We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beacon Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Brookline B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The first night we stayed in the Isabella Stewart Gardner Room and the second and third nights we stayed in the Symphony Room. I checked very thoroughly and did not find any bed bugs as I have read in previous comments.
The rooms were semi-clean...not spotless but not grungy either.
The staff was friendly and breakfast was fine. They don't advertise a gourmet breakfast, so there was no disappointment with the cereal, bagels and muffins that were provided.
The location of the Inn alone was worth the money. The Green Line is almost directly outside, making traveling anywhere in Boston extremely convenient.
I reserved a parking spot ahead of time and did not have any issues.
Overall, it was a good experience and I'd stay at the Beacon Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    23
    16
    25
See reviews for
50
46
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I reserved a parking space and was informed that i MUST park within the yellow lines or my car would be towed. My rental car didn't fit so I parked elsewhere. The parking fee was NOT refunded even though I was told it would be if the car didn't fit. I will not waste my hard earned money here again. The "breakfast" was laughable and they ran out of washcloths. We travel to Boston twice a year to visit family, and have NEVER been treated this way elsewhere. I will just stay some where else from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brookline hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The building is very old and squeeky, almost haunted looking. The breakfast consists of cereal and toast. But Kenmore Square is a short walk away with restaurants and take-out places. But I booked a non-smoking room, and got a room reeking of old sigarettes. It was actually pretty disgusting. The only positive side of my stay was the helpful receptionist, and clean towels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liillyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We were glad our front desk could be of service to this guest throughout her stay, however there are some serious misrepresentations in this review that we would like to clarify. The Beacon Inn is a historic Boston brownstone built in the late 1800s. Our building features beautiful original woodwork and period details such as wide-plank hardwood floors and ornamental fireplaces. (You may look at the pictures at the top of this page and on our website for reference.) The fact that our charming hotel is "very old" is a selling point for most visitors. As far as quality of our breakfast, this guest checked out before breakfast service begins at 8:00am, so these comments are neither informed nor accurate. As advertised, we serve a light continental breakfast consisting of bagels, English muffins, and an assortment of pastries in addition to cold and hot cereal and coffee and tea available throughout the day. We would also like to point out that in accordance with local laws, our rooms are entirely smoke-free and we take violations of this policy very seriously. No one has been allowed to smoke in these rooms for many years. After reading this review, we immediately made a further inspection of the room in question and did not find any evidence of cigarette smoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the beacon inn this past week. Let me tell you my stay was amazing! First off the hostess Andrea was the nicest lady in the world, helped me with directions around town, my room and anything I needed. Best hostess I've ever dealt with!!
The rooms were really nice, great location in town, very clean and the a.c was at a perfect setting. If I ever make back to Boston I'm staying there again.
Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrobbins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate your kind feedback and we hope to see you again! Our hosts are always happy to provide directions, restaurant recommendations, and more for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, España
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place was good, the room was big and very comfortable, with a fridge where you could store some food or beverages. The staff was very nice and helpful. There're two locations for Beacon Inn, be sure to book the right one. The I choose, 1087 Beacon St is just in front of the Tube (T), so it's very easy to get to the center of Boston. You can't park outside the place at night, so be careful and book a parking spot if you bring a car (you can do that with the help of the staff in reception).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebulus2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We hope you think of us again if you return to the area. As far as our parking, we do offer limited spaces at both locations and we simply ask that our guests call in advance to reserve a spot and we will always do our best to accommodate your needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a whim we stayed at the Beacon Inn. Ali was very accommodating and helpful. I love the old character of the brownstone style and the Inn has that. Our room was spacious, comfy and clean:) one thing that upset me was the tenant in the next room was very loud coming in at 12:30-12:45AM. There are wood floors in the hallways and it echoes footsteps, keys rattling, and door knobs turning/ shutting. I happen to be a light sleeper, but even with the air on....I still was up for an hour waiting for who ever it was to finally settle into their room. Breakfast also was mediocre. A positive....you can get on the T directly across the street! So easy to get into the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Beacon Inn is a run-of-the-mill bed and breakfast. If you're looking for a five star hotel, this is not the place for you; but if you are simply seeking a decent place to sleep for a couple of nights, look no further. My family and I stayed at the Beacon Inn on a trip to see multiple colleges in Boston. We picked this particular location because of its great location, with Boston University and Fenway Park being a mere 15-20 minute walk away and a T stop right out front.

The rooms at the Beacon Inn are impressive. We stayed in the Fenway (on the second floor), which had enough room for 5-6 people. Just be aware that they will charge you for every extra person staying in the same room. The atmosphere was awesome. It gave off that cool old brownstone vibe while being equipped with a flat screen television and cable with HBO and Xfinity. The beds were very comfortable too! My only complaint in regards to the room is the very, very small bathroom.

Breakfast is completely free and is served right there on the first floor, but it isn't anything special. They provide a basic continental breakfast (muffins, danishes, bread, cereal) with a toaster and a Keurig on hand. In all honesty, the best part of this breakfast display is the Nutella.

The only other thing worth mentioning about the Beacon Inn is the parking situation. We called ahead of time to reserve a spot for our Chevy Traverse. They said that it wouldn't be a problem finding a spot for such a large vehicle. Wrong. We wound up parking at least a quarter mile away from the inn, and we paid $9 more a day. That was an utter disappointment.

Overall, the Beacon Inn isn't bad. Give this place a go if you need a place to stay in Boston for a short while!

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Don't choose a top floor if you're a heavy packer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mofrog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We would just like to take a moment to clarify our parking policies. Our guests are almost always able to park on-site however we are occasionally unable to accommodate large vehicles given the size and layout of our parking spaces. In response to some feedback we received about the price difference at the overflow lot, we have since found a more convenient and affordable alternative. We thank you for your feedback and hope you return to the Beacon Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,816 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Property: Beacon Inn
Address: 1087 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-5610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing