We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like we remembered”

Golden Tent Mongolian BBQ
Ranked #99 of 709 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chinese, Mongolian
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like we remembered”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped to have dinner at Golden Tent. We used to visit frequently when we lived in the area. Since we were in town we wanted to stop by. The staff was as friendly as we remembered and the food did not disappoint. There is just a little something different about the place that makes it special. Can't wait for our next trip back.

Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh, clean, competent”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good service, clean restaurant, I can tell owner cares.

Would recommend to friends and family for the future

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Food, A Little Iffy Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I went to this restaurant based on the reviews here. Overall, it was fine for the type. The restaurant itself was nicely laid out and clean. The food selection was decent, even it the oils and waters were slightly lacking in oomph (the ginger water was a weird orangish color with no ginger taste, and the "hot" oil was anything but). Table service was fine with a friendly wait staff. Where the restaurant fell a bit was in the lackadaisical cooks. On our first go-round, one cook kind of spread my wife's food around, then the next one split is in two for some reason. As a result, my wife received none of the noodles she put in. We watched closer the second time, and the cooks were quite free with their stirring, sending pieces of meat and veggies off the grill top, or worse, mixing food and sauces between different peoples' selections.

I would say the restaurant has good potential as the food itself is good (even with the bland sauces) and the place nice. I just think management needs a little better supervision on the two cooks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There was a rubber band my food.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I come from Seattle which has excellent Mongolian food. I went here based on some reviews and thought it seemed pretty good till I started eating and pulled a rubber band or of my mouth. When I told the server he acted like it wasn't a big deal and said I could go make another plate. I couldn't that just ruined the whole meal. I'm only greatful I got the rubber band and not some child who could have potentially died from it. I would not go there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cmyhotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“More Than Lived Up to Its Rating!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my Asian food loving, teen daughter to the Golden Tent while we were at a two-day conference, and saw the high rating and its proximity to our hotel. I had eaten at somewhat dingy Mongolian BBQ places in other localities, so I expected to be mildly disappointed. Instead, our experience was simply wonderful. Friendly staff, prompt service, short lines (we ate early at 5PM), and, above all, supremely delicious, freshly prepared Mongolian BBQ food! It's all you can eat, and you determine the portions, the composition of entree meats and veggies, and the kinds of oils used to cook it. Watching the chefs take your preparations, walk around the circular grill as they cook it, and hand it back to you hot and ready to eat, is entertaining. We saw others take and fill two bowls, one for meat and one for veggies, so we did the same. Both of us found their Teriyaki sauce to be of standout quality, and went that direction in our choices. It makes my mouth water to recall it. Parking was plentiful, and the overall cost was moderate. We saw both couples and families enjoying themselves immensely--good for dates and family outings. We highly recommend the Golden Tent and will definitely be back the next time we're in Vancouver, WA.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcwill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Tent Mongolian BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Golden Tent Mongolian BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing