We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed!”
Review of Beacon Inn 1750

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beacon Inn 1750
Ranked #6 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our party booked 3 rooms and one was worse than the next! It was the sorriest excuse for a bed and breakfast place I have ever stayed in. Our room had no a/c, the place is quite run down and doesn't look like it's been cared for, could use a sprucing up, breakfast was pitiful; cheap supermarket danishes and muffins and you have to eat standing up!! A sorry place all in all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anastasia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn 1750, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay, however we would like to point out some inaccuracies with this review. Our rooms are all equipped with air conditioning units during warm weather months. If this guest had any complaints about the temperature in the room, she should have mentioned them to the front desk staff during her stay so we could have properly addressed the issues.

As far as the maintenance of the building, the Beacon Inn is located in a historic 19th century brownstone and we have worked hard to keep as much of the original architectural as possible. We do regularly maintain the rooms and several of the guest rooms at our 1750 location were recently renovated with fresh plaster and paint and refinished hardwood floors prior to this guest's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    21
    32
    66
See reviews for
67
78
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had a great time staying at the Beacon Inn over the last 10 weeks.
Hospitable and helpful staff were very accommodating and pleasant
to chat with from time to time. The laid back atmosphere was very relaxing
and, ahh, those beds! Very comfortable. All in all, I can see no reason
to ever stay anywhere else when in the Boston area. Cheers!

Room Tip: gotta say 3, 4, 12 and 13 were my favorites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMtagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was in Boston for one day and needed an easy, inexpensive place to stay. The Beacon Inn is a charming older building that is clean, very comfortable and very convenient particularly considering the affordable price. The T stop was right across the street and for a small charge I was able to park my car and forget about it. The staff were charming, extremely accomodating and wonderful to get along with. I think I'm going to need to find more excuses to go to Boston!

Room Tip: I was in room 12. It was a single with a nice clean bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The room that we were assigned to was in disrepair and unclean. The toilet seat was dirty. There were hairs on top of the bed. The carpet is worn and ripped in places. It obviously was not vacuumed. The wallpaper is peeling. There are holes in the bathroom walls. The finish is peeling of of the bathroom vanity. We were hoping to take a bubble bath in the tub -- too disgusting. The room we had is part of the a fire evacuation route, which means that a large exit sign hangs from the ceiling. The entire room is lit up in red from this sign all night. Noisy neighboring guests woke us up at 3 AM and we had to ask them to quiet down since no staff is around after 8 PM. At 7 AM the noisy heating system woke us up. My girlfriend then spotted a large bug crawling across her pillow and refused to go back to bed. I will take my business elsewhere next time I go to Boston.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookline hotels

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was in the boston area for a conference at Boston College. This inn was recommended to me by the organizers of my session. I'm very glad that I took them up on their suggestion. The inn was truly charming. It's conveniently located along the Green line and is about 20 minutes by foot from BC. The rooms were nice and big and the staff was wonderful. Because I had to leave early each morning, I didn't have a chance to try out the breakfast. I will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svelavick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the price is a good place to stay for few days while visiting Boston (even more if you visit someone in BC). Close to the T train. Walk distance from Washington Sq where you can find loads of bars and restaurants. The staff was very nice and attentive. The breakfast is a grab-and-go, not sitting area...but includes cereals and bagels, milk and coffee. The rooms are nice and comfortable, old style but very clean.

Room Tip: There are at least 2 rooms that are considered Emergency Exits, so they have a illuminated red EXIT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NachoRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Inn: Very well kept and cozy. Bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I think it's a nice touch they name all the rooms after infamous Bostonians. Didn't eat the breakfast (only consisted of bagels and oatmeal).
Location: About 20 minutes from central Boston, but the great thing was that it was directly across the street from public transportation. Beautiful, quiet neighborhood with local eateries up the block.
If Driving Beware! For every day you need to park on the premises they charge you $20. They didn't mention this fee when booking the room so for that they only get 4 stars, otherwise it definitely is a 5 star stay if you are looking for a quiet, inexpensive, stay on the outskirts of Boston/Harvard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn 1750? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn 1750

Property: Beacon Inn 1750
Address: 1750 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02445-2124
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Inn 1750 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Beacon Inn 1750 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn 1750 Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing