We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy and Worn Out”
Review of Travel Host Motel

Travel Host Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travel Host Motel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Williston
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Let's face it, there isn't much that's affordable in Williston, thanks to the Bakken Oil Field and the booming economy. We stayed at the Travel Host because it was the only hotel in town with a room under $100 (it was $92 with tax for the night). The hotel itself was like a transient flop house. It was dirty and run down. The beds were terribly uncomfortable. The fixtures were falling apart. The furnishings were sparse and old. The only good things I could say about it is that it was quiet (which surprised me) and it was cheaper than the other places (for good reason). My advice is to keep driving and leave western North Dakota and eastern Montana altogether -- it's a complete scam, or pay a little more for a nicer hotel if you absolutely have to stay in Williston.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyWfromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Travel Host is the best. My boyfriend & I stayed there for 4 or 5 months. We felt very fortunate to have a warm place to stay. They gave me a job so I wouldn't be bored. It was close enough to Walmart to walk, even in bad weather. Our bed was comfortable. The rooms were clean. The Staff was wonderful. Always helpful. The only thing I didn't like, was the fact that it was time for us to move on. Of all the places I've ever stayed, Travel Host will be my favorite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Williston is in the midst of the North Dakota oil boom. It is hard to find a room here as the oil workers (and then we found out in early Sept. the out of state, hay-cutters too), have all the rooms taken. I made our reservation six months in advance. Williston is building more housing and motels as fast as they can. In this Travel Host, the hallways have new carpeting, and our room had new carpet and wallpaper, but these "oil workers" are hard on the facilities. There were already stains on the carpeting (we saw these guys coming in and their clothes and boots were filthy). The upholstered chairs in the room were gross with stains and I went and got some clean sheets from housekeeping and put over top them before we used them. The king sized bed was comfortable and the sheets looked and smelled clean, and there was a nice flat screen tv with good reception...however, if you are looking for cleanliness in general, don't look here. The tub was dirty and the toilet not flushed all the way. I guess when they know one is desperate to find a room they don't have to do a great job. They did offer hot coffee around the clock, and the breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Hotel staff were pleasant; however that was the only thing pleasant about the accomodations. Rooms had odor, sheets were stained, filled w/hair. Didn't see any bedbugs, however, mattresses in the room were filled with stains. The locks on the doors themselves seemed very poor. Entry way into the hotel was very dirty. Lots of people seemed to be just hanging about inside and out of the hotel; realize with the oil boom there lots more people. Checked into different hotel the next night and much better accomodations/experience, even with the oil workers staying in the new accomodations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 49816Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

well...hmm. It smelled terrible in the lobby,but my husband had already got a room.I was exhausted and not too happy. The coffee looked like it had been there for a month, bummer.The rugs up the stairs to our room was absolutely filthy, so I was scared about the room.although I must say it wasn't as stinky or dirty as I thought it would be.Not saying the rugs werent stained but the bed was comfy or I was just that tired.It was a clean room . You can walk to the walmart. There's an applebee, but the service sucked & so did the food. you have to drive there.There is another restaraunt you could walk to but it doesn't open till 6 pm. Apparantely this is mainly a truck stop motel.The staff was nice though and I did get to sleep, so it's ok but I would definetly look elsewhere. the super 8 across the intersection was full hence our stay here

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiannahsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I am writing this for my husband who at this very moment is checking out of this discusting place. Rooms were booked for our hockey team via the Tourism bureau for our state hockey tournament. We had no choice where we stayed as they decided for us since Williston is very short of accomodations. the room was filthy. A leftover sub sandwich in the fridge from the previous guest. He pulled back the covers to the bed and found of all things -- BEDBUGS!! Our entire team checked out and is now scrambling to find rooms in this lovely town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hockeymomFargoNd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Especificar bien lo q quieren o pedir hablar con el dueño q es súper amable, servicial y hospitalari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williston hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Williston
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williston
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Williston Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Williston
Days Inn and Suites Williston
#14 of 25 in Williston
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williston
22.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Host Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Host Motel

Address: 3801 2nd Ave W, Williston, ND 58801-2607
Location: United States > North Dakota > Williston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Williston
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Williston on Highway 2 and 85 North, the Travel Host Motel is the perfect place to stay. Our friendly staff will exceed your expectations while you enjoy our convenient amenities. Travel Host Motel has been serving the community of Williston since 1981. We offer rooms at reasonable rates and are conveniently located close to the airport, in front of a Super Wal-Mart, and next to a restaurant. Our motel also features a lounge and casino where our guests can relax with a drink and a card game. With our economical rates, friendly staff, and convenient amenities, you can be sure that your stay is a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travel Host Hotel Williston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing