We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of coal yard charlies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
coal yard charlies
Ranked #29 of 86 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good food, good service, cold beer what else do you want! Usually have dinner there several times a year and the food is always good.

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank BSolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was just average, nothing special or our of the ordinary. Really you get better at home. Service is mediocre...

Date of visit: October 2012
Thank joy8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The inside is very clean and it's cozy... however the food isn't anything special. They have a buffet that doesn't have much on it and the items they do have make you wish they were a little more fresh!

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank shannalee29_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I am in Rome NY on business and I just wanted a decent sit down meal. Coal Yard Charlie's was perfect for that. The food was very good, service was friendly and it all was a good value. Don't expect anything fancy. This is just a nice local place to eat. When in Rome...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chalyn251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place has been in Rome for so long. Where else are you going to get a decent steak in this city? But, I think many people go there just because it's tradition and not necessarily the greatest. Nice carve your own bread at the salad bar but the smallest plates I have ever seen. Many of the staff have been there for so long that I just think they lost their pep and think they will never be fired. Closed on Monday's which tends to be the day I'm in Rome the most often.

Date of visit: July 2012
Thank wj2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to coal yard charlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing