We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like being at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Longwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Brookline B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just like being at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is my go to place to stay in the Boston area. They have kept the Eastlake Victorian decor of the building while updating the guest rooms and bathrooms. Quite lovely. The beds are soft and comfortable. Each room is unique. There is a washer and dryer on the ground floor for guest use that comes in handy. Parking is free and there are two outdoor areas to relax in during warmer weather. There is a school behind the Inn with a large open grassy play area. This gives a feeling of space within the city. If you don't feel like dining out, it is a few munites walk to Trader Joe's where you can purchase everything needed to make a meal in the beautifully remodled kitchen everyone shares. Don't forget to bring your coffee grounds if you want cofee in the morning! The staff is friendly and quite helpful. I would call them directly to book the type of room that will suit you best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welchdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    27
    5
    12
See reviews for
53
73
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent one night at the Longwood Inn in Brookline and found it comfortable, clean, and in a perfect location for me. The up-to-date bathroom is a plus, the beds comfy, the TV convenient,
overall cleanliness just top notch. I will return for sure. Management was very welcoming and efficient - both telephone reservations and on site person. It was a pleasure to stay and the parking feature made such a difference. All in all - AOK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for a month while working at Children's Hospital Boston. Ideal location in quiet and safe neighborhood; 3 min walk to the Longwood T stop, 8-10 min walk to Children's, 5 min walk to Trader Joe's, CVS, and cafes in Coolidge Corner. Rooms were clean and adequate, but expect only bar soap and shampoo. Rooms are cozy (not giant), but good-sized beds. Loved using the kitchen downstairs, a well-equipped, clean, and a fun place to meet fellow inn guests from around the world. Laundry machine conveniently downstairs (bring your own quarters, but can purchase detergent from office). The service was polite and sufficient. John, the manager, was a wonderful friendly face and always willing to help!

In sum, I would definitely stay here again on an extended stay, as it feels much more like home than a fancy hotel. Don't expect to be pampered or luxuriate in fluffy towels and spas, but come here if you are looking for something practical, comfortable, and convenient. As another reviewer aptly put it, it's ideal for the "self-sufficient" traveler. I was grateful for this home away from home!

Room Tip: Rm. 31 has a slightly firmer mattress than Rm. 34. Thermostat in Rm. 34 appears to be broken, but wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janaplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location. Excellent value. Free parking and friendly staff. Bed was on the small side which was OK for us at 250 Lbs. total weight. Would be a tight fit for larger people. Mattress was way too soft but OK for one night. Room looked like it had a recent renovation including the bath. The inn had lots of charm. The wifi could use a bit more bandwidth. Would stay their again when in Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

There's nothing wrong with the Longwood Inn but I'll look for another place next time I want to stay in Brookline. We reserved for a Saturday night and were told that we had to stay 2 nights and said okay. We arrived on Friday and the man at he desk said we'd havee to pay for the thursday night we missed. they had booked us for Thursday-Friday, not Friday-Saturday. He was nice about changing the reservation and we were lucky that had a room open on Saturday. We had asked for a room that wasn't on the first floor. The woman who took the reservation told us that the apartment was open and was up a flight of stairs, which it was as you climbed up from the driveway. The bedroom windows were on the street level and noisy. Luckily they had a room on the 3rd floor that was open for the 2 nights we needed. They don't give breakfast but have a kitchen you can use. The location is great, an easy walk to Harvard St.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123LongwoodInn, General Manager at Longwood Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
There apparently was a misunderstanding regarding the dates when this reservation was taken. I did not take the reservation myself and I cannot say if it was the inn’s fault, the guest’s fault or a combination of the two. According to our reservation records, the booking at the Longwood Inn for Jarlan was for Thursday and Friday nights. Why he was told there was a 2 night minimum stay I don’t know. This is definitely not the case. We have a great many guests stay for one night only.

On Friday morning, after he had not shown up the night before, we removed him from our schedule thinking that he had decided not to stay and neglected to notify us. This has happened more times than I care to think about, even with people that have paid deposits in advance. I was in the office later in the day on Friday when he did arrive. Thinking that he had just not shown up I told him that I expected payment for the previous night, especially since the inn had otherwise been completely booked out. At this point he informed me that he had booked it starting on Friday, not Thursday. Since the apartment that had been booked for him was available for Friday and Saturday I decided to give it to him for those nights and not worry about Thursday night.

The neighborhood around the inn is fairly quiet. However, when he found out that the bedroom faced out onto the street he told me he was concerned about not being able to sleep due to traffic noise. I instead gave him a room on the top floor facing the back of the house away from the street. I also gave him credit for the difference in price between the room and the apartment.

I am sorry that Jarlan had to go through this when he arrived here and that he will not be back. We try to make everyone’s stay at the Longwood Inn a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

For anyplace else to stay. I travel to Boston from time to time for business, pleasure, and to visit family. I am always trying to find that "just right" place. No need to anymore. The inn is beautiful and comfortable and affordable. There is a lot to walk to, and there is easy access to the "T", which makes everything else in Boston easy to reach. The neighborhood is a beautiful residential neighborhood, but just a few blocks from a lot of stores / restaurants / bars, etc... The inn itself is just like "home" if your home is huge, old, classic, and perfectly-maintained. You need to be OK with stairs and walking though, otherwise you will need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayavitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely old world charm and warmth about this place. My daughter and I had a very comfortable large room which was clean. We found it easy to get about Boston from here and found good local shops and restaurants too. The staff were helpful but it was Rhonda that made our stay very easy from the point of view of finding our way around and organizing tickets - we are hugely grateful to her for all her help and time. And, a huge thanks too to one of their long term guests who invited us to stay there and added all the finishing touches to make our stay extra special.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the top floor with 2 double beds so plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Inn at Longwood Medical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
enVision Hotel Boston
#16 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Inn

Property: Longwood Inn
Address: 123 Longwood Ave., Brookline, MA 02446
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Longwood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longwood Inn is a converted 1900’s Victorian mansion in a safe, upscale residential neighborhood near many of Boston’s major attractions. With sensible rates, this is one of Boston’s best bargains. The Inn has 21 rooms and a one-bedroom apartment available nightly or for extended stays. All rooms feature free parking, telephones with free local calls, free internet access, flat screen cable televisions and air conditioning. Housekeeping services are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Longwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longwood Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing