We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st time was memorable ...”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #46 of 713 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My 1st time was memorable ...”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family raved about this place and it did not disappoint. The service was good and our server (and Asst GM Todd) were friendly and readily available to help. If you want quality, this is the place - if quantity, not so much. We had 3 crab meals and all were delicious. The "experience" was great and was worth the elevated price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomSahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    104
    96
    42
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food & patio seating.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Came in on a nice sunny day and was seated out on the patio. What a view of the water. Our server was very nice. The food was very good. The atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PokeSnaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So Fun!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have never had crab so I was a little skeptical upon arrival. For appetisers, we had the lobster bisque and a salad. Both were great. I particularly enjoyed the bisque- very creamy. We ordered a family bucket which was filled with crab legs, corn, potatoes and shrimps. The crab was so tasty, as was everything else in the large pot of food!
The thing I enjoyed most about my visit to the crab shack was how much fun the whole experience was. They give you a bib to wear as you eat, which might sound a little embarrassing but when everyone around you is doing the same, it really doesn't matter. It is very hands on food and does get a little messy but it is all part of the fun!
Really enjoyed the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreeMusketeers786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

GREAT VIEW, GREAT SERVICE GREAT FOOD!!!!! We come here ever time we spend the night in Vancouver/Portland. Ask to sit outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Topanga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A memorable meal”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We tried to get in the night before, and left after we were told it would be a 45 minute wait. The next evening we arrived early (5PM) and were immediately seated in the lounge. We ordered Joe's Classic Steampot for two. 1/2 a Dungeness and 1/2 Snow crab each, plus half-a-dozen shrimp, corn on the cob, potato, and, inexplicably, an enormous sausage. The crab was perfectly steamed and delicious. There was way too much food, and we enjoyed almost every bit of it, although one of the sausages was left behind. Amazing value for such an over-the-top meal. Service was very friendly and fast. The gave us a nifty crab meat extractor of a type I had never seen before. Although we were encourage to "steal" the devices, I was disappointed they weren't selling more in the gift shop. There is a lovely river walk right at the restaurant, near historic Fort Vancouver. This helped burn off some of the 1 million calories we consumed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing