We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homey (but bring your own pillow!)”
Review of The Bertram Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bertram Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Homey (but bring your own pillow!)”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I've stayed twice at this inn and for the most part, it's a good place to stay. It's very conveniently located to the charming town of Brookline with lots of restaurants, etc. What I really like is the constant availability of snacks in the lobby area, hot tea, coffee, etc. There's also a good selection of newspapers in the morning and decent coffee to go with the fresh fruit salad we have every morning. I prefer the rooms with hardwood floors and a seating area. The carpeting in some of the rooms seems old and icky so I avoid those rooms. All cotton sheets satisfy this reviewer, but the pillows are horrible and are the main reason for a 4 rather than a 5 rating!! For an inn that charges a premium for their rooms, they should have great fluffy pillows that provide excellent support. Instead, their pillows are mashed down, flat and extremely lumpy and I struggled to get my head comfortable! Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much and will return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with lots of windows, hardwood floors and a sitting area. Some even have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    59
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
100
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were at the Inn fro September 12 thru the 16th. Arrived at Logan and were transported to Brookline by Smurfs Transportation, which is a very customer service oriented company. The Bertram Inn is a delightful place to stay! The staff is welcoming and very helpful and make every effort to make you feel at home. Ask them anything about public transportation which is right around the corner, or sites and events during your stay. They have answers. The rooms are historically well appointed and comfortable, and quiet - the room we got #16 was spacious. The daily Offerings in the parlor are homemade breads, cookies, coffee and teas, and the breakfasts are delicious. No other place will do on our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The inn was easily found from the T stop at St Pauls, a five minute walk at most. The inn staff were keen to settle us in and show us the lounge area and the ever ready supply of snacks, tea and coffee. The lounge area was lovely, as was the breakfast veranda and patio. The whole inn had a tranquil and cosy atmosphere with beautiful surroundings The dvd collection for borrowing was varied and there are a number of board games available. We stayed in room 4 which was lovely, light and airy. Would definitely recommend and stay again if we were ever in the area.

Room Tip: The journey to downtown on the T was about 30 minutes. Each journey costs $2.50 no matter how far yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here one night for a quick trip to Boston. The Inn is quite lovely and quiet, and historic. There are wood burning fireplaces, so the woodsmoke smell kind of permeates the living room, but not in a bad way. I loved that there were cookies and snacks available at all times including tea and coffee. Very nice touch. Breakfast is included but is fairly limited to continental type: cereal, toast, yogurt but they did serve eggs. It was satisfactory, nothing to write home about. The T is right down the street VERY convenient for getting into downtown, and the Coolidge corner area of Brookline a short walk away. All in all, very comfortable accommodations, but if you want to be right in town, stay in town (Boston). It makes life easier for you if that is what you want.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBG40894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed many times over the past few years at the lovely Bertram Inn. We spent a wonderful weekend in May 2013 and were once again enchanted with the warmth and charm of this historic property.

Each visit we try a different room and we love the unique furnishings and layout in each one. The mattresses in each room are always so comfortable and we can never decide which room we like the best! The breakfasts are amazing and can be eaten in the warm and lovely living room, the sunroom, or if weather permits, on the cozy deck.

The service at the Bertram is remarkable and professional. The courtesy and friendly treatment we received on our last(of many!) visits reminded us of why we return again and again to this very special place.

This inn is so very convenient for anyone going to a ballgame, a concert or anywhere in the Boston area. The T stop is a quick one block walk away. And the Brookline neighborhood is a wonderful place to eat, shop, explore or just wander through.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took a girls' trip to discover Boston and chose the Bertram inn due to it's great reviews and ability to accommodate the 3 of us in the room. It is in a fantastic location (1/2 block from T and 2 blocks from the bus). Brookline itself is a beautiful part of town and surrounded by a somewhat residential area while also offering many options for restaurants and shopping. We went to a movie at a fabulous old-school theater several blocks away (Coolidge Theater) which we also highly recommend. The innkeepers were each extremely helpful, especially Julie. They were each full of suggestions and never seemed annoyed by our many questions despite all they were in charge of doing. The Inn has gone to great lengths to make sightseeing very user friendly, even providing a phone that immediately calls a cab when you pick up the receiver. The food is beyond description! The continual snacks have both healthy and sweet options and the breakfast is well organized and comprehensive. Coffee, tea, water, and snacks are out 24 hours a day. Early riser and hot breakfast are provided. The Inn has ample space for seating, including outside seating. The Inn has free WIFI and the Innkeeper will print boarding passes. We hope for the opportunity to return soon!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor. We anticipated that there would be a lot of noise but this was abso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at there while visiting our college aged daughter. When my wife booked (several months in advance), she was told that it was the last room available for the dates we requested. I was concerned, as I doubt hotel operators follow the save the best for last mantra. Sure enough, we got to our tiny room in this well appointed New England B and B, and had one of the single worst nights....the heat was cranked up(we had no control), so we opened our windows to a very noisy night and early morning!i HOWEVER, Steve the very nice and on the case manager did cartwheels to improve the situation. Though it meant several moves, including one across the street to the sister property The Sewell Inn, we had fresh air and quiet from then on. Steve even carried our bags across the street and had someone repeat the action when we moved back into the Bertram.
The Inn is very well located and has a changing buffet for breakfast. All the staff was warm and helpful.
Every room is different and quite charming, as long as you choose wisely!
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: As the Beatles said.."Number 9, Number 9...." at The Bertram and Number 14 at The Sewell I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bertram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn

Property: The Bertram Inn
Address: 92 Sewall Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-5327
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bertram Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Bertram Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bertram Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bertram Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing