We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sensory overload but a fun family activity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Al's Bowling

Big Al's Bowling
Ranked #2 of 18 Fun & Games in Vancouver
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A sensory overload but a fun family activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

While Big Al's is a great family activity with a great atmosphere if you what a simple place to bowl, talk and hang with friends or family this is not it. Here you have videos, music, lights, noise, and what-not going on. It is kind of hard to concentrate when screens everywhere project music videos and visual stimulation from every corner. But the kids love it plus the food is good, and there is an arcade, so bonus. I wouldn't go here every time I wanted to bowl but it is fun for special occasions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the best of the best sports bars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

OK, so it's convenient to my home. And the multiple ginormous TV screens can't hurt. Even so, this food curmudgeon thinks it's pretty good. Nice menu, good food, and I like the almost constant buzz back in the arcade and bowling areas. Obviously, I'm not the only one.
Big Al's re-defined sports bars in the Vancouver/Portland metro area, what about 5 years ago? And they're still on top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Teambuilding Made Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent an evening here on a recent business trip and decided to bowl to help with our teambuilding. I was SO impressed with this facility! It is huge! The drinks and many appetizers we ordered were declicious. Service was fantastic as well. After bowling we headed to the pool and shuffleboard area and finished the night there. I hope we go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great entertainment venue for team building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am an event planner and hosted my client's team here for a team day. The staff worked with me to help put together a 3 phase activity and I interspersed an element that customized it for our group. They were happy to work with me on it, and it was a great success.

I also had another event for another group the same week and they had bowling and dinner. The staff worked to make it a very affordable event for this non-profit group, and they enjoyed their experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lattenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, Economical, Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I usually go with the grandkids, but occasionally adults only. The entertainment for the grandkids is fun and safe and I always end up enjoying the games with them. Large portions of food at reasonable prices. Lots of TVs for sports. Onion rings are wonderful and always a good starter to the meal. Even the grandkids like them so will have to order two orders to satisfy the family---yes they are that good. Watch out for Nachos..we ordered them for one person and could no way eat them all. It was very large but very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Bowling also viewed

 

Been to Big Al's Bowling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing