We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Ulysses S. Grant House
Ranked #12 of 53 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: General Ulysses S. Grant lived on the property of this stately house on Officers' Row while serving at the Vancouver garrison, and today, visitors are welcome inside the historic home.
Madison, al
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Restaurant in historical home. Beautiful grounds! Our meal, from appetizer to dessert, was delicious! We sat outside in garden area...lovely!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonPatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Enhanced Experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It is not a common experience to have a fine meal in a house that was once the home an iconic leader, and here Ulysses S. Grant. What with the many American flags flying on the expansive front porch, where meals are also served in warm weather, one's dining experience is enhanced with the long history of this magnificent home turned restaurant. One really feels the history of this setting, and it is a good feeling.

Four of us had a terrific meal, beginning with well-made and interestingly-crafted cocktails and with a well-priced local pinot gris. The fish, meat, and risotto dishes were presented by an attentive server who also shared the history of Grant House. And most importantly, the food was appropriately cooked, in generous portions, and quite delicious.

Clearly this is a place to which we will be returning. The restaurant is located in Fort Vancouver--a national treasure, which is beautifully maintained and well worth a visit on its own.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Grant House Restaurant On Officer's Row”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is an upscale restaurant that mainly caters to couples, teens, and business people. It is one of the houses on Officer's Row. They serve a variety of foods here, and they are all expensive too! It is an elegant restaurant. I ate a steak dinner there one time, and I could cut the steak with a table knife it was so tender. They also have some drinks available at your request and as shown on the menu. I prefer to drink Coke myself. If you are able to pay the high cost for your meal, then you will never forget the food at this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food on Officers Row”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have eaten here for lunch and dinner, but most recently have been going for Happy Hour. They have an interesting menu for which ever choice of dining you choose. Happy Hour is only available in the bar which has very limited seating.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant bar and dining room at an historic house”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I toured the old airfield and the surrounding military barracks--wonderful walking with many trees and lawns (parade fields). We then went to Grant House for drinks and snacks. The bar is well stocked with good service and good music on some evenings. We liked it so much we called friends at a downtown hotel to join us for dinner. The cuisine was very good. The service was helpful and amiable. Be sure to ask to see the old logs evident in a hallway--house is of 1859 vintage. Parking was easy and it is less than five minutes from the town center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulysses S. Grant House also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses S. Grant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing