We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but hotel a bit sad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Willits, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views but hotel a bit sad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We knew what we were getting into and hadn;t expected much. We actually had a quite nice time. The hotel is a bit tired but the beds were comfortable, room was clean. We were not bothered by the trains as some say. We usually turn on the A/C or fan anywhere we stay, so not a problem. We were paying by Priceline, which means you often get the room near the doors or a view of the garbage. Our room did face the ballroom or large meeting room and there was a pretty good size party going on but it ended by midnight and we stay up late, so no problem.
The area is beautiful, the riverwalk was gorgeous at sunset. We loved watching the boats and it was a wonderful night. We never knew the walk was there, so it was a great surprise and to take a hike to the fort was awesome. Families and couples all out enjoying the nice night. Would stay there again. Just understand it is an older property and although the staff were polite, nothing special. Food choices were not plentiful. Higher end properties and Joes Crab Shack but not a lot of choice, easy to get to things in the area by car.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the river, that wold be nice but not worth paying more, just take a wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    95
    84
    51
    36
See reviews for
63
74
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Since I stayed there for a State conference the check in process was a little slow (they were bombarded with State conference attendees). Initially they only had one person doing the check-in but once he got some help it improved. They had all our information ready from the confirmation (no mix ups). The aesthetics of the rooms are a little out dated but the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the bed was comfy and noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The rooms are clean, and the bed is fairly comfortable. The main problem we had was finding our way around. In order to get to the second floor elevator, you have to go a long way. It would be much more convenient if an elevator was installed close to the reservation/check-in desk. There were stairs there, but hauling suitcases up the stairs is difficult (especially for senior citizens. The stair was very close to our room. Also, it would be nice of room service was actually available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We were not offering Room Service during the months when business levels were slow, but we are now serving Room Service again. We are grateful for your feedback and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel was very nice, pool was closed but appeared to be closed because spring had just started. Staff was very professional and courteous, I asked for a good seafood restaurant in the area and she directed me to one that I must agree was fantastic. My room faced the river and the view was very nice. Next time I am in Portland, I will be returning to this hotel, it's worth the 5 minute drive across the bridge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed here with 2 of my employees and we were all impressed. We asked for a river view room. We were charged a little more, but it was worth it. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. And we really liked the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a river side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Upon check-in my co-worker and I were given our room keys and directions for our rooms which was located on the other side of the round-about in front of the hotel. The outside door needed a key to enter, but neither of our keys worked. Co-worker went back to front desk to get both keys "fixed." Tried hers and was successful. But of course, when I got to my room the key didn't work again. Maybe it was my fault for not double-checking it worked, but after already having it fixed you would think it was FIXED. Luckily there was a House Phone in the hallway instead of having to traipse back down to the lobby thru their odd layout of a hotel. This was how the rest of my stay would go; leave room and not be able to enter again unless they had someone open the door for me and then go and get me new keys. We were not the only guests this happened to either; A LOT of people had the same problem, just not sure if it continued to happen to them as it did to me. Each time I needed help though, I cannot fault the staff because they were incredibly helpful and would be apologetic and do the best they could to remedy the issue fast and with much courtesy. I have to say Evan was more than accommodating by giving me food vouchers which I appreciated. As for the rooms themselves, they were very small, but clean. The bathroom was especially tight quarters with having to close door to use toilet behind it. Which was fine for modesty anyway, but in order to reach towels, you would almost have to close the door. Old TV with lots of lines running through it; not many channels; scary 1st floor sliding door that led out to a walkway that was covered with overgrowth and didn't look very secure or safe. My last issue was with the conference rooms. While we had a great view of the river and all the boats, I would hope that if they ever remodel they will consider a better soundproofing. You could hear every horn, whistle, hammer, etc in that room. Made it very distracting to hear presenters. Front staff was great, but restaurant staff and wait staff at banquet seemed a bit haggard and not too accommodating. These were my main issues; I could probably complain about some other issues. Was glad to go home.

Room Tip: I said it was a "poor" location based on the type of travel I was there for, which was for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your helpful review. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not make you and your associate feel more welcome upon arrival. It is really discouraging to have issues with keys when you are tired and ready to get into your room. I apologize that we weren't able to assist you. We really enjoyed having your group here and we're anxious to have you back again. The information you provided is very helpful to identify the areas we need to improve in order to provide the quality of service you deserve. Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on our way to the coast. It was a steal of a deal and in a great location. The room was nice and very clean, didn't have any weird smells that most hotels tend to have. The staff were super friendly as well. It was also just a short walk from Joe's Crabshack and Who-Song and Larry's. We will stay here again next time we're in the Vancouver/Portland area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spirit_warrior1464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLH Vancouver Y, Guest Services at Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Super review! We're so glad you chose to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vancouver
0.2 mi away
Hilton Vancouver Washington
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Vancouver
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
4.6 mi away
Heathman Lodge
Heathman Lodge
#2 of 29 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vancouver Mall Dr. Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay

Property: Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay
Address: 100 Columbia St, Vancouver, WA 98660-3159
Location: United States > Washington > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay is located on the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington. The hotel is less than a mile west of the Interstate Bridge on the I-5 on the Washington/Oregon border. It is easily accessed from the I-5, travelling North or South (EXIT 1-C). In addition to waterfront guest rooms, meeting and event space, the Red Lion Hotel Vancouver at the Quay also features a full service Restaurant and Lounge with live music every Friday and Saturday night. The cover charge is free to our hotel guests. The Renaissance Trail, which runs alongside the hotel property, paralell to the river, is a four mile paved path for your choice of walking, jogging, cycling or strolling. Esther Short Park and the Vancouver Farmer's Market are also in walking distance from the hotel. Besides the Quay Restaurant and Bar, there are many other great Restaurant choices close by. There are countless options for local shopping from antique stores in downtown Vancouver to the Vancouver Mall to Portland's metropolitan shopping experience. We are only a ten minute drive from downtown Portland and fifteen minutes from the Portland International Airport. We do offer a free shuttle to and from the PDX Airport and the Vancouver Amtrak station. Our hotel features 160 guest rooms, including two Riverview suites with Jetted tubs and one suite with a full kitchen. Many of our rooms offer an exquisite view of the Columbia River and year round access to the River Deck. We have a heated outdoor pool for seasonal use with an ADA lift making the pool accessible to all of our guests. We have a guest computer, printer, onsite laundry, an exercise room, vending machines and newspapers available for guest use. Each room has free internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and ample amenities to ensure comfort throughout your stay. We are excited to present a crisp new look with our recently upgraded bedding. Our neatly made pillow top beds look more inviting than ever! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Vancouver
Red Lion Vancouver
Vancouver Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing