We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lights are on but nobody is home.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The lights are on but nobody is home.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I made a prepaid reservation to this property so I could get a few quick zzzzz's after a NIN concert in Portland before driving back to Seattle in the morning. Unfortunately when I arrived at the hotel at 12:45am there was no staff available to check me in...as in...nobody home. The lobby was locked with staff working. There was a large sign to "ring night bell." I rang the bell. Nobody ever came. So I rang it again. And again. And I waited. But nobody ever came. Considering that this was a prepaid reservation and I didn't want to deal with the grief of arguing over a refund (let alone finding another hotel at 1am)...I waited longer. And rang the bell again. And nobody ever answered.

Eventually I drove away and found another hotel. I had to call the online vendor (a word similar to being in space rotating around a planet) and argue for a refund as the hotel tried to claim that I was a "no-show." Well, I'm glad I took pictures...including a picture of the clock in their lobby at 12:50am.

It's astonishing to me that a hotel would leave their reception unattended and then still try to charge customers full-freight by claiming that they were a no-show. Rubbish. Think twice before you book a room at this no-service property.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leif D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    4
    14
See reviews for
5
3
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We rented three rooms. All three rooms smelled awful! The rooms were all dirty. The power in one of the rooms went off and never got fixed. The breakfast was a joke of coffee, OJ, and slices of white bread. Then, if THAT wasn't bad enough, there were bedbugs. One guest had to go to the doctor because he was covered in bites. I will NEVER stay there again. If it hadn't have been so late at night when we arrived, we wouldn't have stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laynie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel was easy to find, and the price was right. The rooms were clean and bright, the staff was good, and the hotel was convenient to downtown Vancouver and Portland. I would definately stay there again!!!

Mike

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I didn't expect much for the price. We stayed on the ground floor and I immediately noticed mold on the ceiling from a water leak above us, as well as mold dotting the walls from humidity. It looked as though they tried to paint over it. The ceiling fan cover was hanging loose and the tank to the toilette had a crack completely down the front of it (amazing that it wasn't leaking!) We noticed stains on the sheets, although they at least appeared to have been washed. However, they did have a microwave and a fridge. Parking was free, as well as wifi (if you can find the password.) If you aren't picky about dirty rooms, it's affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvamord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This place was disqustiong looked like blood spatter on the wall stained carpet dirty bathroom. Then we checked the bed and found bed bugs. i immediatly left and they refused to refund my money. As i was walking out the door another guest told me she had been staying there for a cupple of days and had bites on her. Dont stay at this hotel. They are nasty rude and you will bring bugs home with you.. I think they should shut this place down.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 820dontgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Reserved a room at this motel in advance of travel to Vancouver. We were taking a mini-vacation in Vancouver looking around the city over a weekend. The motel is within a short walking distance from Vancouver downtown core and many of the cultural highlights of that city and restaurants. It was easy to get to places nearby to listen to live music and have a beer/cocktail as well. The couple who run the motel was friendly and nice. The room and bathroom were kept very clean and there was no smell! It had TV, clean working refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and clock radio. I do not know what other reviewers are talking about. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a clean and quiet motel room at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Unusually large room with large easy chair and footstool, comfortable bed. No problems with cleanliness. Room contained a microwave and mini-fridge (the latter didn't work, but I didn't bother to complain because I didn't need it.) The advertised free breakfast was minimal--a table with a thermos of coffee, a few pieces of bread, a toaster, a few cellophane-wrapped pastries. The room was very quiet despite freeway nearby, and was within walking distance of downtown coffee, pubs, park, and a couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#17 of 29 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Vancouver

Property: Econo Lodge Vancouver
Address: 601 Broadway, Vancouver, WA 98660-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Vancouver 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Vancouver, WA hotel (Under NEW MANAGEMENT) is minutes from Clark College, Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, the Portland International Raceway, the Rose Garden Arena, Vancouver Lake and the Portland Metropolitan Exposition Center. The hotel is literally a minute away from Portland, Oregon. Guests of this hotel will enjoy amenities like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free breakfast, free local calls and free coffee. All rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Ask about rooms with whirlpool bathtubs. There is also a small guest laundry room on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vancouver Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing