We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at van mall Howard Johnson.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    96
    77
    62
See reviews for
203
75
39
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel when it was the Rodeway inn back in June 2012. I had back then considered it fair for its price. Much has changed since my previous stay and now (January 2013). With this new manager the quality and service has increased drastically! Probably the greatest boon is the front desk which has been so very homely to us, treating us like family and not just paying customers.

The room itself (I got the suite.) Looks so improved from its previous incarnation. (hell just look at the carpet!) The new flat screen tv is much easier on the eyes as well. To my understanding the hotel is still undergoing renovations so expect more improvements like this.

Probably the best detail about my stay was the proximity to where I needed to be. The hotel sits very close to the 205 interstate which makes it really easy to head to Portland and back. Furthermore its right on the Forth Plains Road allowing for easy access to practically everything in Vancouver WA. To make the situation even better, the hotel sits next to Westfield Mall shopping center. Convienent.

(there is no fitness center, Trip advisor wont let me turn it off, lol.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STEVENSON
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Usually when I go to Portland on my own and want to go economy I go to The Troutdale Travel lodge. As a wyndham Rewards "member" I checked other motels in the area and came upon a Howard Johnson's in Vancouver WHICH IS THIS MOTEL. At first they didn't recognize or want to recognize the reservation in terms of room reserved nor rate quoted; I had the confirmation # on my net book and brought it in. That settled that. They gave me a handicap room which was fine since it did have a bathtub. However, The hairdryer was broken, the sink drained poorly to not at all, the microwave timer was stuck and the only way to turn it off was by pulling the plug. The showerhead kept slipping and the carpet had been cleaned but was not clean! My wife would never have spent the night here. ! MY biggest comlaint was the "notsocontinental breakfast" Rotten bananas. I would have been embarrassed to leave them out. Some people like them I guess, but the rest was worse than the Troutdale Travel Lodge and that's pretty bad. So not only did I drive further, spent an few more dollars but got less quality.! On the other hand I do think improvements are on their way (maybe!) The staff was very friendly, though I received no apology nor compensation for the poor quality of the room. I gave it in writing to the desk clerk written on my room invoice so it was hard to miss. Too bad because the place has potential As I was leaving a hotel employee was changing the fan belt on his old truck and had me locked in. It was raining hard and I did not like it. It was unnecessary to do it right there with plenty of room to spare If you are hungry after hours there isn't much to choose from, but the 7/11 nearby has a surprisingly excellent selection of foods including fresh fruit salads OHHHHHH!!! watch out for the bed; so soft that no handicapped person could ever use it without trouble getting in and out of bed

Room Tip: ask to check the room before you buy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vovhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed for three days, I loved the location,being close to the Westfield Mall for shopping. Room was very nice, new carpet and very clean, flat screen tv, and wi-fi. I loved the pool and hot tub! All the staff that i encountered were exceptional! I had the pleasure of meeting the new owners who treated me like family and told me they are continuing to up date the hotel (which is very obvious). I will stay again here for sure, and recommend it to my friends and family!

Room Tip: I would recommend spending a little extra and get a room with a microwave and a refridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stay was very pleasant. The staff was very nice, helpful and accomodating. The lobby was clean and was very cheerful. Pool was well maintained and clean. The room was spacious clean. Had nice tvs, microwave, and small refridgerator. Was smoke free. The maids were wonderful and did a nice job. The continental breakfast was good and well stocked coffee kept fresh. Had the pleasure of meeting the new owners who were very nice and talked about the many plans to make the hotel even better.

Would definatly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MslorilM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was pleasantly suprised when i stayed at the rodeway inn this time. In the past some of the rooms would be questionable. I met the new owners and they were very accomidating. they made me feel at home and told me about the new renovations they are doing...new carpet, towels, ect... my room was great and had a really nice flat screen t.v. with a lot of channels. deffinately a big upgrade

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fppyfam322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeview
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rug in the elevator was dirty and smelly. The hallway carpets smelled old and had numerous stain spots on them. The room carpet had stains and a huge black stain between the two beds. Don't go bare footed or in your socks in this place. It's gotten worse each time I've stayed there. This last time was the finaltime for me. Breakfast is frozen waffles or bagels and cheap cereal. Fruit on some days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Vancouver
Days Inn & Suites Vancouver
#19 of 29 in Vancouver
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#13 of 29 in Vancouver
191 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Vancouver
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 29 in Vancouver
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall
Address: 9201 NE Vancouver Mall Dr, Vancouver, WA 98662-6178 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Vancouver)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Vancouver by Vancouver Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing