We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale ... with Big Screen TV”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ginger Pop

Ginger Pop
Ranked #37 of 703 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Upscale ... with Big Screen TV”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is tasty. We had delicious spring rolls - very fresh - followed by a yellow curry dish (not as good as the spring rolls, but getting there). The wine selection is condensed, but offer some bargains. Presentation is very nice and the service was attentive.

Ambiance is a curious combination of trying to be upscale/trendy with a couple of "sportsbar-type big screen TV's. Perhaps this works in Vancouver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Modern for a Thai Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We like Ginger Pop and have been there several times. There are a few negatives, however.

The location is very clean and urban. The service is not great. It isn't bad, but for as small as it is, I would expect better service.

The food is prepared with high quality fresh ingredients, though the portions are rather small compared to other Thai restaurants in the area. The curry is usually very mild and borderline bland. it is very important to let them know if you want a kick to your curry.

I used to love the larb salad. It was put together nicely and the dressing was fabulous. Recently however, I ordered it and it has changed. It seemed to be more of an iceburg wedge with a pile of tofu and a small amount of dressing. I was quite disappointed and that will no longer be my go-to dish.

The prices are a little spendy compared to nearby Thai Orchid, but the food does seem much fresher. Overall, it is a great little place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The only problem for me was that it was too quiet. More people should be here. The prices are right, but it doesn't feel like happy hour 'cause more people should be here. This must be the best kept secret in Vancouver. There's no reason. Get here folks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place is elegantly decorated and has good service and attractive plating presentation. The food is good. It can be quite mild so be sure to ask if you want it spicy.

Ginger Pop is more westernized and a bit fancier than most of the other Thai restaurants I've been to in this area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annetho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh and original Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Larb is fantastic, in fact everything I have ordered comes freshly prepared and always has a tremendous flavor! The fresh salad rolls are a delight with such a yummy sauce! Check out the chandelier, an example of the owners creative ways. This placed is a "must try" is you like Thai!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Pop also viewed

 

Been to Ginger Pop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing