We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scond time round, just as good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doe's Eat Place

Doe's Eat Place
Ranked #4 of 258 Restaurants in Fort Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Doe's Eat Place is the premier place for Steaks and has one of the largest selections of wine in the area. Doe's is located in the historic Joseph Knoble's Brewery which is on the national historic registry and was built in 1848.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Scond time round, just as good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is not for the vegetarian in the family, but second time round I realized there are some more realistic portion sizes. I had the medium filet and it was more than enough.
Vegetables are great, service is very friendly, and the ambience is really fun in the great old building.
When they serve the little corn cakes remember they are meant to be eaten with the honey which you will find on the table. Took a while to find that out.
Expensive, but worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    39
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Big on portion size, and Customer Service was even bigger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Last minute dining plans and we remembered Doe's. Greeted quickly by the Hostess and shown to an upstairs area where the Bartender/Server, Phillip, took us from there! Phillip is great! We had not been to Doe's in a long time and he refreshed on the preparation of the steaks, how they are cooked, served, and how we could share since it was just two people.

Love it when staff has been trained to upsell or to inform diners of other items, and Phillip did so with cocktails and dessert. Two thumbs up for him!

The ambiance upstairs was great for conversation and that was a huge plus for us and again, Phillip kept an eye on when to approach the table.

Here is just a tip...if you are a female and enjoy wearing heels...don't. The floor is a natural rock floor and very difficult to walk in with heels. Have one too many...and you may not walk out gracefully! Especially if you visit the ladies room!

The ribeye was delicious although I wanted to try the filet instead...next time! Also, splurge and order the mushrooms off the appetizer selections. Very, very tasty!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aneisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Man's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The name of the restaurant is pronounced with a long o, as in doe, a deer. The building is an old brewery over 100 years old and the atmosphere is interesting, cool because of the brick walls. I think it appeals to men more than women. Not really a romantic place. They have absolutely enormous cuts of very high quality, well aged steaks. The steak is the main thing there. They have a few other things on the menu, but if you aren't going there for steak, it's almost pointless to eat there. It's not cheap though. Expect to spend near $100 per person, which would include drinks and maybe an appetizer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocaLola24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, OK
1 review
“High dollar 28th wedding anniversary date”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

You would think that if you paid $28.00 a pound for a steak, that it would include the salad, baked potatoes, and bread. They charge $3.00 per potatoe, the salad had a nasty tasting dressing on it. That was our first AND last visit there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdcnwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is THE steak place in Ft. Smith. I got the filet and my husband got the ribeye. Both were done perfectly. Drinks are strong - so I only needed one! Good wine list. They have "tamales" as an appetizer but beware these are Arkansas tamales, not Mexican. Atmosphere is dark and some areas smell musty - I suspect from the age and stone structure. Overall a good place to eat in Ft Smith.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmbdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doe's Eat Place also viewed

 

Been to Doe's Eat Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing