We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcome here!”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not welcome here!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After reading tripadvisor comments about this hotel, we booked 1 nite on the way home from wine tasting. I used Expedia, which I guess was a problem for the person who checked us in. When we asked for a room on the 4th floor, she told us we could not have one on that floor because we had used a 3rd party to book & it was already paid for. When we asked about a complimentary upgrade, again, no go cuz we had used a 3rd party. Then we got the lecture on using a 3rd party to book rooms & how there was nothing she could do for us. When we asked for a quiet room, we got one facing a busy street with a view of the large, rustic beams above the front entrance (see pic). Good thing breakfast the next morning was delicious & the service was wonderful. I had the mushroom brie omelet & my husband had the ham & eggs. Our server was attentive & had a great sense of humor. At least we felt welcome in this room!

Room Tip: Try for an inside room if you are looking for quiet. The pillows we had were horrible - little, hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c00ke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry that we were not able to offer you a complimentary upgrade during your visit. We do offer upgrades subject to availability, and small upgrade fee. We do offer this regardless of how our guests make their reservations.

While I understand we could not offer a complimentary upgrade, you should have been offered the option to upgrade for a small fee. When we have these upgrades available, it is a great value for our guests.

I would be happy to hear more about this situation, and I can be contact directly at the Hotel.

Yours Truly,

Brian McClary
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    206
    57
    17
    7
See reviews for
203
257
49
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a resort feel in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Vancouver WA. You will enjoy the fish out in the landscaping as you arrive and then instant calming of the all wood design of the interior. A great place for conventions or just being lazy!!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. If you stay on the upper floors you will get access to your private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamahadan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I learned about the Lodge because I was attending a conference there. I stayed a few days before & after for a total of seven days. The amenities (pool, exercise room) were clean & up to date. The restaurant was excellent, happy hour prices were great. However, the catering for the meeting was sub par, mediocore sandwiches for lunch & hard boiled eggs, greasy pastries & not enough fresh fruit or yogurt for breakfast.
Shuttle service is available with advanced reservations & availability, they were able to accomodate a last minute request.
The staff was great, very friendly, learned my name, made me feel right at home & were knowledgable about bus lines, cabs, etc.
Nice gift shop with every forgotten item you would need including peroxide & contact lens cleaner.
The rooms were good, enjoyed my posturpedic mattress, cleaning wasn't great, had to request extra towels & linen changes multiple times.
Laundry is no charge to guests, just bring your own soap.
The ambience & style of the hotel is great, not kitschey, but authentic, cozy & comfy.
I will definitely return

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room as some are located over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravlin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Heathman 7 or 8 times over the last 5 years, both as a couple and with our children. Each time has been wonderful. The lodge construction is inviting and beautiful right down the furniture in the rooms. The hotel star are friendly and eager to help. The public spaces and the grounds are clean and inviting. There is a Starbuck and a small eastern European deli within walking distance. We will surly stay there again on our next trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms near the lobby stair case on the second floor. Noise carries up from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel last week and the hotel is quite nice, clean, and the rooms excellent. New mattresses are especially comfortable. My 95 year old father was with me and I had received an email asking if I would have any requests when we got there. I had asked for a room near the elevator because of my dad's mobility. The staff didn't seem at all aware of that request and we had a room half a hall from either elevator.
I invited some local family members to join me for breakfast and after asking for a table instead of a booth, we were taken to a table just in front of the kitchen. My father has impaired hearing and we wanted to visit with relatives. We were then seated at a prime table. One member said the pancakes were terrible and didn't finish them. The other plates arrived cold. The menu has a nice variety of what is offered and since we ordered different things it seemed they waited until all the plates were ready and brought them out at the same time. The waitress was a gem, a high light to the whole stay.

Room Tip: They told me they assign the rooms on arrival so any special requests might have to be made then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtrip433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night after flying into Portland. Hotel was a refreshing contrast to the usual chains and a short drive from the airport. Thought it was located walking distance to the river but is in a shopping complex. The staff and food were very good. Surprised that our room was ADA compliant which made the bathroom more institutional than we like. The AC clicking off and on was a bit irritating. All in all it was a nice layover with northwest appeal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

this is an amazing hotel. From the decor to the amazingly helpful and friendly staff, everything is first rate. We had both happy hour and Breakfast at the in house restaraunts, Hudson's. Both meals were very good and reasonably priced. I have stayed here twice before I was a member of Tripadvisor and both experiences were also first rate. If you upgrade to the fourth floor there's a complimentary cocktail hour with very good wine and beer choices and some snacks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Property: Heathman Lodge
Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing