We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Ranked #56 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Because we travel with our dogs, we have stayed at La Quinta Inns on our travels from Canada to Florida each winter. We booked our first night on the way home at this hotel and booking in at 9:00 meant all parking spaces were gone! The rooms were a little rubbed down and not as clean as they could have been. Most disappointing part of stay was the neighbors and all the screaming and hollering outside our door! We called front desk and asked to be relocated because our dogs were getting very upset and we were told " no"! I don't know if it is a coincidence or not, but our two worst stays with La Quinta have both been in Georgia (Augusta) last year!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank peytonspawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 750 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

I booked 2 Non Smoking rooms w/double beds online and was supposed to be guaranteed my 2 rooms with double beds because I entered my Credit Card info....well that didn't happen. I was not told but just given the room cards to find one king room and one double room. I went to the front desk and they told me that they only had one left and if I wanted to drive another 10 miles I could go to another La Quinta. I had just driven 6 hours out of Florida and was really tired and just wanted to rest. So my Brother-in-Law had to sleep on this thing that sorta resembled a couch and he is 6'7" tall and my Mother-in-Law and Aunt slept in the king bed. Our room smelled like an ashtray (I do not smoke) and the carpet was soaking wet with a musty odor. It was not an enjoyable sleep. Woke up and went downstairs to get breakfast at 7 AM .. breakfast started at 6 AM we were told and ended at 9 AM. There were no waffles one bagel left and a Muffin. When I asked the attendant if there were more waffles she replied "it takes a while to mix them" ...seriously? with her standing there...I was wondering if these were magic or what? Ive made waffles in my lifetime and all it is..is pancake mix for goodness sake. I saw a large family there eating waffles and the mother was telling someone that she worked at the La Quinta and brings her kids every weekend for breakfast..well now we know why the breakfast station was empty. This was my first time staying in a La Quinta and I was really disappointed in this stay and will never go back again.

Room Tip: Keep Drivng
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glassgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Good mid-range hotel for the price. Not sure I agree with the new policy of "rent by the week" guests. They seem to think they OWN the hotel and are rather rude to the other guests and the hotel employees. Other than that, good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank johnniel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

To whom it may concern, I would like to thank Mr Hugh for his professional management service. His staff is always friendly and helpful. I always feel right at home from the monent I check in/out of his hotel. Mr. Hugh is always eagered to ensure that my needs are meet with the utmost customer satisfaction. LaQuinta Inns & Suites is always my first choice, I am always guaranteed great hospitality food and service. I never hesitate to recommend my family and friends because I know that they will be treated extremely special. I am looking forward to my next visit. Thank you for this opportunity to allow me to share my experience at LaQuinta Inns & Suites!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Cherlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Beware !
We are 3 sisters traveling together with 1 dog & need "pet-friendly" places to stay. Most are wonderful but not this place !
One sister and I room together and the other keeps the well behaved and clean dog. We were given 2 "pet-friendly rooms, possibly to keep us close together. Both rooms smelled like dogs (unusual, in our experience) but we figured we could endure it for one night.
No one slept well and at 5AM our sister with the dog told us she would be waiting in the car until we were ready to go. BUGS in her room, she just wanted out of there ! Unfortunately it ruined our trip to Savannah because we just couldn't wait to leave it all behind !

Room Tip: I have no idea if the other rooms are any better but no way would we ever go back there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerDanville_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We only sayed at La Quinta Inns when we are on the road but the La Quinta Inn in Savannah is not as good as some others.
The lobby is not very welcoming, the rooms are tired, the cleanliness is average and there are a lot of details to fix in the room.
It is more like a motel.
Not my favorite for sure :-(

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentCL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel met our needs,Not fancy,but clean and a good value.We had a one night stay for a college visit and would stay here again. Clean and confortable. A very good staff. The breakfast was good,but crowded. There was no meat available,but it did have waffles and other items. Coffee was not fresh brewed,but liquid type-Just fair.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank JimmyInGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#37 of 114 in Savannah
890 reviews
8.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 114 in Savannah
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Address: 8484 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31406-3425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $85 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodations and convenient access to area attractions, come to the La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located just six miles south of the historic district/River Street and only half a mile from Hunter Army Base. We are pet friendly, and the front desk is open 24-hours, with fax/copy services available. A Free Bright Side BreakfastTM awaits you mornings in the lobby along with a copy of USA Today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Savannah Southside
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Hotel Savannah
La Quinta Savannah
Savannah La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing