We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, better than most large chain hotels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fossil Butte Motel

Fossil Butte Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kemmerer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fossil Butte Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kemmerer
East Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Fabulous, better than most large chain hotels!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Read the reviews, thought I would chance it. So glad I did! Carpet looked clean, walked bare foot and found it to be soft, too! Quilt on the comfy bed, hot shower, large flat screen, microwave, refrig, large coffee pot, soft fluffy towels!! Can't say enough good about it. When I say I have a dog I usually get the the nastiest room and pay extra for it! Not here, she even offered a dog blanket! Would stay again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyngers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you're looking for fancy--skip this place. If you're looking for great value coupled with IMPOSSIBLY CLEAN rooms and a terrific "salt of the earth" owners and staff, this is it. The usual "refrigerator--microwave--air conditioning--wifi--coffee pot--flat screen tv" package but astonishingly clean. It's the genre of motel at which one parks directly in front of the one story motel room. There is a grill and a little patio area in front of the "mid twentieth century type office" and a Mexican restaurant nearby (didn't try it-can't comment). We were there on a Monday night and it was absolutely quiet. This is perhaps the best dollar value I've encountered. By the way, did I say it was amazingly clean?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 676Oldmantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Clean, remodeled, nice size rooms with pillow top beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and flat screen TV. We especially loved the patio next to the office for our early morning coffee or afternoon glass of wine. Across the street from a Mexican restaurant and 2 convenience stores. Within walking distance of town (about .4 miles). Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watergirl3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

I did realy like the room. exceped the sunday night i got here there was a realy load noise. It almosted sounded like drums playing right next door. But after that night it was all good. Nice a quiet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
222 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

Nice, newly remodeled room, but a little pricey and a bit on the outskirts of downtown Kemmerer. There's a Mexican restaurant right across the street serving decent food. The only negative comment I have is to note the extremely offensive, crude, and rude bumper sticker on the rear window of the proprietor's SUV -entirely inappropriate for kids, and in fact, if I hadn't already had a reservation, I'd probably have moved on, as there are plenty of other places to stay in Kemmerer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

Great place to spend a night. Room was extra clean and large. Very homey. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Only drawback was that on holiday/Sunday there were no restaurants that we could find open except the Pizza Hut. Otherwise, most enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — large, very clean room with nice decor
  • Disliked — lack of restaurants in area
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

If you've been to Kemmerer lately, you will know that it is very difficult to find a place to stay right now with the recent energy development. There are no national chain hotels in Kemmerer - only a few small town motels. The Fossil Butte Motel is probably about as good as it will get in Kemmerer.

As small town motels go, the Fossil Butte Motel is a decent enough place to stay. The beds are comfortable enough and the rooms all seemed to be fairly clean and quiet. The rates were competitive with other hotels in the area (although all rooms are expensive in Kemmerer right now).

The hotel does provide wireless internet and cable tv. The room I stayed in also had a small refrigerator and microwave.

There were a few negatives about the hotel room that didn't bother me, but might make others think twice about the room:

1. The hotel does not offer late night arrival. Their lobby closes at 7:00 PM.
2. The showerhead height was pretty low. I'm a tall guy (6'-1") and so I tend to notice when the showerhead height is low. The showerhead was about chin level for me.
3. The shower temperature seemed to be correlated with people flushing toilets or running the faucet in your room. To avoid being scalded or froze, simply tell the people in your room to not turn on the faucet while you're in the shower.

Overall, the Fossil Butte Motel is a very basic small town motel. You'll get a clean bed to sleep in, but not much more than that. If you're staying in Kemmerer, I wouldn't be afraid to stay there just because this motel is about as good as it gets in Kemmerer.

  • Liked — Good location and I got a good night's rest
  • Disliked — Low showerhead height; no late check-in time
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyfishing11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fossil Butte Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossil Butte Motel

Property: Fossil Butte Motel
Address: 1424 Central Ave, Kemmerer, WY 83101-3599
Location: United States > Wyoming > Kemmerer
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kemmerer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Fossil Butte Hotel Kemmerer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing