We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was just fine, and the managing family seemed to be relatively constant presence - front desk staff helpful, reasonable rates, convenient location for family in Vancouver and for forays into Portland. Will return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 444 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Traci J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary G, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crystal V, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crystal V, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The first thing they tried to do was make me pay for my room again after I had already pre-paid it through the Wyndham Rewards website. Finally cleared that up.....for now. Went to our room which was small and outdate but clean. There is only a small shower in the bathroom no tub but that was ok. There were a lot of people just "hanging" out in the parking lot which was a little unnerving. We used the pool that night which is usually the highlight of my kids stay anywhere but it was polar ice cap kind of water. Hot tub was nice though. Got up for breakfast to find they only had bread for toast, mini bagles and mini cup cakes with cereal. Not exactly what I would consider even a continental breakfast. Headed back to our room to start the date when on my phone pops up yet another charge for my room yet again so had to go and clear that up once again. The service however was good they were extremely friendly and they try, the location is excellent for resturants, movies and the mall so plenty to do and eat. I think this place has lots of potential, I know they just switch over to a Howard Johnson so still have to glitches but I am not sure that I want to risk it again. I will go back to my Days Inn next door next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEIDI O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Heidi O.,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay with us. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory.

We have addressed your concerns regarding being double charged, people hanging in the parking lot, with our Front Desk Staff. We are reviewing some training with the Front Desk Staff, to prevent these things from happening again. As far as the rooms being outdated, we are in the process of updating the rooms. We also appreciate your input on the breakfast items and will try to bring a better variety of items to have available.

Our Maintenance staff has been informed to closely monitor the temperature of the pool.

I would like to assure you that we are taking all of your comments very serious, as would love to exceed every guests expectations on their stay with us.

We do hope that if you find yourself in the Vancouver, WA area again, that you would grant us the opportunity to serve you and your family and allow us to redeem ourselves. If you would like to discuss any future reservations, please contact me at the number listed below and I would be happy to help and see what we can do for you.

Again, thank you for your stay and your review. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Crystal Valenzuela
General Manager
360-254-0900

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Vancouver
Days Inn & Suites Vancouver
#19 of 29 in Vancouver
495 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Vancouver North
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
204 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#23 of 29 in Vancouver
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall

Address: 9201 NE Vancouver Mall Dr, Vancouver, WA 98662-6178 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Vancouver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: $71 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing