We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is clean and in a good area, with plenty of places to eat. The breakfast was great and the attendant kept the food replenished and the area clean. The room I had was clean and comfortable. I was on the 1st floor near the lobby. I would recommend the top floor and a room without a connecting door to your neighbor, unless you need it. The people above me stomped around their room back and forth until after 1am and started back at 7am. The people in the room on the other side of the connecting door played their TV loud. You can hear people walking outside your room through the night as the doors are not insulated. The hotel is otherwise very good. Just reserve a room on the upper floor.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jefasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear "Great Hotel" Guest:

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway. We appreciate your kind words regarding our clean nice rooms. We value any feedback we receive from our guests. I would like to apologize for the noisy neighbors and any inconvenience you endured during your stay.
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel, and we look forward to servicing your future lodging needs.

Best Regards,
The Team at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    246
    133
    66
    47
See reviews for
371
273
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Gave it five stars because for the price there is nothing wrong with this hotel. Stayed the night before a trip to Sea Island we found the front desk to be helpful and efficient. The elevator has a very nice worn Oak floor that gives it a little character. Our room was very clean ,large with a couch and comfortable beds. The breakfast may have not been a Ritz quality but was the usual fare of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express with French toast,Belgium waffles,sausage links,breads,yogurt,cereal etc. Nice work out room,indoor pool and hot tub.Nice safe area with many restaurants within walking distance . Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheloraruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

On our way back to VA from Ft. Lauderdale and stopped for the night. The bathtub was dirty and there was mold in the caulking around the tub. The walls of the tub and sink need a good scrubbing and the toilet had a ring.Elevator is rough on the inside. Haven't had breakfast yet since it is still the night before. We'll see. I have always been very satisfied with Country Inn and Suites but this one has been a bit of a disappointment. Lobby and front desk area need some cleaning and better decor. BTW...stayed in Country Inn and Suites in Columbia, SC on our way down to FL and was very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Country Inn & Suites Brand. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the condition of the elevator, front desk area and lobby. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here to rest for the night and for the price it was better than expected. The staff was very friendly at the desk and breakfast area. The breakfast was typical hotel breakfast. The rooms were clean and larger than your standard rooms. Indoor pool and spa could use some attention since the water was a little cloudy with depris in the pool and skum in the hot tub. I would stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank thop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

We would like to thank you for stopping by our hotel on the way to your destination and glad you enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the pool we have given the attention that it lacked during your visit . We apologize for any inconveniences it may have caused you.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again!!!

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The good: The staff at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. Easy to access I-95. Rooms were OK.
The not so good: Hair on the bathroom floor and sink when we got there. The breakfast was barely worth going down for. Need to upgrade. Ran out of toilet paper in the room - twice. Stayed there 5 nights and the room was never cleaned - not even the toilet. They put a new bathroom rug in the room, a bar of soap, four new towels and that was it. The coffee filter from the old guests was there when I got there. They left no new coffee for me each day - had to go downstairs only to find the pot empty at 8:00AM. The pool had to much clorine - my son and husband had to leave because the fumes were over powering. Over all the entire hotel needs a good cleaning. The cleaning staff management needs to take a more active part in making sure they are doing a good job. With so many hotels around they need to step it up. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We apologize for any inconveniences you may have endured during your visit

At this present moment we are upgrading our hotel with a clean and fresh look.

Next time you are passing through the Savannah area we would like for you to stay with us again. At that time you will see how much we have improved.

Thank you for your feedback !!

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived kind of late and had us in the wrong room. We changed to a suite and had to go back down to get sheets for the pull out. Breakfast was not very good. The food was just ok and there was a long wait if you wanted to make a waffle. I don't think we will be staying there again.
The hotel suite was nice but the common areas of the hotel needs some updating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0mmy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We apologize for any inconveniences that you have endured staying with us. Since your last visit we have updated our breakfast. Hopefully, next time when you are in the Savannah area you can pay us another visit.

Thanks for your feedback !!!!!

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddington, Maine
Level Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

accommodations very good in the king suites...excellent bed and pillows, very comfortable. Buffet breakfast ok, but nothing special. Great price, will return on our way thru Savannah again, location right of I95 and easy ride to downtown Savannah.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine04428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay here.

We can not wait for you to comeback and visit us and see the improvements we made to our "Be Our Guest' Deluxe Breakfast.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
9.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
#41 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah - I-95 S - Gateway
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
Address: 16 Gateway Boulevard East, 16 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419-7554 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
#24 Family Hotel in Savannah
#33 Business Hotel in Savannah
#34 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Country Inn & Suites Hotel in Savannah. With a convenient location just off I-95 and services designed for a productive stay, the brand-new 100% non-smoking facility Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Our Savannah, GA hotel's guests can take advantage of free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a complimentary breakfast buffet and on-site facilities like a Fitness Center and Business Center. Each of our Savannah hotel rooms features a microwave, a refrigerator and modern furnishings for guests' comfort. Plan your stay today and experience one of the best hotels in Savannah, Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Savannah Hotel Savannah
Clarion Inn And Suites Savannah
Clarion Hotel Savannah
Clarion Savannah
Savannah Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing