We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Charming, Very safe for women traveling alone”
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Longwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great value, Charming, Very safe for women traveling alone”
Reviewed March 19, 2006

I had the good fortune of staying at the Longwood Inn for ten nights last October while my husband was in the hospital unexpectedly. What a blessing the experience was during a trying time. We have 2 cottages we rent during the summer on Lake Champlain so we tend to be fairly critical of places we stay and I was very pleased with staying here. Was surprised to see a review that complained of it being run down for that is not my observation at all. The rooms are quite charming and if you do share a bath, it is with only one other room. Private baths are also available. The kitchen is modern, clean and homey. The inn is located between the Longwood "D" line T stop and Harvard Street where there are great restaurants in every price range. Just a short walk to either. Eat out for lunch and you'll have plenty to bring back and put in their kitchen fridge for dinner. A short walk to Trader Joe's provides an excellent source for prepared foods and fresh ingredients to cook yourself. The kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of storage in cabinets, large fridge, pots, dishes, etc. all provided for guests' use. The staff from the manager to housekeeping are extremely friendly and make you feel like you're visiting friends. The manager, John goes out of his way to help you with any info you might need. The kitchen is a great place to meet people from far and near and I made a new probably lifelong friend there from Germany. The area is extremely safe for walking even in the late evening and it is an easy walk to the Longwood Medical Complex. It is a beautiful old well-maintained Victorian in a residential neighborhood with beautiful homes. The FREE parking in the rear of the inn is a great bonus. You can just park and use the T or walk wherever you need to go. I do not recommend driving in Boston if you are not really familiar with it. It can be really scary. You can easily acess this inn by taking I95 to Beacon St. or Rt.9 to Harvard St. to Longwood Ave. and get to the inn w/o navigating inner Boston traffic. If arriving by air, bus or train, you can easily get there by mass transit. Since we now travel to Boston for medical reasons monthly we are able to access the Hospitality Homes, a non-profit program for people there for medical reasons. But if I ever couldn't get a room in one of their homes, I would definitely stay here, a great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
55
83
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 5, 2005

I was disappointed with my stay at the Longwood Inn. Although the entrance is nice, with old wood, the house, stairs and rooms are very vintage, and are in need of repair and updating. There is no central airconditioning - only old window units, which are very noisy. The place is also stuffy. The single bed was not very comfortable, and the lights were poor for reading. The good features are the price and location: relatively good price and walking distance (about 15-20 minutes) to Harvard Medical School and Longwood Medical Center.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2005

I really enjoyed our stay at the Longwood Inn. With family living only a few blocks away, we felt like we were living just down the street for the week. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed and more. Free parking **impossible in Boston**, quiet and peaceful neighborhood, and everything was recently updated. Not to mention that its rate was almost 70 dollars cheaper a night than a fair Holiday Inn that was down the street. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Personally I thought the Longwood Inn was a great deal. A friend of mine and I stayed there for a week during an off peak time for only 465.13 total for the entire week. That was with a shared bath and all, but for a budget traveller it's a much better deal and much cozier than the hostel. The shared kitchen is wonderful to have, and it's no problem to store food there. A Trader Joe's is just about two blocks away. Access to the T (public transportation) is also two or three blocks. Nice, quiet, and a steal for such a great neighborhood. Coolidge Corner is just a couple of blocks away with lots of great restaurants and convenient shopping. I think it's much nicer to stay in Brookline and just take the T into the city instead of staying right in the middle of things where parking costs over 20.00 per day. Parking at Longwood is free, which is a huge plus if you're driving.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RussellPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2002

I stayed for a week at the Longwood Inn and loved it. Great location near the trolley line, but in a quiet residential area. I was alone and got to stay in the single room at the top of the house. It was like something out of an old British movie set during the Victorian era. It felt like the room you would imagine Heidi stayed in when she went to live in the city. I walked a couple of blocks to the trolley each morning and off I went exploring Boston, a wonderful city to see by foot.
If I make it to Boston again, I will definitely stay at the Longwood again.

Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#15 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Property: Longwood Inn
Address: 123 Longwood Ave, Brookline, MA 02446-6625
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Longwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing