We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Fort Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent the night here on the way to Louisiana. I have nothing but good to say about this place. Very accomodating, super nice, comfy beds and awesome breakfast. The chef cooking breakfast during our stay was genuinely concerned with the quality of our meals. The lobby is very well decorated and the rooms are the same. Great quality and definitely a place we would stay again.

Room Tip: Worth going out of the way to stay here. Eggs to order were a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Native_in_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
80
38
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I found this Courtyard through Priceline. It was quite a steal at $55+tax, which was about $80 lower than the rack rate. If you bid on a three star hotel on their website, this property and the Holiday Inn on the other side of the Convention Center are the only properties in town with that rating.

The property was very well maintained and decorated nicely. Our room had one of the most comfortable beds we had slept on for quite a while. The A/C pumped out ice cold air and we were very comfortable during our brief stay.

The hotel had a restaurant (no free breakfast), indoor pool, and exercise room. However, we did not make use of any of them during our time at the hotel.

My only complaint was with the placement of a crib in our room. I called the property the day before our arrival asking for a crib and was assured that we would have it in our room. We arrived just after midnight and our baby was sound asleep. When we got to our room, there was no crib. The clerk was very apologetic, but I had to go to our car, get our portable pack-and-play, and put it together in our room. By this time, our son woke up. This didn't ruin our stay, but I wish that our request had been notated and followed through with.

Overall, this is a great property was very good. If you can book it through Priceline, it's a steal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyworldnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I'm a business traveller, and I have to say, this is from what I can see, the nicest hotel in town. It's not very old, couldn't be much more than 5 or 6 years. Very updated, very clean, contemporary decor. Restaurant & Bar on site. Walking distance to probably 10-12 very cool downtown restaurants. This is the best place to stay in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyP95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

For the outside of a Marriott, it looked a little aged. But once I walked in, I was amazed! The decor and cleaniness spoke upscale and elegance at an affordable cost. I was traveling cross-country with my family and I was looking for a clean, safe hotel to stay. Pool and spa were clean and maintained. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the restuarants and shops and a just a short drive from good eats off the beaten path. The only thing I would say is that I thought it had that a free continental breakfast, but it turned out that the only food they had was from the hotel's restaurant. I didn't know we had to pay until after I had sat down. Nevertheless, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed overnight on a busy Saturday night during River Fest in Ft. Smith. The hotel was beautiful. Rooms were clean and very nice! Hotel staff was courteous and happy to assist if need be. Breakfast was very good also. I would stay there again and recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACRO_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is an excellently run and immaculate hotel in the heart of downtown Ft. Smith, a charming town with a great feel. The decor was gorgeous, the rooms spotless, and the pool and hot-tub was a nice bonus after a long day on the road. I was very impressed with the quality of the furnishings in the room and the attention to detail throughout the hotel. I would have loved to have spent more time there but we were only in town for one day. My only minor quibble is that the front desk staff were polite enough, but somewhat glacial; not really the Southern hospitality I would expect. Free wi-fi was also very welcome. I think this is probably your best bet for a hotel in downtown Ft. Smith.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was going to rate this hotel much lower, but a change in staffing on check out day gave me some hope this place isn't always so unwelcoming. This is the perfect example of how just a few staff members can ruin a guest's impression of the entire hotel.

When we arrived at 1pm the lobby was empty and no one was present at the front desk. I stood there for a few minutes until a woman called out from the restaurant, "Do you need something?", in a very irritated manner. Why else would I be standing at the front desk? When she got close enough so I didn't have to shout back, I nicely told her I have a reservation. At that, she rolled her eyes and started muttering something under her breath about having 95 people check out all at once and she hopes I don't expect to check in yet. I certainly understand that there is no guarantee that rooms will be ready before check-in time (I worked at a hotel front desk), but that was not the way to handle it. I was nice in spite of her attitude and waited while she checked with housekeeping, who ignored her. Not once during all this time did she make eye contact. Eventually she said it would be about 30 minutes. I said fine and that we'd come back later (nicely) and she ignored me.

When we came back two hours later, she said the same thing, "Do you need something?" It was like she'd never seen me before. The place was dead, so it isn't like there was a rush and she couldn't keep track. Anyway, she followed the script, calling me by name, etc., because a manager was standing there. She gave me no info about the hotel or anything else, just, "The elevators are right behind you." When I asked where the best place to park would be she answered, "The front door is right there, suit yourself." OK, fine.

As far as the hotel itself goes, it is beautifully designed and looks very welcoming. The hallways are wide and the rooms are spacious. The decor and lighting in the room is upscale with comfortable beds and nice amenities. We had a refrigerator sitting on the floor, but I don't think they are standard in all of the rooms, which is odd at this price point. The free wireless internet was useless because it kept cutting out. The wired internet did work, but often slowed to a crawl. If you were trying to work it would be impossible.

One major thing I didn't like is that the hotel sets the lowest temperature for the A/C at 72 (or close to that.) It was very humid and hot during our stay and that wasn't low enough to make sleeping comfortable.

The bathroom was large and very clean. I especially appreciated that the shower had good pressure and stayed at the set temperature.

Breakfast is an extra cost. There is a menu and a buffet. The full buffet is $10 and is not worth that , in my opinion. It offered less variety than many free breakfasts at less expensive hotels. It was OK, just not worth paying for. Service the first morning was just OK, but the second morning the servers were very friendly and helpful. The cook came out and made sure any special orders were done correctly. There is also a bar and restaurant that is open for dinner except on Sunday.

The same indifferent front desk clerk was still ignoring guests standing in front of her the second day, but I didn't deal with her myself. Upon check-out, my opinion of the property improved because the manager who checked me out was very pleasant and charming. She needs to retrain the rest of the front desk.

Honestly, if I hadn't had a better experience with the staff on the last day I would never stay here again. As it is I would give it another shot because the room was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmbowman, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We strive to provide the best service and product that we can to all our guests and I am sorry that we were unable to live up to that goal during your stay. Please be assured that I have addressed your comments with my staff and we will use your feedback to improve our performance in the future. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Nora Bowman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Smith hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Smith City Center
4.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort Smith
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
#3 of 22 in Fort Smith
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
#4 of 22 in Fort Smith
151 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aspen Hotel
BEST WESTERN Aspen Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Smith
132 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Fort Smith
Homewood Suites Fort Smith
#2 of 22 in Fort Smith
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown

Property: Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown
Address: 900 Rogers Ave, Fort Smith, AR 72901-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fort Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fort Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Smith Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Smith Downtown Hotel Fort Smith
Fort Smith Marriott
Fort Smith Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing