We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Vancouver!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Vancouver!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My daughter and her boyfriend live in Vancouver, and I try to visit twice a year. I have stayed in at least 6 hotels in the area. I plan to use Homewood Suites from now on!

This all-suites hotel is probably the nicest "home-like" property I have ever been in. Sure, I have stayed at fancier places, but this Homewood Suites was just like home! I moved right in! Full kitchen (with all dishes, glassware, silverware and other necessities as well as full-sized appliances - refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave plus two-burner stovetop), large vanity area outside of bathroom, wonderful living room space, work/dining area and HUGE bedroom, with double doors leading into it for privacy. The furniture was all fresh, clean and comfortable, and the bedroom (with an amazingly comfortable bed) had a great ceiling fan.

The entire space was spotless and housekeeping kept it that way throughout my week-long stay. The suite itself was tremendous, and the storage was also fantastic. They placed drawers, closets and cupboards in every available spot.

My suite had huge windows in both the living room and bedroom, and I had a small view of the Columbia River. The location was perfect for all my activities - easy on/off access to major highways, very close to downtown Vancouver and also handy to Portland.

The staff was always available and very attentive, greeting me on all my comings and goings and helping with my questions. From the front desk folks to the housekeepers, everyone was so friendly!

The hotel also has a 24-hour Business Center and totally free high-speed internet access. The pool was closed for the season, but a lovely hot tub was available.

The breakfasts were the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. So many choices! Multiple hot entrees, cold and hot cereal, bagels, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, baked goods and always 24-hour hot coffee. Monday through Thursday evenings they actually serve dinner from 5-7, with wine, beer and soda available. The menu for the week is posted on your suite refrigerator. I had oven-baked chicken one night, with au gratin potatoes, french-cut green beans and homemade biscuits. A full salad was also available.

All-in-all, an amazing stay at a perfect, "sweet" suite hotel! I would recommend this to anyone traveling to or through Vancouver!

Room Tip: Suites at the rear of the property are VERY quiet and some have Columbia River views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONGOLDENPOND2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    148
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
197
150
27
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Overall it was a great stay. I wish the ice maker worked though as I wanted to make lemon drops! :) Lucky for me, the girl at the desk bagged some up for me and had it waiting by the time I got to the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice in two years and have had a very pleasant experience. The breakfast is wonderful. Huge variety of food to choose from. The staff is friendly and helpful. Clean and well maintained. Good location. Easy on/off freeway.

Room Tip: Both rooms we have stayed in were quiet and had good light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff here and the rooms are very sweet! I have stayed here several times and each time I have been very happy with everything. The evening reception, a one of a kind top notch experinace. Great wine, great food and freindly people. This is the place you want to stay. The internet was a great FREE service and connection was strong.It is a very homey place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice - depends on if you want a balconey room or a patio they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyap489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience with Homewood Suites. We always stay in the Hilton in Vancouver which is exquisite! But this time when we checked in to the Hilton we had mistakenly booked the wrong month, and they were fully booked. They called over to their other property, Homewood Suites by Hilton and secured a room for us. Though we were disappointed we drove over and found that the Homewood is in a beautiful area along the Columbia river next to several great restaurants a coffee shop and a walking trail along the river. So great location! When we checked in the girl said they only had the one night available, they were booked for the weekend but they would put us on a waiting list. She was really kind and concerned for us. We trudged to our room where we were really surprised...every room is a suite complete with living room, dining table, kitchen then a bedroom and bath that can be closed off for privacy. It was a beautiful little room. Within an hour the front desk called and told us they had secured us a room for the entire weekend, and the fare was really low. Next morning we discovered they serve a huge breakfast in a beautiful lounge, all included in your room rate! It included one keys, sausages, breads, fruit, juices, pastries, waffles, yogurt, coffee and much more. Furthermore they have a free happy hour in the afternoon and free dinner Monday-Thursday. In the dining area there were 2-3 girls working their buns off keeping food refilled, cleaning off peoples tables and giving really gracious service. It is a really incredible deal, great for business travelers and for families! They have a fitness room as well. My only complaints come from my personal preferences: one, I am a bed snob and while the bed was fine it wasn't "dreamy" like the beds at the Hilton. And two, I appreciate a good I door heated pool and jacuzzi, and their hot tub was outdoors. Not sure if there was even a pool. However I would definitely go back again...if the Vancouver Hilton is full! (I just love Hilton properties!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delliott840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Location is great, right on the river, the staff was great, the food was great, and everything was very nice, except since I was fighting a bad cold I did not want to use the lobby or business center for internet access, and I could not get access from my room. Otherwise, I would give it a very high recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It appears as if most are two-room suites with a few buildings having two bedrooms. We also had a very small kitchen strip, small dining table, sitting area with couch and chair, and a separate bedroom connected by double doors that by itself was the size of most motel rooms. The large bathroom is off the bedroom, which a little drawback as if one person is still sleeping, it's hard for the other to take a shower, etc w/o disturbing the sleeper. However, we are discovering suites are nice for when one wants to stay up and watch TV (or read) and the other wants to hit the hay. We also booked a balconied suite, which was a bit of a waste since the weather wasn't nice enough to sit outside but we did have a nice view of the pool courtyard instead of a parking lot. It's also fairly quite although railroad tracks are fairly close and jets fly overhead, but we didn't hear much of anything.

Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast wasn't quite as good as we expected for a "full breakfast." There were little pre-made omelets, fairly tasteless scrambled eggs, small slices of ham, bagels, muffins, bread, etc. There was also a waffle station but look for it as it's tucked on the other side of the breakfast area. Since it was Saturday night we didn't get to try the complimentary drinks and "dinner."

I understand the lobby will be undergoing a renovation but it seemed fine the way it was although the breakfast tables could be arranged a bit better. There is also a nice area of patio seating for warmer weather dining.

The hotel is a little bit off the beaten path and while the Columbia river trail is close for walking, running, and biking, and there are two restaurants within a block (McMenamins and Beaches), one needs to have a car in order to travel to downtown Vancouver or Portland although there is a shopping area across the highway.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay there if we wanted to be in the area but for general lazing purposes, we would probably go to the Jantzen Beach Red Lion which has a river front pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are at least 2-room suites but some have balconies and are three-storied. For non-parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
3.9 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
853 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Vancouver
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Address: 701 SE Columbia Shores Blvd, Sarasota, Vancouver, WA 98661-8050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our spacious guestrooms feature our plush Hyatt Grand Bed® and state-of-the-art media and work centers. You’ll love the 42" HDTV, Cozy Corner with sofa or sofa-sleeper, and bathroom vanities with granite countertops and complimentary amenities. Get connected with free Wi-Fi and remote printing. Forget something? Odds & Ends has you covered with must-have items you can buy, borrow or enjoy for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hotel Vancouver
Hilton Vancouver
Homewood Vancouver
Homewood Suites Vancouver Portland
Vancouver Hilton
Vancouver Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing