doors of the room were difficult to lock. Even the bathroom door was hard to lock as the lock is probably more than 50 years old. This place needs major repair.

Only good part about this place is its proximity to Boston downtown, easy access to restaurants and world renowned colleges (MIT and Harvard University). Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharthseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedandBagel, Owner at Coolidge Corner Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Siddarth,

I'm sorry to hear that our locks gave you trouble! All of the locks in the building were updated in 2011, but as the house is an original Victorian we do get a few sticky doors from time to time. We're always happy to help out as long as you let us know you need assistance! The wallpaper in your room was replaced in 2011 as well, and most of the other public areas were re-papered in 2012. If we've missed any spots I apologize, and we'll take care of it as soon as possible.

I'm glad you enjoyed our expanded Continental breakfast, including eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, cold cereals, coffee cake, and fresh bagels, and that you found our location convenient.

Best wishes,

Jessica LaCount
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two other girls stayed here for 3 nights. Although its a 20ish minute train ride from the main part of Boston, it was so nice to stay in a quiet and nice place after staying in a New York hostel for a week. The bagels in the morning were yummy (I liked the plain and blueberry best) and was served with pulpy OJ and cereal. We made the most of having a range of teas and a kettle to use whenever we wished, and free cake and cookies. The rooms while not too spacious were always clean and warm, and the linen and towels were of good quality. I would recommend to a couple, but if you're going with more than that be prepared to get a tad squishy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ell60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room was exceptional. Everything was clean and tidy. The housekeepers were always really friendly and happy to help out in planning what to fill your days with. The house itself was in a really nice area, and close enough to the T to get into the city centre within 20 minutes. I would definitely stay here again the next time I visit Boston.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room with a private bathroom, not a necessity but always more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica-Lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here as it is close to the kosher restaurants in Brookline. You are only 5 mins from Coolidge corner. This place is a bit odd as no one is around a night, and the place could do with a little sprouse up and no niceties like a bottle of water in the room. It was clean, the staff I met in the morning were very friendly and knowledgable about the city. the breakfast was nice and I enjoyed chatting to the other guests in the morning. This isn't family run which takes away the charm a bit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nreid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedandBagel, Owner at Coolidge Corner Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're sorry we didn't get a chance to meet you in person during your visit, but please be assured that we are family-owned and operated! (In fact, our entire family lives on the premises, and there is always someone available at night!) We do employ a few trusted staff members to take care of guest needs and we're glad they were friendly and helpful.

Just a note to future guests: although we do not offer bottled water, we do have a water filtration system in the kitchenette, and guests are welcome to help themselves at any time!

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jessica LaCount
The Coolidge Corner Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was there in December to attend a short course in the Cambridge area and being on budget this bed and breakfast turned out to be very good option. Public transport is available at short walk. The place is clean and well maintained and the owners are friendly and courteous. I am not used to shared-baths so I was a bit concerned that how the experience will be like. However apparently there was no one else on my floor so that also worked out just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here on a weekly basis during fall semester while I taught at an area university. It was a very comfortable experience and gave me a sense of stability during a hectic time. The owners and managers are very nice and I enjoyed my interactions with them. A great (and affordable) place to stay if you are in the area. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKFDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolidge Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolidge Corner Guest House

Property: Coolidge Corner Guest House
Address: 17 Littell Rd, Brookline, MA 02446-6504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coolidge Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coolidge Corner Guest House, a Brookline bed and breakfast, is in a quiet residential neighborhood a 6-minute walk from the nearest Green Line public transit station for access to central Boston. We're a 10 minute drive from downtown Boston MA and close to local colleges, universities, and hospitals. Our family-owned Victorian B&B guesthouse is an affordable and comfortable alternative to luxury inns, hotels, and chain motels. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will help you find the best of Brookline and Boston dining, sight-seeing, transportation and make the most of your stay at The Coolidge Corner Guest House. The guest rooms at this Boston area inn blend antique chic style with modern amenities: flat-screen TVs, free WiFi, cable channels, and central air conditioning. Some guest rooms share bathrooms. Common areas at our Brookline bed and breakfast inn include a private garden, sitting room, and dining room. Guests can also use a kitchenette and laundry facilities. Our expanded Continental breakfast is complimentary and features Boston's best bagels from Kupel's Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coolidge Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed & Bagel Hotel Brookline
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed And Bagel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing