We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on Officers Row”

Ulysses S. Grant House
Ranked #12 of 53 things to do in Vancouver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: General Ulysses S. Grant lived on the property of this stately house on Officers' Row while serving at the Vancouver garrison, and today, visitors are welcome inside the historic home.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food on Officers Row”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have eaten here for lunch and dinner, but most recently have been going for Happy Hour. They have an interesting menu for which ever choice of dining you choose. Happy Hour is only available in the bar which has very limited seating.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New orleans
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant bar and dining room at an historic house”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I toured the old airfield and the surrounding military barracks--wonderful walking with many trees and lawns (parade fields). We then went to Grant House for drinks and snacks. The bar is well stocked with good service and good music on some evenings. We liked it so much we called friends at a downtown hotel to join us for dinner. The cuisine was very good. The service was helpful and amiable. Be sure to ask to see the old logs evident in a hallway--house is of 1859 vintage. Parking was easy and it is less than five minutes from the town center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overpriced mediocre food.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

One word... boring! So so food and service. Uninteresting Spaghetti Factory decor. Nice that there is so much history in the building and surrounding area, otherwise there isn't any there there.

Helpful?
Thank EvereadyFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Decent lunch overlooking Fort Vancouver”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

U S Grant served at the fort but never lived in this house. It was named for him afterwards.
The house is now an upscale eatery with many fine wines. We ate sandwiches and fries and then played with kids on the lawn.
I would have rated this as a restaurant rather than an attraction.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HISTORY HERE”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Part of Vancouver's Officer's Row. Quiet street with huge old maples. Interesting pictures and good food. Parking is across the street and there are steps up to the huge porch where you can dine in good weather.

Helpful?
Thank hendersonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulysses S. Grant House also viewed

 

Been to Ulysses S. Grant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing