We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, great location, few (but notable) flaws” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beacon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beacon Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Brookline B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, great location, few (but notable) flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Beacon Inn is a run-of-the-mill bed and breakfast. If you're looking for a five star hotel, this is not the place for you; but if you are simply seeking a decent place to sleep for a couple of nights, look no further. My family and I stayed at the Beacon Inn on a trip to see multiple colleges in Boston. We picked this particular location because of its great location, with Boston University and Fenway Park being a mere 15-20 minute walk away and a T stop right out front.

The rooms at the Beacon Inn are impressive. We stayed in the Fenway (on the second floor), which had enough room for 5-6 people. Just be aware that they will charge you for every extra person staying in the same room. The atmosphere was awesome. It gave off that cool old brownstone vibe while being equipped with a flat screen television and cable with HBO and Xfinity. The beds were very comfortable too! My only complaint in regards to the room is the very, very small bathroom.

Breakfast is completely free and is served right there on the first floor, but it isn't anything special. They provide a basic continental breakfast (muffins, danishes, bread, cereal) with a toaster and a Keurig on hand. In all honesty, the best part of this breakfast display is the Nutella.

The only other thing worth mentioning about the Beacon Inn is the parking situation. We called ahead of time to reserve a spot for our Chevy Traverse. They said that it wouldn't be a problem finding a spot for such a large vehicle. Wrong. We wound up parking at least a quarter mile away from the inn, and we paid $9 more a day. That was an utter disappointment.

Overall, the Beacon Inn isn't bad. Give this place a go if you need a place to stay in Boston for a short while!

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Don't choose a top floor if you're a heavy packer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We would just like to take a moment to clarify our parking policies. Our guests are almost always able to park on-site however we are occasionally unable to accommodate large vehicles given the size and layout of our parking spaces. In response to some feedback we received about the price difference at the overflow lot, we have since found a more convenient and affordable alternative. We thank you for your feedback and hope you return to the Beacon Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    61
    25
    16
    25
See reviews for
59
50
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galena,IL
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this B & B solely for location, right across the street from our daughter's apartment. We were there to help care for a new baby, so it was perfect. The Isabelle Gardner room on the first floor was home for 6 nights. Although the T passes right by, we were not bothered by its noise or the noise from Beacon St. The room was clean, comfortable, easily accessible and well-appointed. We had two small issues that were handled well by management who truly wanted to make things right for us. As a result I can recommend the Beacon Inn without hesitation. You will enjoy the walking distance to restaurants, shopping, the T, Fenway, major hospitals, etc. I would certainly stay here and take the T into downtown rather than stay in an very pricey downtown hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLH828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I came for a conference and saw that the Beacon Inn was much cheaper than the conference venue. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the internet was free, and they had nutella with breakfast. The location is right off of the C line in a nice area with a grocery store (whole foods) and quite a few nice restaurants. MIT and Fenway Park are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frinky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were looking for something within walking distance to Fenway - and we found it! We will stay here again - loved the quaint, historic building. We stayed in the Bostonian Room on the main floor - it was huge - very comfortable for a family of 4 (although we were taken aback that the room opened into the bathroom - gotta love the old brownstones). The room does open directly into the lobby - so you may opt for something more private. We didn't mind...

Pleasant, resourceful staff and the continental breakfast was adequate.

Our only issue was parking... the distance to the lot was fine, we were just surprised to see that it was a T-stop parking lot. It was full when we got there - so we were redirected to 1200 Beacon St, which was actually a Holiday Inn parking lot.

Overall, this was a great experience, and we look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmdteachMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon I, Manager at Beacon Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so glad to hear you had a great experience here and we look forward to seeing you again! We apologize for the issues you had finding parking during your stay. Typically we are able to accommodate all our guests in our on-site parking at the rear of the building but due to our limited number of spaces we do occasionally have to send overflow parking to an off-site lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We choose this B&B because of its location. It was less than .4 miles to Fenway. They let us check in at 10 am and we were able to park there which was great! Room was clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Only issue was with owner who was extremely rude to his employee right in front of us. Would recommend this place for anyone looking to stay close to Fenway for a cheap price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekahjoy8114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I will definitely stay here again. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. You can not beat the rooms for the value. I was very surprised on how cool the room was on a very HOT summer day. It is a great location if you have things to do in Fenway or Longwood Districts. Also very accessible to downtown if you use green line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

best value of money, good location, very nice neighborhood, elegant stylish building!The room we stayed is spacious, nice decoratedly, and well equipmented! Stuffs are quite friendly! I'd love to recommend the Beacon Inn to every friend of mine if any of them plan to go to Boston.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookline
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#14 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,220 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Inn

Property: Beacon Inn
Address: 1087 Beacon St, Brookline, MA 02446-5610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Brookline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Brookline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Inn Hotel Brookline

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing