We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Japan hidden in Coolidge Corner”
Review of Shiki

Shiki
Ranked #22 of 202 Restaurants in Brookline
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Shore, MA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A taste of Japan hidden in Coolidge Corner”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Located in a basement dining room on a side street, Shiki is a hidden surprise in Coolidge Corner. The menu covers numerous Japanese izakaya-style dishes. We have enjoyed many different items and have found the soups, natto, and egg custard with seafood especially delicious. Our food is always presented in an attractive fashion just as in Japan. Prices are quite reasonable, but the bill can add up quickly when ordering many small plates.

The restaurant is small with closely-placed tables and many larger family groups dining together. It is noisy and we sometimes find it hard to hold a conversation. There’s not much to look at--except the smiling faces of happy eaters! Service is fine, but can be a little brusque, in my opinion.

The Babcock Street municipal parking lot is almost next door and there are several other lots nearby. By T, Shiki is an easy walk from the Coolidge Corner stop on the C Branch of the Green Line; it is also not so far from the Babcock Street stop on the Green Line’s B Branch

We are glad we discovered Shiki and its excellent food!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Route128North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Japanese Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went to Shiki with a friend who is a native of Brookline. He claimed that it was one of the best restuarants in the area and Shiki did not dissapoint. The menu is mostly small dishes which are good from sampling. The seafood at Shiki is excellent. My advice- get the fish. This place is a little more expensive than your average Japanese restaurant, but then again, it's much higher quality and much tastier.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amicus1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
274 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fantastic Japanese Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went in unprepared for the very fine Japanese meal offered up by the chef at Shuki Sushi. I ordered mostly non-sushi items and was very pleasantly surprised by the unique items and quality of the food. I strongly recommend this over Mr. Sushi and Fugakyu, both nearby Japanese alternatives.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locavore heaven”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

They pick what to give you based on what was good and fresh that day. A style of eating many of us are not accustomed to, but I have grown to love. This place is at the high end of my budget, but it is the go-to space for special occasions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baranduin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gone downhill and cannot recommend”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

ok this is really sad: but the prices have been hiked a lot and the portions have shrunk. the service was always surly but now it is non existent. the basement is the same. but now the combination of high prices, small portions and sloppy cutting on the rolls is just too much to endure. good bye. I won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiki also viewed

 

Been to Shiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing