We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manky wood smell, great breakfast, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolidge Corner Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manky wood smell, great breakfast, friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here as it is close to the kosher restaurants in Brookline. You are only 5 mins from Coolidge corner. This place is a bit odd as no one is around a night, and the place could do with a little sprouse up and no niceties like a bottle of water in the room. It was clean, the staff I met in the morning were very friendly and knowledgable about the city. the breakfast was nice and I enjoyed chatting to the other guests in the morning. This isn't family run which takes away the charm a bit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BedandBagel, Owner at Coolidge Corner Guest House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We're sorry we didn't get a chance to meet you in person during your visit, but please be assured that we are family-owned and operated! (In fact, our entire family lives on the premises, and there is always someone available at night!) We do employ a few trusted staff members to take care of guest needs and we're glad they were friendly and helpful.

Just a note to future guests: although we do not offer bottled water, we do have a water filtration system in the kitchenette, and guests are welcome to help themselves at any time!

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Jessica LaCount
The Coolidge Corner Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    82
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
86
99
49
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was there in December to attend a short course in the Cambridge area and being on budget this bed and breakfast turned out to be very good option. Public transport is available at short walk. The place is clean and well maintained and the owners are friendly and courteous. I am not used to shared-baths so I was a bit concerned that how the experience will be like. However apparently there was no one else on my floor so that also worked out just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here on a weekly basis during fall semester while I taught at an area university. It was a very comfortable experience and gave me a sense of stability during a hectic time. The owners and managers are very nice and I enjoyed my interactions with them. A great (and affordable) place to stay if you are in the area. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKFDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here on a Thanksgiving visit to Brookline and plan to return again for next year. Even over a holiday weekend we found our hosts very attentive and communicative. A hearty continental breakfast was served each day and the housekeeping staff was thorough and friendly, even accommodating our last-minute request for a rollaway bed in the room. Location was ideal, close to our relatives but with local restaurants and shopping and easy access to the "T."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Perfectly pleasant, good location - and I'm pleased to see the website details now changed since we stayed last week - what was 'can sleep four comfortably', now reads 'up to three', which is much more honest. For the previously advertised four (in the Captain's room) we were very cramped, no hanging space - no floor space! We ended up paying for two rooms, which although inconvenient, was quickly and amicably arranged.

Overall, good basic accommodation in a good location, let down only by the slightly glossy website - it's a fair bit more tired than it looks in the photos, and for all the nice decor, I felt let down by paper plates & cups, and plastic knives and forks. I personally disliked the very strong 'air freshener' odour in the passages too.

Bed and Bagels it is; ignore the bright, airy photos.

Room Tip: Stick with the advertised room occupancy, quality of extra 'pull out' beds is very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

One thing we didn't realize is how lively the Coolidge Corner area is...TONS of great restaurants around, lively entertainment, easy access to the T. Fantastic place to stay, the breakfast was pretty simple but did the job. Bagels, hard boiled eggs, marble cake, cereal, orange juice. The jams offered with the bagels were good haha.

Probably also one of the easiest to stay places...managers were very helpful and other guests were friendly.

My one VERY minor "issue" would be the walls are thin so we could hear the family next door talking...and our bed was very creaky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Quiet residential side street, a block from Harvard St. and the bus, 3 blocks from Coolidge Corner T stop at Beacon and Harvard. Comfortable bed with fresh linens and enough electric outlets to charge all my electronics, good wifi included in room price, always clean shared bathroom, hot shower, fluffy towels, plentiful breakfast, helpful and kind graduate student on duty each day, friendly maid. Great price and exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs from sidewalk to front door and then from the front door to the B and B on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mebhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolidge Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolidge Corner Guest House

Property: Coolidge Corner Guest House
Address: 17 Littell Rd, Brookline, MA 02446-6504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coolidge Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coolidge Corner Guest House, a Brookline bed and breakfast, is in a quiet residential neighborhood a 6-minute walk from the nearest Green Line public transit station for access to central Boston. We're a 10 minute drive from downtown Boston MA and close to local colleges, universities, and hospitals. Our family-owned Victorian B&B guesthouse is an affordable and comfortable alternative to luxury inns, hotels, and chain motels. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will help you find the best of Brookline and Boston dining, sight-seeing, transportation and make the most of your stay at The Coolidge Corner Guest House. The guest rooms at this Boston area inn blend antique chic style with modern amenities: flat-screen TVs, free WiFi, cable channels, and central air conditioning. Some guest rooms share bathrooms. Common areas at our Brookline bed and breakfast inn include a private garden, sitting room, and dining room. Guests can also use a kitchenette and laundry facilities. Our expanded Continental breakfast is complimentary and features Boston's best bagels from Kupel's Bakery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Coolidge Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed & Bagel Hotel Brookline
Coolidge Corner Guest House: Bed And Bagel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing