We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2008

They have a good breakfast buffet, pool, several spas, outdoor bbq. On site parking. We've been with our granddaughter. She thinks it's great too, esp the free popcorn in the room and available hot chocolate in the lobby. We like the complimentary paper in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eptons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2008

Great room, great bed, great kitchen, well-equipped, good food at complimentary breakfast buffet, good food at "sundowner" evening meal events (3 days a week) - what more could you ask for? Well-managed property. Good value for the money. Quiet. A great home away from home. Clean. Yes, this property is all these things.

Any donwside? Not really. A bit of a lack of privacy on lower floors - keep your drapes shut if this is a problem. Also, this is not the last word in luxury accommodations, nor is it meant to be. But rooms are very comfortable and very large for the price point.

I've stayed at most of the properties in this area and believe this is the best overall hotel in the area.

This is an ideal hotel for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Leisure_Traveler045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Another fine Marriott property. Consists of two story cottage style suites equipped with a full kitchen. Our studio had a fireplace, chesterfield just like a regular living room. Nice hot breakfast in the Gatehouse as they call the lobby and a friendly, attentive staff.
Close to the highway but very little traffic noise. A pool and a hot tub. A barbeque is available on the grounds. A nice place to stay for a day or a month.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank smperkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Our family of four stayed for a week at the Residence Inn. The first room had barking dogs below us and they were more than happy to move us to a quieter location. We were told if the second room didn't work to let them know and they would move us again. Any other request was taken care of with diligence and quickness. We stayed in a penthouse suite - two king beds and a pull out sofa and small kitchen. We were able to get a rollaway because my daughter did not like the pull out. We slept about as well as at home. Beds were very comfortable. You definitely need a car to visit Portland as it's about 10-15 miles away, but very drivable. Overall, we recommend this hotel.
A plus, my kids were able to play tennis and basketball.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lgassman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed at this Residence Inn for a family vacation in August 2006. We were there to explore the Portland area with our two kids, 5 and 2, and needed a hotel with enough space for the family. After looking at all the "suite" hotels, this one looked the best because of the location and the 2 bed/2 bath layout (the penthouse king suite), the price ($159/night), free parking, free breakfast, and the hotel itself looked more attractive than some of the other Residence Inns around Portland.

We weren't disappointed. The hotel is easy to get to from the highway, but because of the wonderful landscaping, it feels more like garden apartments, with the pool in the middle and lots of walkways and trees. The staff were friendly, the room had just recently been renovated and was very clean, spacious and attractive, with a gas fireplace in the livingroom, huge loft bedroom upstairs, another large bedroom downstairs which can be closed off, and both bedrooms have their own baths. (The bedroom upstairs has a split bath, with the sink in the bedroom area and the shower and toilet in a separate room.

The kitchen was fully equipped, with dining table, full fridge, full stove, and lots of cabinet space and dishes. The breakfast each morning had a lot of selection, and we tended to take our breakfast plates back to our room. There are also several chain restaurants (Red Lobster, Starbucks, a Mexican restaurant) within walking distance, as well as a Winco supermarket just down the road). There is a small shopping center within walking distance as well, and another one within driving distance.

Since we had a car with us, we weren't worried about being able to walk to places; if we had flown to Portland we might have chosen the Residence Inn in downtown Portland (it does not offer free parking). It didn't take very long to get to Portland or places further afoot; we did get a little tired of the same highway route whenever we were going anywhere, but for the price and convenience, it wasn't a big deal.

We used the pool as well as the laundry facilities with no issues.

I would highly recommend this Residence Inn for its attractiveness as well as its spacious suite if you have family.

One note - if you have a small child who can't navigate stairs, you might want to consider bringing or buying a portable stairgate for the stairs if you are staying in the penthouse suite. We did spend a lot of time worrying about our toddler going up and down the stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catemboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

I travel a lot, world-wide, and this certainly exceeded my expectations. Rooms are in 4-plex cottages, with kitchen, sitting area, fireplace - not like a typical hotel. My wife noticed several extra housekeeping touches - like the kitchen utensils laid out in an arrangement in the drawer. Only nit was the noisy refrigerator, but since we didn't have any food to keep, we just unplugged it for the night. Definitely will return.

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Great new Marriott Residence Inn - at least it seemed brand new. Staff was wonderful - my daughter had come down with a severe cold while we were visiting and the staff ran to the grocery store for childrens cold medicine and also came back with a stuffed bear for additional comfort. What a great crew of people and such a comfortable bed and the suites are really pretty and bright - Marriott should be really proud of this Residence Inn. I would highly suggest staying here if you're in Vancouver or Portland - it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank coquit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Vancouver - Portland Area
0.1 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#3 of 29 in Vancouver
899 reviews
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
202 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vancouver Portland North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver

Address: 8005 NE Parkway Dr, Vancouver, WA 98662-6460 (Formerly Residence Inn Portland North / Vancouver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#10 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $98 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver is the perfect locale for business travel or for a fun family vacation, with downtown Vancouver just 10 minutes away and Portland, Oregon only 20 minutes away. The Portland-Vancouver area is home to Adidas, and the high concentration of technology companies amidst the area's natural beauty has earned it the nickname “Silicon Forest.” If you’re a nature lover, you’ll love this scenic region of preserved parkland that surrounds the Willamette and Columbia Rivers. You can get to them all easily, with I-205 and I-5 nearby. When you stay at our all suite hotel in Vancouver, WA, there's a little something to suit every member of your party - from free wifi, and free breakfast, to full kitchens, we have all that you need to make the most of your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Portland - Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland North/Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Residence Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing