We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They could do better”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Another recent trip to Vancouver WA placed me in need of a hotel room for one night.
Rooms are clean and nice.. However, if you like two queen beds squeezed in a room ment for one king, and ya don't mind having to skinny in between bed and desk chair to get from one side of the room to another, then this intimate setting is for you.. hair dryer sucked cause it wouldn't blow. Main floor elevator button light was out, so you weren't quite sure if it was in use, or out of use.

Usual feedbag fare in the breakfast room. Good place to stay in a pinch. Easy access to freeway, and walking distance to downtown Vancouver shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a single bed room if that is all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Douglas S,

Thank you very much for your review here and for choosing our hotel for your visit to Vancouver. I agree with you that if a larger room is what is needed, then guests should book either our King Suites or rooms with 2 Queens. After some research, I noticed you were actually in our room with 2 Doubles. Our rooms with 2 queens or our King Suites are about double the size for about $10-$15 more. So I encourage you to book these rooms if you are ever in the area again.

I also have taken your other notes about the elevator and the Hair dryer and made sure those have been completed, thank you for that.

Thanks again for your Review and I look forward to serving you again!


Sincerely,

MKM General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
55
62
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bullard, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Last night before early flight home. Check in took over 30 minutes, due to me clerk, which we understood. Request a quiet room, we're put on ground floor next to the workout and breakfast rooms. Very noisy. Got phone call at 9pm to come to front desk. They couldn't find our check in paperwork so needed to do paperwork and run card again. Was told the new girl didn't do any Checkins properly. I hate to blame a newbie... We all have to learn sometime. I just wish we could have had a quieter night, and her Co worker had handled the issue without blaming the newbie.
The room was clean, bed was comfortable, just to much hall noise for us. Slamming doors until midnight and hall partying when one must wake up at 4:30 stinks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasislandgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Texasislandgirl1,

Thank you for your review! I apologize for the confusion with check-in, but I agree with you 100%, we are a team and this situation should have been handled a little better rather than pointing fingers. Everyone makes mistakes and I expect it which is why I always like to see comments like this once in awhile to let me know how we are doing from a guests perspective.

I do hope you consider staying with us again when in the area as these issues have been used as a training point and should not happen again. Thank you again for your feedback!


Sincerely,

MKM General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Was impressed with the quality, especially as we saved 44% by booking a deal on Priceline. Rooms were not large, but were very comfortable. Hotel is walking distance from various restaurants and close to Portland. Really friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello jamesredge,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and that we were able to serve you on this visit to Vancouver. If you are ever in the area again, please let us know!

We look forward to serving you again.


Sincerely,

MKM General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The room itself was okay, nothing spectacular. The bed was pretty comfortable and the AC blasted nicely. The mini fridge was very handy. I think the thing my husband and I didn't like was the fact that there were a lot of weird looking people hanging around. Like we couldn't tell if they were staying at the hotel or what they were doing. In all honesty, they looked like crackheads. I think the reason we stayed was because there were no rooms available elsewhere. Staying someplace different next time in Vancouver.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKMGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Melissa S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Unfortunately, we can't discriminate against a guest simply by their looks. If they are able to pay for their room, such as you did, then I welcome all guests. Now, on the other hand, if there were actual "crackheads", as you put it, that were conducting illegal activites or causing problems with my other guests, that would be an issue that I would either envolve the police with or just escort them off the property myself. I am sorry that you got that impression of our hotel however, and we wish you all the best!


Sincerely,

MKM General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I wouldn't normally stay at Comfort Inns. I usually stay at the Hampton Inn, but wanted to save some money this time. I should've stayed at Hampton Inn. Although the price is good, and the bed by far is the best thing about the rooms and stay in general, those factors do not override the cramped conditions, the struggle of the AC to keep the room below 70, the 25 people in the pool with my two kids, and the breakfast of powdered eggs and the most disgusting sausage I've ever eaten. Having served 24 years in the US Navy, I know what bad food is.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeJohns, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello James M,

Thank you for your Review and mentioning some of these points we can use to improve on. I do want to assure you, we do not serve "powdered eggs" however, and i will definitely look into the sausage issue. I do wish to talk more about this with you though as I am wondering if you were in our most basic and least expensive room, as you mentioned to save money. Those rooms are a bit small, i will admit, with 2 double beds and are what we offer for special deals on many websites. However, for about $10-$15 more, we offer rooms with 2 queens or a king bed that are a lot more spacious for those that require a bigger room. It's all in what you wish to pay for.

Lastly, I wish there was more we could do with the pool situation. However with it being outdoors and our most attractive feature of the hotel, things can get very busy in that area when the hotel is at full capacity.

I do want to thank you again for your review and I hope we will see you again in the future.


Sincerely,

Joe Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked in Vancouver for a City trip to Portland. at less than $60 per night, its one of the cheaper places in the whole region, but comes with breakfast, wifi and an outdoor pool. Location right on the I5 makes it easy to get to downtown Portland, but we still found restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel. Outdoor pool was so nice and warm and then let you swim until past 10pm. the sauna also works great. The hallways, bathroom and beds were immaculately clean. Breakfast was basic+ with hot food (eggs, waffles) but closes by 9 am. Staff were ok, but the front desk did not have a bottle opener to borrow. Overall, this is probably the best you can get in the price range.

Room Tip: Rooms with 2 doubles (not queen beds) are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjzazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeJohns, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello jjzazzy,

Thank you for posting a Review! I appreciate the kind words and will definitely look into making sure we have a bottle opener for your next visit!

Thanks again and I hope you have a great 4th of July!


Sincerely,

Joe Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
374 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was going to PIR raceway for the week end. Even thought the hotel is in Vancouver it was very easy to get too & even with Friday traffic was about 15mins back from PIR. & in the morning 5mins. Staff was very helpful, my room was ready & clean, good beds. I do agree the 2 bed rooms would be very cramped with more than 2 people. Breakfast was very good. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeJohns, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello JALFAN,

Thank you for your review here and for choosing our hotel for your visit here to Portland/Vancouver! I appreciate the kind comments and am very please that you enjoyed your stay. Please look us up if you are ever in the area.

I look forward to serving you again!


Sincerely,

Joe Johnson
General Manager
Comfort Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Vancouver
Comfort Suites Vancouver
#12 of 29 in Vancouver
186 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
4.0 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
851 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Drive Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
Address: 401 E 13th St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Vancouver
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Shilo Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing