We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely WOW'd!!”
Review of Heathman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heathman Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had read a lot of great reviews before going so my expectations were set quite high, and even with that mindset I was blown away.

I had told the front desk when I booked it was my birthday, and when we arrived we were upgraded to a suite and they had balloons and chocolates waiting for me which was a really nice personal touch.

The room was incredible, clean, filled with every amenity you would need, the furniture was beautiful as well. Very rustic. You arent disrupted by other guests, I did not hear a single peep from any other rooms. The layout is easy to figure out, and if you get confused or forget the front desk was more than willing to explain things.

The front desk was always friendly when you walked by, unlike some hotels who don't even acknowledge your existence.

The restaurant had the best food we have ever tasted...Im still imagining it! The service was very prompt and friendly as well.

Overall I have not one bad thing to say about this hotel. The fact that its a bit out of the way is completely forgotten when you settle in :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, General Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Hello Brandie W -

Thank you for your great review about the Heathman Lodge. We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Our staff pride themselves on taking great care of guests, and as you see it shows! We do have a great clean building but it is our staff that makes it wonderful. We hope to see you again!

Yours Truly,

Brett Wilkerson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 894 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I discovered Heathman Lodge from Living Social. My husband and I needed to get away for the weekend, and when I saw the picture of the lodge, I really liked the warm and inviting look of the place. So we made reservations for this past weekend.

Even before my voucher from Living Social was ready to print, I was able to make reservations. And I still didn't have my voucher when we checked in. But they were okay with that - told me to print it out at the Business Center whenever it was ready. I very much appreciated their friendly attitude, and willingness to work with me over this minor issue. I found them to be helpful and friendly the entire weekend.

The lobby was beautiful, very warm and inviting. The room was perfect - except the TV was not the 42" which was advertised on their website (I would say maybe 37"?).

Anyway, the size of the TV was really nothing in the scheme of things. The king bed was super comfortable, the room was clean and had everything we needed. The Keurig coffee maker was perfect in the morning. As part of the Living Social deal, we had a bottle of merlot wine waiting for us, a box of chocolates and rose petals strewn on the bed.

The first morning we had breakfast at Hudson's. I had the huevos rancheros, and I would heartily recommend it. It was yummy. We had dinner at a different restaurant that evening, but I now wish I had eaten at Hudson's. The food smelled so good as we passed through the lobby. Late that night I picked up our "free" bread pudding (also part of the Living Social deal), and it was delicious!!

The next morning we asked for late checkout, and got it with no problem. We were offered coffee and a newspaper at the front desk as we checked out. I told them we would definitely be back!

To summarize, the room was clean and comfortable and inviting. I forgot to mention the shower---nice and big, just the way I like it. The staff was friendly, service was perfect, and the food was delicious. A perfect getaway if you want to visit the city of Vancouver.

Thank you Heathman Lodge!

Room Tip: Room 376 was a perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentGal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The log cabin decor, both interior and exterior, set this hotel apart. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Wi-fi is free. The meeting facilities are very nice. The workout area includes treadmills, ellipticals and weights in a small, but adequate room off the indoor pool. The lodge is about ten minutes from the Portland airport. The hotel is located on a quiet street, good for jogging, on a relatively quiet street. The hotel appears to cater business travelers and groups.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading all the rave reviews we decided we had to stay at the Heathman Lodge. We were quite disappointed. I suspect that it is a wonderful place to stay for business travellers. But for those on vacation it isn't quite what we wanted. My husband described it as "style over substance;" we both thought it was a bit pretentious. We didn't get a warm, welcoming vibe from this hotel. To add insult to injury... the waiter spilled beer on my husband and did not even apologize. He did clean off the table but that was it. I will say that their smoked chicken corn chowder was outstanding. But we would certainly stay elsewhere next time we are in the area. It just wasn't our cup of tea (or Keurig coffee, which is what you get in the room... if that is something you appreciate... it did not impress us).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay with us. I am sorry that we did not live up to expectations since we do pride ourselves on being warm and friendly. I do apologize for the spilling of beer on your husband, you are right we should have apologized right away. You do have choices in Vancouver, and while you state you will stay elsewhere next time, hopefully we might still get to see you for a second chance.

Thank you,

Brian McClary
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

PROS
-You won't find a better hotel elsewhere in Vancouver! This place is unique in decor and makes you feel like you're out in a cabin in Montana.
-Great staff members that were happy to switch rooms for me when I happened to be booked in the room directly above the gym and woke up at 5:30 am to the sounds of feet running furiously on treadmills and the gym's TV.
-Tasty happy hour menu with live music (piano).
-Posturepedic beds were quite nice for someone who is not used to them.
-Hotel has a gym, hot tub, pool, and sauna=great for exercising and then relaxing!

CONS
-Free continental breakfast is only for guests in the business suites.
-Dinner menu is pricey, but there are other chain restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid room 257 which is directly above the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here a few years ago and were excited to return. We love the lodge feel. Unfortunately we were given a horrible room, first the HVAC didnt work but to Engineerings credit they fixed that but our room was right against the freeway. We heard motorcycles and truck brakes all night long, plus the people stomping around above us. Avoid room 301 at all cost. Not matter how nice the hotel is, if I have a restless night's sleep the stay is not good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliebug52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificMgnt, Manager at Heathman Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am sorry to hear about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that engineering did fix the HVAC for you. We have many different room types available and I know that you can get a great nights sleep. Please contact me directly in the future so we can make sure we get you in the right room type.

Thank you,

Brian McClary
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend when they learned that I had business here. Great hotel here in the Vancouver area. When you have to be away on business, I really appreciate it when I can stay in an affordable, business class, clean environment that also provides a first class experience and makes your business trip a little more enjoyable. Registration was easy, check in very professional and friendly. I had a nice note with bottled water awaiting me which was a very welcoming touch! Easy access to the college and other nice dining options in the surrounding area. Short stay but would like to come back and spend some leisure time here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKBredeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
4.4 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathman Lodge

Address: 7801 N.E. Greenwood Drive, Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $122 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heathman Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to express the beauty and spirit of the Pacific Northwest, the Heathman Lodge brings the splendor of the outdoors into the city of Vancouver. The rustic charm of our mountain-like retreat, enhanced by modern urban amenities and exceptional service, creates a lodging atmosphere that is both peaceful and productive. Let the Heathman Lodge be your hotel of choice when visiting or meeting in Vancouver, Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heathman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathman Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing