We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Briar Rose Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Vancouver
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
35
7
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bdowntown vancouvereach morningfarmers marketrooms are largehome away from homenext morninghostsearplugssallyvoilefriarsbreakfastaccommodationsnoiseratesconditioner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 45 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The owners have lovingly restored this American-Edwardian home and decorated it to a fine level. We stayed in the Hearth Room, their largest, with a king bed and corner windows. The French Toile Room might have worked even better with its en-suite bath. But we enjoyed the bath at the top of the stairs and did not have to share it. The hearty, tasty breakfasts, served in the dining room, set us up for trips to the nearby Farmer's Market and Fort Vancouver; plus trips into Portland for adventurous dining and a visit to the Portland Art Museum. Altogether we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Hemmingway Room would appeal to men; French Toile Room works for anyone; the Hearth Room tickles a lady's fancy. The train whistle is loud, but you can drown it out by running the air conditioner or its fan.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely bed and breakfast. Ted and Sallie were brilliant hosts and it was really nice sharing our delicious breakfasts with other guests and exchanging stories. We stayed in the Hemingway Room which was very comfortable. The B&B is well located for all local amenities and in a quiet road. We visited Fort Vancouver which was very interesting and also went to Camus a picturesque town about 10 miles west of Fort Vancouver. Fantastic views of Mount Hood. On the way back we stopped at Beaches - a riverside 'resort' with nice walks and even a small beach where we paddled in the river.

Room Tip: Hemingway room was very nice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Briar Rose and had a wonderful stay. Both Sallie and Ted were excellent hosts. Having restored a 1908 home to its former beauty, one is transported back to another era (without leaving behind modern conveniences). Luckily, we also were there during the weekend so enjoyed the local Farmer's Market. Had a great dinner at a local thai restaurant (which also had sushi). We stayed in the Hemingway room (complete with Hemingway books) which was a delight. Notwithstanding my dietary restrictions, Ted and Sallie made a wonderful breakfast. A great weekend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The Hemingway room is ensuite which two other rooms share a bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Briar Rose Inn is only two or three blocks, easy walking, from Vancouver's "downtown" -- marked, primarily, by Esther Short Park (and the weekly Farmer's Market on Saturdays; NOT TO BE MISSED). The Inn is a restored 1908 residence; we stayed in the Hemingway Room for a few nights -- two other rooms share a bath but the Hemingway and one other also has a private bath. The Basics: Yes, suitably clean; reasonably accessible (there are stairs with no elevator; it's historic so no mandatory ADA, but the stairs are not particularly steep); it's furnished in common area with period furniture, and the bed itself is quite satisfactory. Breakfast -- Ted is accommodating with special needs/requests. So, Why Stay Here? Well, location is a giant plus; it is right downtown and parking is available (if you have to park on the street Ted throws coins in the meter when applicable -- which I found amusing; I was always able to park off-street) -- but it is walking distance to Vancouver Park, the waterfront, the bridge to Portland (no; we didn't walk across it, that's a bit much). Why? Well, there aren't any other B&Bs near downtown...Why, else? Well, Sallie and Ted are very pleasant people and it's just simply an enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: If the Hemingway is open, choose it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Briar Rose Inn four times and we will continue to choose it over any hotel. The home is beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Ted is wonderful about accomodating special meal requests (gluten free, no dairy, etc) if you let him know ahead of time.

Room Tip: Good idea to use the provided earplugs if you are bothered by the sound a train's whistle from time to time during the night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews