We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We were on our honeymoon and had stayed at a variety of hotels, lodges, bed and breakfast inns. When we left the Heathman Lodge, we completely agreed this was the best place we stayed in our trip if not ever! Super friendly staff! Our check-in was awesome, not rushed but very informative and personal. Hallways have faint outdoor sounds playing - so cool. Room was awesome with all the amenities! Super comfy bed and pillows. Bathroom had all you need! There was free laundry services available which was a huge help after 10 days of travel and hiking! Dinner in the restaurant was delicious! Surprised a hotel restaurant could be this good, but it gets better...the breakfast the next morning was the best we had on our trip! Bread pudding French toast was incredible!!! Haven't had its equal!!! Great atmosphere with respect to cultural and historic aspects of Pacific NW. We only stayed one night but it was memorable!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mt_Desert_Isle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    189
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
188
237
45
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have always used Vancouver, WA as a low-key, affordable source for lodging that is within striking distance of Portland. And we have always gotten pretty much what we paid for - until our stay at the Heathman Lodge. This place is comfy, homey and really well run. You are greeted by a majestic lobby that is a tribute to real American log building, appointed with a set of genuine Andy Warhol "Wild West Series" prints. The room was clean and well equipped with no noise from adjacent rooms. My only beef was the shower which had pathetic pressure and a cheap head - a chronic problem in hotels these days. So go ahead and visit this place if you're ever in need of a room in the Portland area- but do me a favor and don't go blabbing it to all your friends; let it be our little secret ;-)

Green Features: As is so often the case in the Northwest, this hotel has excellent environmental practices and policies.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tknofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Enjoyed the business class upgrade. The appetizers and breakfast were worth it. Our room was very spacious and nice. Our kids enjoyed it as well and the swimming pool. We ordered room service and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Schell75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Heathman Lodge was our best stay on a 10 day trip. Good location near Portland and excellent room, restaurant and bar. Would love to stay again. Relaxing atmosphere, wonderful staff. The lodge atmosphere made you feel like you were in a mountain lodge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed on the 4th floor, the Business Level, of the Heathman Lodge for three nights. Initially we were booked in for two nights, but it was so pleasant that we stayed another night.

- Good access to day trips to Portland and Mt. St. Helens
- Plenty of free parking
- Both rooms excellent in all respects - quiet, with comfortable temperature and a good quiet A/C, great bed, good furniture, nice bathroom, fast and steady free wi-fi
- Everything was spotless
- No noises from upper floors for guests on the 4th floor
- Exclusive access for 4th floor guests to business breakfast room - generous and tasty
- Free wine, beer and snacks for business guests every afternoon in private reception area
- Complimentary daily paper of choice delivered to room
- Very good restaurant on site, Hudson’s Bar & Grill - a pleasure to eat there
- Live piano performances at night in lounge

The hotel would seem to be a normal hotel, but in fact it is filled with some quite amazing original Western-themed art, including restored canoes, murals, Pendleton blankets, sculptures and even numbered Andy Warhol prints. It is a feast for the eyes. The Western theme extends from the rooms to the imposing wood beams and carvings of which the hotel has been constructed.

The reception staff at the Heathman Lodge were a pleasure to deal with - friendly, helpful, and efficient. They arranged taxis for us into Portland, and when we wanted to stay another night, they got us another 4th floor room, and upgraded us for free to a huge corner suite.

The hotel seemed popular and there were multiple conferences running while we were there, and the reception area was always buzzing. Now we know why.

Room Tip: 4th floor Business Level
See more room tips
Green Features: These were visible all over the premises. They are obviously proud of their efforts.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We always love our stays at The Heathman Lodge. So relaxing and fun. Like our "Home Away From Home". Thanks so much! The whole staff is awesome! We also enjoy our times at Hudson's, as well. So friendly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm currently in the midst of a 3-night stay, and have found much to like about this property. The entire hotel... from the outside, to the lobby, to the rooms is in great condition and is very attractive. The rooms are HUGE (much larger than a typical hotel room), have free internet, a good sized mini-refrigerator (about 2x as big as standard), free parking, and they even have FREE laundry machines available (almost unheard of). We also appreciate it having 2 queen beds (many hotels only offer 2 doubles... and there's plenty of floor space despite having 2 larger beds due to the size of the room). Pool area is attractive. Haven't tried the bar/restaurant yet (but it looks nice), and the front desk staff was very friendly. This was a much cheaper option than a downtown Portland property... and a good base from which to explore the area (the immediate area is very nice too, with lots of shopping and restaurants).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Property: Heathman Lodge
Address: 7801 NE Greenwood Dr, Vancouver, WA 98662-7900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing