We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night food”

McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #220 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Late night food”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went to McDonough's because I was looking for food after midnight. They had a great menu. There were a lot of people there for karaoke and it seemed like everyone was having an awesome time. The she-crab soup was the best I had while in Savannah for the weekend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    67
    28
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Bar Rocked It”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great selection of beer, reasonably priced, great football on Sunday and terrific pulled pork. We stopped into the bar 3 times in 2 days and felt like locals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadLee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Heavenly Scallops”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Ordered the Scallop basket with steak fries....FANTASTIC! The 7 or 8 Scallops were hand crusted...not the predone thick goey tire tread that covers most scallops. The crust was flakey and golden brown and the scallops were peaking thru the areas where the crust had broken open. They were tender and moist and perfectly cooked. If anyone knows scallops have about a 10 or 15 second window of cooking where they are great...anything under that time is to rare...anything over is over done. These were right in the sweet spot. People around the bar were asking what I ordered because it smelled so good! Steak fries were plentiful and the unsweet tea was fresh brewed and also plentiful!

Bartender was fantastic. Total bill before tip was $13.00 and well worth it. This place ROCKS!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped in for a couple drinks before the show at the theater across the street. It was early evening and the bartenders were very attentive. We went back after the show but it was crowded and pretty loud.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stopped in here both nights we were in town. The first night just because it was close to one of the night tours we were doing. We only ordered drinks but the service was fast and friendly. It was nice enough we stopped back in for drinks the second night. We had the same server who not only remembered us but remembered what we had to drink. Service like that goes a long way!!!! We had stopped in a couple of other places that were on the "to do" stops for tourists but McDonough's seems to be mostly locals which was great! I'm sure we will be back the next time we are in Savannah!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing