We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caliifornia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2006

This is a lovely quiet clean inn with total New England ambience. It is the best place for you to stay if you are visiting someone in Beth Israel or one of the other hospitals which are only 2-3 blocks away. The stately entryway with dark wood panelling and elegant banisters makes you feel like you're in a 19th century manor house... in fact you are. My room had fine polished wood furniture, good cable and was clean w. clean towels and was comfy warm all nite at the end of December.
Shared bathroom but it's spotless. Big common kitchen to make coffee in the morning, also spotless, and laundry machines if you need them. Low rates when I was there, it appeared to be a quiet period... best place I stayed on this trip and wish I had found it before blowing $$$ at other rip-off places on Boylston St.

If you are travelling alone and just need a quiet comfy place near the hospitals... nothing can beat this for price, convenience, and quality.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Creaky stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Rates as low as $60 (Xmas weekend)
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    81
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
55
81
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

The location is convenient for visitors to Fenway Colleges, Longwood Medical facilities and B.U. Close to public transportation. The parking was always available and free, whereas most hotels in the area charge $15 per night and street parking is rare. The Inn is in a safe and pleasant residential area. Breakfast is not served but there is a full kitchen available and Trader Joe's and excellent places to eat in Coolidge Corner, a short walk away. The building is a stately old Victorian, with modernized bathrooms and kitchen. The room decor is a bit shabby but acceptable for the price and clean. The rooms vary in size, appearance and price. There is no night reception - they just leave a key for late arrivals. During the day, the gentleman in the office was friendly and helpful. If you are sensitive to noise, the entire Longwood Medical area has frequent ambulance sirens.

  • Liked — Convenient location, free parking, victorian charm, nice neighborhood for walking and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Beds were not too comfortable.
  • Tips/Secrets — Rooms vary - ask for details when booking.
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KATHY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2006

It's a shame that such a lovely building is in the hands of an owner that doesn't seem to care. The inn is very "no-frills" and they don't serve breakfast. That can be fine as a good way to save some money. Even so, the decor is surprisingly plain for a Victorian inn. When we brought up that the tub didn't have a working stopper, the manager gave no apology and replied that "most people could deal with taking a shower", intimating that we were expecting too much. He did however put us in a new room, but inquired if we had already used the bed and bathroom! The new room had a window with an upper slider that wouldn't stay shut. Instead of bothering the manager with this, we jammed a towel to keep it shut. Also, they have wireless but the range wasn't sufficient to connect from the room we were in.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

I had the good fortune of staying at the Longwood Inn for ten nights last October while my husband was in the hospital unexpectedly. What a blessing the experience was during a trying time. We have 2 cottages we rent during the summer on Lake Champlain so we tend to be fairly critical of places we stay and I was very pleased with staying here. Was surprised to see a review that complained of it being run down for that is not my observation at all. The rooms are quite charming and if you do share a bath, it is with only one other room. Private baths are also available. The kitchen is modern, clean and homey. The inn is located between the Longwood "D" line T stop and Harvard Street where there are great restaurants in every price range. Just a short walk to either. Eat out for lunch and you'll have plenty to bring back and put in their kitchen fridge for dinner. A short walk to Trader Joe's provides an excellent source for prepared foods and fresh ingredients to cook yourself. The kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of storage in cabinets, large fridge, pots, dishes, etc. all provided for guests' use. The staff from the manager to housekeeping are extremely friendly and make you feel like you're visiting friends. The manager, John goes out of his way to help you with any info you might need. The kitchen is a great place to meet people from far and near and I made a new probably lifelong friend there from Germany. The area is extremely safe for walking even in the late evening and it is an easy walk to the Longwood Medical Complex. It is a beautiful old well-maintained Victorian in a residential neighborhood with beautiful homes. The FREE parking in the rear of the inn is a great bonus. You can just park and use the T or walk wherever you need to go. I do not recommend driving in Boston if you are not really familiar with it. It can be really scary. You can easily acess this inn by taking I95 to Beacon St. or Rt.9 to Harvard St. to Longwood Ave. and get to the inn w/o navigating inner Boston traffic. If arriving by air, bus or train, you can easily get there by mass transit. Since we now travel to Boston for medical reasons monthly we are able to access the Hospitality Homes, a non-profit program for people there for medical reasons. But if I ever couldn't get a room in one of their homes, I would definitely stay here, a great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2005

I was disappointed with my stay at the Longwood Inn. Although the entrance is nice, with old wood, the house, stairs and rooms are very vintage, and are in need of repair and updating. There is no central airconditioning - only old window units, which are very noisy. The place is also stuffy. The single bed was not very comfortable, and the lights were poor for reading. The good features are the price and location: relatively good price and walking distance (about 15-20 minutes) to Harvard Medical School and Longwood Medical Center.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2005

I really enjoyed our stay at the Longwood Inn. With family living only a few blocks away, we felt like we were living just down the street for the week. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed and more. Free parking **impossible in Boston**, quiet and peaceful neighborhood, and everything was recently updated. Not to mention that its rate was almost 70 dollars cheaper a night than a fair Holiday Inn that was down the street. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

Personally I thought the Longwood Inn was a great deal. A friend of mine and I stayed there for a week during an off peak time for only 465.13 total for the entire week. That was with a shared bath and all, but for a budget traveller it's a much better deal and much cozier than the hostel. The shared kitchen is wonderful to have, and it's no problem to store food there. A Trader Joe's is just about two blocks away. Access to the T (public transportation) is also two or three blocks. Nice, quiet, and a steal for such a great neighborhood. Coolidge Corner is just a couple of blocks away with lots of great restaurants and convenient shopping. I think it's much nicer to stay in Brookline and just take the T into the city instead of staying right in the middle of things where parking costs over 20.00 per day. Parking at Longwood is free, which is a huge plus if you're driving.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RussellPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Property: Longwood Inn
Address: 123 Longwood Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-6625
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Longwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing