We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway!”
Review of The Bertram Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bertram Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Luzerne, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic getaway!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I brought my fiance to the Inn as a birthday surprise because he is fond of Samuel Adams beer. I took him to the original brewery which is only 2 miles away from the Inn. After the tour we went to Doyle's (est. 1882) which is the bar/restaurant that was first to sell Sam Adams beer. The Bertram Inn itself was absolutely beautiful and was a romantic setting for our birthday celebration. We walked one block to the T and found our way to the best shopping I have seen outside of Manhattan. We got a bottle of wine and returned to our gorgeous room and started a fire in the fireplace. We fell asleep to the crackling of the warm fire on the dark wood walls of what looked like an original old library in the mansion. The only negative was the breakfast, i thought it could have used some basic hot dishes like eggs or pancakes. Overall my stay was great and I hope to return to the Bertram soon.

Room Tip: Room # 3 is off the lobby so if you are a noisy couple don't pick this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    58
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
98
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family stayed at the Bertram Inn in May while we were celebrating my brother’s graduation from Emerson College and our time there was excellent.

The breakfasts were delicious and there were cookies and fruit snacks in the common area. The rooms are fantastic as the management has kept true to the early 20th century style furnishing. The beds were comfortable and although each room had a different palette, they were all excellent.

All of the staff members were friendly and frequently asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay better. The innkeepers also accommodated the many adjustments we made to our reservation as our guests arrived for the main event.

One instance in particular showed how much the Bertram Inn’s patrons love the place – an older couple agreed to switch rooms at an innkeeper’s request and didn't even ask to be compensated for the change. I especially have to recognize Astrid for taking such good care of us - she even offered a complementary treat when my mother had to change rooms.

I would highly recommend The Bertram Inn to anyone coming to the Boston-Brookline area. I’d love to spend time there again in the near future.

You can see the love they got on 4sq too: https://foursquare.com/v/bertram-inn/4c6ecf0ad274b60c03a5d40d

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukemeabasi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a great place to stay for the price! There are snacks and hot beverages available 24 hours a day. The breakfast is varied, healthy, and plentiful. The parking is reasonable and the neighborhood is good for shopping. We stayed here and walked to a show at the House of Blues. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm posting the same review for bothThe Bertram Inn and The Samual Sewall Inn since they are managed by the same people, share staff and kitchens, and are across the street from each other. These very nice B&B's are located in Brookline, just outside of Boston. We’ve stayed at each several times over the past two years since our daughter moved to Brookline. We find them to be very nice, with helpful staff, good breakfast and snacks, and a great location, two blocks from Beacon St and the T. These are two very old, beautiful houses, and we’ve had issues a couple of times with HVAC. They seem to recognize this problem and generally have extra space heaters or fans, depending on your need. Parking is on site for an extra $12 or so per night, which is a bargain for the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We've stayed many places in Boston while visiting our daughter who is a student at BU and this is by far our favorite. Very nice calm ambience, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable beds and easy walking distance to the T

Room Tip: Some traffic noise from street - ask for a room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beautiful, comfortable B&B in Brookline. Super friendly innkeeper that made check-in really easy and had great suggestions for local pub and grub. Cozy atmosphere and a nice relaxing vibe (compared to all the corporate hotels I've been in lately). Glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bertram Inn. We very much liked the old-style charm of the décor which suits the age of the building & is a pleasant change from the standard finish of chain hotels. We found everything clean & in working order - a few moments patience was needed for the hot water to come through but then it was very hot & plentiful. We stayed in a large top floor room with two Queen beds & found it very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting downstairs in the lounge, mixing with other guests & having snacks & drinks after a day out sightseeing. There is a small fridge on the landing for guests to store their own food which is very useful. The buffet breakfast is good though one morning we did find the best things had gone by 9a.m. The staff were very friendly & exceptionally helpful. The location is great & there are lots of restaurants, banks & small shops within walking distance at Coolidge Corner. We enjoyed our visit to JFK's birthplace nearby in a street of charming old houses. As other reviewers have said it is just a short journey on the T to central Boston & I'm so glad we stayed here rather than in the city. I'd also recommend the tour of Fenway Park - interesting & a lot of fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ama473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bertram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bertram Inn

Property: The Bertram Inn
Address: 92 Sewall Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-5327
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bertram Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Boston, the Bertram Inn serves as an oasis from the hustle of downtown Boston. Located two miles from the heart of the city and one block from public transportation, guests are able to remain close to the cultural and business centers of Boston yet return to the tranquility of a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bertram Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bertram Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing