We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A poseur of 'fine dining' in Vancouver, Wa.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy O'S Eastside Cafe & Deli - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tommy O'S Eastside Cafe & Deli
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Washington state
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A poseur of 'fine dining' in Vancouver, Wa.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

As locals, we have dined at Tommy O's on several special occasions, mostly because it's one of the few nicer restaurants in Vancouver.
On one visit three months ago, our dining experience was a total disaster......terrible service and cold food served, and expensive, as well. The manager, realizing what had occurred and without our asking, gave us a certificate to return for a free dinner. We were hesitant to return, however, we did return and had essentially the same experience. We can't imagine what happened at Tommy O's, but we won't return for at least six months. Perhaps by then the management will have their server problems sorted out. Tommy O's, you must know the importance of word of mouth in a small venue such as Vancouver. We will miss you, but we won't be seeing you for quite awhile.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ridgefieldrmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rude chef!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After hearing so many wonderful things about this place from family and friends, my sis and I decided to go there on Sunday for an early dinner on April 29th after spending the day at the 50+ Conference at the Hilton. We complained to our waitress that our halibut was cold and so she must have said something to the chef. We were sitting outside as it was a sunny day and the chef came storming outside and was very confrontational. He was a younger guy and it was very upsetting to experience such a hostile person in such a nice setting. This guy truly had an axe to grind! We will NEVER be back. We had ordered drinks, appetizers and a meal. We left very upset.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Golflady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This Hawaiian restaurant offers delicious meals that are more haute cuisine than clique pineapple chicken. We had the best oysters on the half shell that I've ever had followed by really interesting and beautifully served meals. The wait staff are very professional but hip and fun too. This is a good destination for most types of meals (I can't speak to the little kids' menu, but it's casual enough to try it).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alta_gal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family of 5 ate here and everyone loved there food. I got the pork and it was sooo good. Husband got the 2 types of sushi and loved both. Cucumber salad was awesome. Really glad we found this place on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diastolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

As good as anything you'd get on the islands and the best Hawaiian food around. This is as good as anything I've had a Roy's (better, actually, than their restaurants in Las Vegas and Scottsdale). The atmosphere is upscale, but not stuffy. Great menu and full of the specialties we fondly remember from our many visits to Hawaii. They also have a great Happy Hour. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cuberican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy O'S Eastside Cafe & Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing