We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
Ranked #49 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Easley, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ok so it is November and we visited this hotel in May...I MAY be a procrastinator. I apologize! Upon checking in Jordan was great. They had just cleaned the carpets in our room so she promptly put us in a room w/dry carpet. Every member of the staff that we encountered was courteous! Furthermore, I cannot say enough about Ebony...she called the Welcome Center to get us directions to a landmark we were trying to find and she made it possible for us to extend our vacation one more day (who does not want to do that?). Thank you, Ebony, for everything! The room was nicely decorated and clean and the breakfast was warm (large containers of syrup out on the tables!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kat F,

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are glad to hear that our staff treated you with their upper most respect! We do hope that when you visit Savannah again you plan to stay with us.

We look foward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    262
    142
    77
    60
See reviews for
405
286
31
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! its beautiful and tempting, but if you value customer service....this is not for you. Upon arriving, we were greater by a young man who didn't speak English very well. He welcomed us and told us we were in room 105. After about 5 minutes of trying to get into room 105, we found out we were supposed to be in 115. That was embarrassing. Upon entering the hotel, unloading, setting up the baby's pack and play, my mother began to unload her work equipment (she works from home, so work goes where she goes...and unfortunately it followed her on vacation this time). While reserving the hotel, we were guaranteed access to free wifi (because she HAS to work!). When she started to (try) work, the wifi wasn't available for any of the 3 adults in the room. We called the front desk and "Quincy" told us he was too busy to help us. (Awesome right?) About 20 minutes later, Quincy was kind enough to come help. He also could not make the Internet work. He told us to call tech support. We did, and they informed us there was something definitely wrong. Just as we got off the phone with tech support, Quincy called. He said he had just gotten off the phone with tech support and confirmed that everything was ok. He straight up LIED to us. We tried getting him to switch us to an equally handicap accessible room (or even two rooms, which wasn't ideal). He refused to help us. Told us there was no manager. Talked to my mother as if she were a child. He was so rude, that my sweet, handicapped mother, my wheelchair bound husband, my one year old and myself. Packed up to leave. After being denied a refund. If a hotel guarantees u free wifi, u should get it right? Quincy should be fired!!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dksmatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our stay started out good with an easy check-in. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge. Breakfast was a little weak and our bathroom door wouldn't lock, but the pros way out weighed these few cons. We were very satisfied with our stay with what we paid. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Tracy W,

We are happy that you took the time to tell us how your stay was with us. We will address maintance to check all of the locks in all of our rooms to make sure that this doesn't happen again in the future to our guests. We hope that in the future you stay with us!

We look foward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I came down for Savannah State University homecoming and this is the closet hotel that was available, even though it was a few miles from campus it was close to I-95 where I came in from therefore it was in a great location, the service was great a little
slow at time but overall great, the room was very
nice, and I will stay
again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babigyrl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel, and hope you decide to stay with us again when you come visit Savannah, or Savannah State University again.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I always like a room that has somewhere to sit and watch TV besides the bed. The sofa was clean and comfortable. We only spent one night on the way to Florida. The AAA price was very good. When we got to our room the bed wasn't made, Quincy was wonderful about changing us to another room and checked back to be sure everything was ok. Appreciated the cookies on check-in, they made a great dessert when we got back from dinner. Breakfast was ok, more variety than some other places. I agree that the potatoes could do with less rosemary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Judith M,

We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and we are glad you decided to stay with us while you were traveling through Savannah. We will make sure to address housekeeping to make sure that the rooms are completely finished for our guests. Also we will make sure to address breakfast about the amount of rosemary on the potatoes. We hope that in the future you decide to stay with us while traveling through Savannah.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great place to stay. Quincy at the check in desk was so helpful and friendly. He made us a new pot of coffee and even let us borrow a sharp knife to cut our apples. Comfortable rooms and beds. Nice breakfast, would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Carolyn P,

We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! We will most defiantly acknowledge Quincy for his excellent service towards you when you stayed with us. We hope you decide to stay with us again when you visit Savannah.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a beautiful, modern hotel and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our suite was spacious and affordable. The complimentary coffee was suberb - the best we've ever had - and we enjoyed it every evening. The pool was so warm (probably 85) that we hardly needed the hot tub, but we went in anyway. Lovely. Most hotel pools are cool, so this was a pleasant change. The staff at the front desk and breakfast buffet were VERY friendly, helpful and efficient. We needed to extend our stay by another night while waiting for car repairs to be completed after hitting a deer (very sad), and this was no problem at all for the hotel. We stayed in the same suite, which was freshened and replenished daily. The buffet was excellent offering different hot dishes each day. The staff certainly went a long way to making us comfortable and pampered and were concerned and sympathetic to our plight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon K, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

We are very happy to hear that you had great stay with us! Thank you for letting us know that our staff was helpful to you, and that you enjoyed all of our amenites. It is helpful for us to know how our guests stays are, so we know if we need to make any changes or keep things the same in the future. We hope in the future you plan to stay with us while staying in Savannah.

We look foward to seeing you again.

Respectfully,
Shannon Kochendarfer
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Best Western Central Inn
#38 of 113 in Savannah
827 reviews
Comfort Inn Midtown
#42 of 113 in Savannah
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
Address: 16 Gateway Boulevard East, 16 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419-7554 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
#24 Family Hotel in Savannah
#33 Business Hotel in Savannah
#34 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Country Inn & Suites Hotel in Savannah. With a convenient location just off I-95 and services designed for a productive stay, the brand-new 100% non-smoking facility Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Our Savannah, GA hotel's guests can take advantage of free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a complimentary breakfast buffet and on-site facilities like a Fitness Center and Business Center. Each of our Savannah hotel rooms features a microwave, a refrigerator and modern furnishings for guests' comfort. Plan your stay today and experience one of the best hotels in Savannah, Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Savannah Hotel Savannah
Clarion Inn And Suites Savannah
Clarion Hotel Savannah
Clarion Savannah
Savannah Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing