We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the atmosphere!”

Hudson's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the beautiful Heathman Lodge in Vancouver, Washington. Hudson's is the quintessential urban retreat that provides guests with a calm refuge and a memorable experience. Discover the Northwest by savoring seasonal cuisine while relaxing next to our custom slate fireplaces or taking in the grand décor and original artwork. Your dining experience is eloquently enhanced by the live jazz piano music featuring locally acclaimed artists.
Level Contributor
218 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This rustic hotel and restaurant is gorgeous on the inside and outside. We ate brunch here on a Saturday and enjoyed the food. The bloody Mary's were soooo good (their mix is homemade). If you are looking for a place to eat in the area I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    176
    54
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Bar With Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant twice this past week and really enjoyed the experience. We sat at the bar on both occasions and had the pleasure of meeting Julie who tended the bar. She was great, the bar and restaurant were very busy both days but she was on top of her game and made us feel very welcome. When we came in the second night she remembered us and what we drank the previous visit. Julie is excellent at her craft and makes great cocktails, I highly recommend ordering and watching her make the Hudson's Mexican Coffee. Julie also knows the menu and recommended the halibut special which we both had. It was excellent, compliments to the chef. We highly recommend a visit here, you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGuy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“#1 In Vancouver (The Bar Set Real Low)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fine dining in Vancouver has always been hard to come by especially when compared to what is available across the Columbia River in Portland. Our family decided to try Hudson's which is inside the Heathman Hotel. Pros. Decor. The hotel lobby and restaurant have a open feel with a lot of wood accents. We had reservations and the service was good. Cons: Noise. There is no acoustic baffling in the restaurant so it was real noisy, like eating inside a utensil drawer being opened and closed. Prices: Should be $$$ instead of $$. It's ala carte so the bill adds up quickly.
$9.00 for a glass of cabernet. I had the salmon entree for $26. It came on a small plate, was a small portion and was overcooked. We won't be going back again. Instead, we will travel across the Columbia to Portland where there are perhaps 300 restaurants with better food and better prices. In the end Hudson's charges high end restaurant prices and serves average fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fresh crab cocktail, salmon Cobb salad and an amazing Chocolate mousse cake! The chef's presentation with food and wine was outstanding! Oh and my absolute favorite is Happy Hour with a delightful piano player brining down the house with cheerful, welcoming jazz music. Definitely a WOW experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
125 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I ate alone. The by the glass wine list was uninteresting. The corn chowder was ok, but not memorable. The server told me the pork shoulder had great favors, and he was right. The problem is that shoulder should be cooked low and slow so it is moist and fall-apart tender. It was tough. The fennel purée on top was room temp at best...almost cold. All the server offered was to take it to the kitchen and "warm it up". I will not be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gec718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hudson's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing