We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rome Icon”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of coal yard charlies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
coal yard charlies
Ranked #33 of 81 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Camden, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Rome Icon”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place has been in Rome for so long. Where else are you going to get a decent steak in this city? But, I think many people go there just because it's tradition and not necessarily the greatest. Nice carve your own bread at the salad bar but the smallest plates I have ever seen. Many of the staff have been there for so long that I just think they lost their pep and think they will never be fired. Closed on Monday's which tends to be the day I'm in Rome the most often.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wj2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Seating a little cramped, food decent, average price.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Depending on where you're seated it can get a little cramped for the claustrophobes in your party. Otherise, the food is decent enough, the steaks I've ordered have come out cooked as ordered (medium well at this establishment). Sometimes the cut can be a bit tough. Wife says the fish meals she has had have been ok. OK is just ok I guess, nothing to write home about. The salad bar is pretty good though, nice selection, and always fresh. But location wise, it's stuffed in the same aisle the wait staff has to use to deliver food and gather beverages. Their homemade bread offerings and soups are above average.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thepiratemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coalyard's”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I enjoy Coalyard Charlie's. The bar, atmosphere and service are excellent. The soup and salad bar is very good. The food is inconsistent and renges from average to not very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barneveldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good food.”
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Good food.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I recently stayed in Rome, NY for two nights and ate both nights at this restaurant based on the suggestion of the front desk clerk at the Econolodge. The food was great! There is a large selection on the menu and specials. The prices were average. The service was great! I had salmon one night and a filet the next. Both were very nice. You get the soup, salad and bread bar with the dinners. The bread is homemade. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. They also give a 10% discount for visitors using the Econolodge if you show your room key.

Helpful?
Thank athruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to coal yard charlies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing