We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First we see the toilet”
Review of Beacon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beacon Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First we see the toilet”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

In an effort to stay in a quaint brownstone (while saving $60/night over the nearest Holiday Inn) I was delighted to see this bed and breakfast alternative. I guess it was quaint with beautiful hardwood and the detail of an older home but that was it.
Our room was off of the main vestibule and entered thru the bathroom. "Watch my feet!". The partition wall was so thin it felt like anyone in the hallway was in the room. The towels were thin and worn. Tough to signal our wish to be green (as suggested) by hanging up the towel as there was not a hook or rack to be found.
Parking was available at a reasonable rate but very tight for a Toyota Highlander.
Breakfast was an insult. Coffee in a Styrofoam cup, stale Danish, soggy bagel and rock hard English muffins. No fruit. The second day we took the hint and went out to Zaftig's down the road and had a great breakfast.
The staff person was very helpful but not present when we arrived. The envelope for the key was empty but the response time was quick when they realized the problem.
It was a beautiful room - the dining room of a grand old home. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very cold. The light bulb was blown on the bedside lamp which we left on the table to signal the problem. It was still there a day later.
This is run as a business along with a companion house. Not very well....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochester_NY_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    26
    16
    25
See reviews for
59
51
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This is a nice hotel. Staff are friendly and there is free internet which is great! The hotel is a lovely old place, but the particular room that we had was right at the top of the house and it was overpriced and a bit run down. There was wallpaper peeling off the walls and the bathroom was across the hall and had no lock so anyone could use it and you couldn't really leave your bathroom stuff in there with no lock on the door. The room was quite nice though.

I should point out, however, that it was really noisy! There was no double glazing and your head is by the window. Just outside is a trolley stop and the bell is always clanging and there are electrical flashes outside too!! We didn't get one good night's sleep in this room!

The breakfast is also really weird. It is all laid out on a long table in the foyer; a toaster, bagels, cake, cereal, coffee, so you come and get your breakfast but there's only one table with two chairs! Not much room!

For these reasons, I think that the room was a bit overpriced, when there wasn't really a proper sit down breakfast, we didn't sleep and it was a bit run down in the room and bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The building is authentic, and thus a bit old. My bathroom plumbing left a bit to be desired but for the price and the location I would stay here every time. I asked a lot of questions of the front desk staff and over a four day stay was assisted by more than 5 attendants. Each one of them was more than helpful and friendly.
This type of arrangement is perfect for the single traveler, pair of friends or small family (say parents and child on a prospective college visit). Wonderful for a first time tourist b/c the staff was very helpful with transportation. The neighborhood it is situated in (Beacon Hill near Coolidge Corner) is nice to explore by foot with many good restaurants.
Also, made my reservation by phone and staff was superb with this. They helped me pick out a specific room tailored to my needs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsAlone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed in a very large room with a king bed and private bath over the street in this beautiful brownstone. The place was very cozy and comfortable and ideal location. Walking distance to Fenway (and it's safe to walk here) and literally steps from the subway stop (just across the street) so very convenient location, in addition to being such a quaint and charming place. Makes it very easy to get around and centrally located if you both want to go to downtown and also go to Fenway. Serves continental breakfast daily and staff is very helpful. I would def. stay here again. Great value for the price too. Also have free internet on a computer in the lobby which is convenient for being in the city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwriter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The room was comfortable, spacious and luminous. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiroki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowtree1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Our family took a trip to the Cape this year and decided to catch a Red Sox game at Fenway on our way back to Oregon. We researched hotels within Boston and decided on the Beacon Inn 1087 mainly because of the value. Under 100$ in the heart of Boston can not be beat!! Well regardless of the price this choice was a great one. What a lovely hotel/Inn, we stayed in the Bostonian room and it could not have been more enjoyable. Two comfortable king size beds, air conditioning, clean amenities, and a very friendly staff. The room was huge and very comfortable with a private bathroom and large flat screen TV, such a nice place to come back to after watching a game. The T stop is right across the street and is just a short three stops to Government Center and all the historic sights Boston has to offer. A quick 10 min. walk to Fenway with many restaurants, stores and deli's on the way is another plus to visiting this hotel. Breakfast in the morning was great and the staff continuously refilled food items that ran out. I can not say enough how great out experience at the Beacon Inn turned out. Don't hesitate to book a stay with this hotel, you will not regret it!!! Loved our visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowtree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord NC
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Had to go to that area of Boston for a business trip. The Yankees were also in town and all hotel prices were quite steep. I found the place to be a great value. Very clean. Have to think of it as a hybrid between a hotel and a B&B. Rooms do have private baths. I would very much recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcordNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Property: Beacon Inn
Address: 1087 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-5610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing