We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but under-staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here twice in July. First visit was for 6 nights; second visit was 10 nights. Rooms were clean; beds were comfortable. Standard breakfast was good. Location was centrally located and it was quiet. I got a great rate off the hotel website several months in advance. My complaints concern staff at this hotel. Most evenings, the hotel was understaffed; there was usually just one staff member for the entire hotel. Check ins were very slow and any special requests were unable to be accomodated until the next morning when there would be more staff. Also, many evenings, staff had family members & friends swimming at the pool. There were also 2 house-keepers who had bad attitudes and poor customer service manners. I stay at Best Western hotels frequently but would not stay at this one again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseNancy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I do hope your stay was enjoyable despite having our staffing issue. As a general rule we only have one staff member on in the evenings and I will look into the possibility of putting more on. We do our best to accommodate the need of every guest as quickly as we can. I would like to assure you that I will address the attitude issue of my housekeepers. As far as the pool goes, you state that there were many evenings that staff members were in it and I will look into it as we do not allow staff to swim unless they have a GM approval and no one had asked me. I did allow it once while you were here as it was a special occasion and it was set up a very long time ago. We do hope that you will change your mind about not staying at our property again. Thanks again.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 820 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

My Husband, Rick, and I recently completed a 2-day stay at the Best Western at the Vancouver, WA Mall. We had some fairly critical family needs for a specific type of room, and both women at the Front Desk (Richelle Gager and Cassi) went out of their way to ensure that our needs were met. Both women were extremely efficient and very personable!

Needless to say we will be staying at this hotel again!!

Sincerely,
Kathy & Rick

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom suite. Each has a bathroom and one had a bath and living room arrangement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkharville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests and without employees like Richelle and Cassi, we wouldn't be able to do so. We look forward to your next visit. Again, thank you very much.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, overall quality is above average but not super. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is ok and there is enough sitting space available. Rooms are standard, clean but there was only an old CRT tv with limited channels. Beds were comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a decent stay and do hope to see you stay with us again soon. We will be receiving flat screen TV's by the end of the year.

Thanks again,

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Alex does a great job managing this hotel. We felt welcome and were pleased with the continental breakfast every morning, the cleanliness of the room and lobby,etc. Alex, Cassie and staff were helpful, efficient and made our stay pleasant. As we were traveling for a family wedding and funeral all in the same week, it was a very comforting place to call our temporary home. Thanks for a great experience. Would definately recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the review. Your kind words mean a lot to myself and my staff members. We do our best to make it feel like a home away from home. My housekeeping staff does a great job to keep our Best Western as clean as possible. I hope that all is going well for your family through the joyous wedding occasion and through the hardships of losing a loved one. Our thoughts are with you. We look forward to your next visit.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The building and room is quite nice and clean. The two-bed room is quite spacious compared to most. It has a micro, fridge, coffee pot, and plenty of space and furniture. Also it has free Internet and breakfast. However, there are several drawbacks: (1) the pet policy is confusing because on Trip Advisor and their website it says they allow pets (I checked and double-checked, as I usually do) however the in-room binder said they don't allow pets; (2) the TV is outdated and really poor with fuzzy picture (it's not a flat screen); and, (3) the hotel is right off freeway 205 but not I-5 so it's nowhere near downtown Vancouver or Esther Short park where Farmer's Market takes place plus other festivals. It's 5 miles away in a suburban location. It's across the street from a big shopping mall, where we found a yummy restaurant called Brewtopia (although pricey) and Baskin Robbins Ice Cream. We're in town for the G & D triathlon, which is at the Frenchman's Bar, so this hotel is a bit farther (5 miles) than the Hilton near downtown. We may not choose to stay here again because of the location. But the building itself is nice/clean and environmentally friendly. A good choice if you don't mind a farther location or locale off I-205.

Room Tip: There are four floors and one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for the review. I would like to take this moment to address your items listed in this review. (1) Our pet policy recently changed from not allowing pets to allowing pets. I haven't received my new laminated pages for our guest directory, so it does still say that we don't allow pets. Thanks for bringing to my attention that our website had not received the update, I thought we had that taken care of, so I will look into that. (2) We will have all new flat screen TV's by the end of the year. (3) We are a short drive from downtown Vancouver, where the Farmers Market is held, however, it is a quick easy drive to get there. I do hope you had a great stay here during your visit to Vancouver, I do hope that you will stay again with us.
Thanks again.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Yes the hotel is old but it is clean and that counts in my book. No the doors dont slam shut by themselves and that is what caused the complaints about doors not locking. They lock, you just have to close them so its no big deal. The staff is great and helpfull, the breakfast is good but closes at 9:30 on weekdays, they actually lock you out or in depending on what side of the door your on. That kind of ticke me off but I got over it. Its close to the mall but away from everything else touristy. The mall has a very cool lounge movie theater that you can eat dinner and drink in during the show. Its full of leather couchs and is semi private, $18 a seat but it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same, this is a no view hotel so it really doesnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am glad you had a good stay and had a chance to enjoy Cinetopia in the mall. We value your business and hope to see you again next time you travel our direction.

Thanks again.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We always stay here when in the Portland area due to the great value and helpful staff. The rooms are large and clean and the breakfast has the full variety of hot and cold choices. This year they have added recycle bins, another plus one doesn't find in many hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murfplace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex F, General Manager at Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We value your business and loyalty, it means a lot to myself and my entire staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again.

Alex Fullerton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.9 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
195 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vancouver North Salmon Creek
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#16 of 29 in Vancouver
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites

Address: 9420 NE Vancouver Mall Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $89 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated BEST WESTERN PLUS Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel, we see guests as more than just dollar signs. Like a good friend, we’re here to make you feel at home with attentive service, helpful advice and a commitment to your comfort. It’s all yours just 20 minutes from PDX airport, easily accessible from downtown Vancouver and steps from the world-renowned Cinetopia 23 Movie Theater and Vancouver Mall. Step into our inviting rooms or suites and you might be surprised at just how much you get for your dollar. Every guestroom comes standard with free high-speed Wi-Fi, 32 in flat screen tv’s, spacious desks, microwave, fridge, and a variety of modern conveniences. We even offer a full hot breakfast buffet complimentary with our rooms! Unwind in our spacious indoor pool and hot tub, relax in our sauna, work up a sweat in our fitness center, or utilize our conference room for an array of services. Our hotel has amenities to satisfy all types of guest needs. Just off Interstate 205 and State Route 500, our BEST WESTERN PLUS, WA hotel is located in a clean, safe Vancouver, WA neighborhood. Stay with us and you’ll find yourself just minutes from dozens of top-notch shops, restaurants, golf courses, and nearby attractions like Portland International Speedway and historic Fort Vancouver, and Multnomah Falls. Don't settle for second-rate Vancouver, WA accommodation: book your room at the BEST WESTERN PLUS today or enjoy fantastic savings with our Vancouver, WA hotel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel Vancouver
Best Western Vancouver
Vancouver Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing