We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fort Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My first experience here, and definitely my last...

I have never been treated so poorly by a hotel staff member EVER.. and I stay in hotels more than 200 nights a year. My reservation was made by my assistant, and confirmed my room was on a lower floor and NON SMOKING. Well obviously calling to confirm or even making a reservation in this hotel means NOTHING.. The Front Office "manager" if you could even call him that (Will I believe is what he name tag said) said that due to unforeseen stayovers the room I had reserved was not available and the only room that was available was on the top floor of the hotel, and smoking.. Major problem as I am traveling alone, have tons of luggage, AND I have a major smoke allergy.

I think the worst issue of all is that he wanted to argue and basically call me a liar for everything I was trying to explain to him.. He did however tell me he could cancel my reservation, and I could find another hotel suitable for my needs, but because it was 6:35pm he would have to charge me a cancellation fee because they were full and were unable to sell that room being so late?! If my needs would have been met, I wouldn't be in the lobby arguing with a low class manager, I would be across the street in the nice Hilton I am accustomed too.

The hotel owners/management really need to address these issues. He is by far the worst employee I have EVER dealt with, however, him being a manager himself speaks volumes for the company/owners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brandipw_apn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Smith, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear brandipw_apn,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Fort Smith, AR. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
30
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On our return from vacation we were delayed in Atlanta and got back to Ft. Smith after midnight. We booked a room at the Candlewood while waiting for our flight. It was very clean and the employee on duty was very nice and helpful. We left fairly early the next day and was well rested and thankful that we decided to stay at the Candlewood. We reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently had to stay here twice in one week due to family health issues and a funeral. First of all, I think the rooms were very nice and clean. My only complaint is that the second time we stayed here, we had to stay on the smoking floor because that was all that was available. The room itself was clean, and after staying there a few days it wasn't bad, but the hallway itself did retain the smoke smell more than I would have preferred and more than in other hotels. However, I did not have any issues with the walls being too thin, which I know others have complained about. I never heard anything from other rooms, and I know that it was crowded while I stayed there.

The people who worked there were very kind and accommodating, particularly since we weren't sure how long we were staying until the last minute, then had to turn around and come right back. I was an emotional wreck, and every person I met there was very helpful and friendly.

The only other reason I give this 4 instead of 5 is the price. The price isn't bad, per se, but it isn't particularly cheap either for the location and what you get.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you need to be in this particular part of Fort Smith (which I did), maybe not if you need to be downtown.

Room Tip: Try to avoid smoking rooms if possible. Unless you smoke, obviously :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliesandBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed in Candlewood Suites Ft. Smith for a business trip this month. When I checked in I asked for a top floor room, or a quiet room because I was working nights. They could not accomodate because they said they were full, and many of the guests had been there since December. I was put next to a room that had children who bounced off the walls, rearranged furniture, and screamed for hours on end. When they left, houskeeping bounced the furniture off the walls putting it back.

When I made a comment about it to the Manager (said so on his black shirt) and his assistant after they knocked on my door at 9:30 am to make sure I was checking out and I told them I was dissatisfied and would not stay in their hotel again, I was calmly told "that's fine" there are many other hotels in the area.

I couldn't believe my ears! After that I told them I was Platinum member, and then I got a change of tune for the manager and told sorry about the issues, but that "there are also other platinum members staying here too"

Are you kidding? I will NEVER EVER stay at this property again. It is obvious they think the money will roll in forever,and they don't care about their guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PersonOFone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Smith, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear PersonOFone,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fort Smith.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I spent more money on this room than I normally do, so I could have a great night's sleep in comfort. Well, that did not happen. First, the walls are so thin that you can hear the guests in the room above you when they take a shower or bath. This grew quite annoying when I was woken up at 1:00 a.m. with someone in the room above me taking a shower. The first time that night I was woken up was at midnight when a group of drunk men who could not speak English came into the lobby yelling and talking very loud. I waited for the person at the front desk to get the situation under control. After about 15 minutes when the men were still yelling, I had to go outside my room myself to ask them to be quiet. One of the drunk men held up his hands as if boxing, and asked me if I wanted to fight! I replied that I just wanted to sleep. They finally went to their room. I could not believe security was not called after I was threatened! I know this is not a situation where the hotel had control over the drunk men, but the situation could have been handled quicker and without a guest having to take care of it.

Then, at 3:15 a.m., I was woken up again when my invoice was thrown under my door. Of course, my dogs and myself woke up. With a total of a $45 pet fee, $15 per pet, it seems to me the hotel staff would have enough common sense to know that if you throw something under the door at 3 in the morning, the dogs are going to wake up and bark! When I went to the front desk to complain, there was nobody there, since he was out delivering invoices. I finally found him and asked what he was thinking since the hotel knew I had my dogs with me. He told me that I should have been given a magnet to put on my door to alert them I had dogs. I was never given a magnet, but it seems that he could read on my invoice where I had paid for my dogs! When I asked the front desk about this situation the next morning, I was told that even with the magnet, the invoice would have still been shoved under my door. Apparently, it is a policy of Candlewood Suites to shove your invoice under your door in the middle of the night! I paid for a room until 11:00 the next morning. I felt this practice to be extremely rude, as if they are trying to get you to leave early. What if I made phone calls or had other charges to my room the next morning? Their excuse was that some people want express check out, so that's why they do this. I have an idea! What about asking the paying customer if they want express check out? What a concept, asking the customer whether they want to be woken up at 3 in the morning so they don't have to spend 10 minutes at the front desk in the morning!

Since I had not had any sleep, I finally decided to make coffee that morning. The coffee pot broke so I went to the front desk to tell them what happened. The maintenance manager was there and told me it would be awhile before he could get me another one, because he would have to walk upstairs to get it! I heard him asking a co-worker if they wanted a sausage biscuit or something else, so I assume this was much more important than getting me another coffee pot!

When I was leaving my room that morning and talking about how tired I was, the guests in the room next to me were leaving and overheard me. They said, "Oh, you didn't get any sleep either?" I said no, what happened with your sleep? They told me that the people in the halls all night kept them awake and the people above them were taking showers in the middle of the night, which woke them up, because it sounds like the water is coming down the walls in your room. When I spoke to the manager about this, she told me, it wasn't their fault because they didn't build the hotel! That's true, however, guests are paying more money for high quality which includes well built and well insulated walls! If I wanted thin walls, I would pay for a lesser quality hotel!

So, after asking the manager for some type of room adjustment, for all the disruptions during the night, which led to absolutely no sleep, I was given $9 off my $120 room rate! Now, that's what I call customer care! I hope that whopping $9 discount helped the bottom line of the Fort Smith Candlewood Suites, or the Candlewood Suites franchise for that matter, because they will never seen another $1 from me!

The next night I stayed at a Best Western for 1/2 the price and slept all night. Even though the rooms next to me and above me were occupied, I did not hear ANY noise from the other guest rooms!

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter what your room choice is, because I called first thing in the morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JillMJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Booked two rooms at the Candlewood Suites off of Madison in Fort Smith Arkansas for one night due to a death in the family. The property was easy to get to, very clean and efficient. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful during our stay and even expressed their condolensces for our family's loss. The facility appears rather new, with nice room sizes, full size fridge and a two burner stove top, sink, dishes, dishwasher, and microwave for extended stay purposes and a flat screen tv. I needed another firmer pillow and they provided me one at the front desk. Since I am a priority rewards member I also got comped two free drinks/snacks of my choice from their snack room and the prices for items was extremely reasonable (Cola's $1.00, etc) Air conditioning worked fine and the room, even for the first floor which I do not normally stay on a 1st floor, was quiet. Would defintely stay at again. Did not use pool or work out facilities while there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, MO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days while taking care of family business. The hotel is fairly new and very clean. The front desk staff was friendly and ready to help with anything we needed. Our room had a kitchen area, so we were able to make our own breakfast, which was good. Also this hotel is located close to shopping areas, which was very handy. Definitely a good bargain as far as price was concerned. The only downfall was the first night of our stay was a bit noisy, as our room was close to the back entrance and the entry system was loud, and the door seemed to slam closed every time someone entered or left the building. Otherwise quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Smith hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort Smith
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
#3 of 22 in Fort Smith
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Aspen Hotel
Best Western Aspen Hotel
#6 of 22 in Fort Smith
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fort Smith
5.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Fort Smith City Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 22 in Fort Smith
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Smith

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Address: 7501 Madison Ave, Fort Smith, AR 72903-5255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fort Smith
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Smith
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Smith 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Candlewood Suites Fort Smith. We are an extended-stay hotel located just a few short miles from major corporations such as O.K. Industries, Planters Company (Kraft), Baldor Corporation, Coca Cola Corporation, Mac Steel, Gerber Products, Whirlpool, and Georgia Pacific, this all-suite hotel has all that you re looking for and so much more.Enjoy spacious, well-appointed accommodations that will feel like home. Cook your own meals in a full kitchen, stock up on whatever you need from The Candlewood Cupboard, relax in the overstuffed recliner as you watch one of the movies from our Candlewood Library, do laundry or work out when it s convenient for you.Get more done with business-friendly amenities such as an executive desk with speakerphone, free high-speed Internet, a state-of-the-art business center, and a complimentary daily newspaper.Don t miss area attractions such as the Fort Smith Museum of History and the Fort Smith Trolley Museum.Whether you re traveling for business or for pleasure, you can Consider Us Home. Rely on Candlewood Suites Fort Smith to make your stay one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Smith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith Hotel Fort Smith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing