We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, Nice comtemporary upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Ranked #59 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
SAVANNAH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Nice comtemporary upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is right in the Oglethorpe Mall area. Great location! Don't let the exterior deceive you. I think the building was an old Baymont Inn. It has been recently redecorated with contemporary furnishings and HD TV. I had an executive king which included a microwave and fridge. The price was reasonable and the desk staff very accommodating. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnorras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    209
    108
    56
    44
See reviews for
229
202
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I don't know where to begin .walking through the door appeared to have been pried open at some point,there's also about a two inch gap at the bottom of the door.the room is so small you can't even turn around in it. My dog scratched the entire 2 nights, she didn't even like it.old matted carpet and flooring,whatever you do don't stay at this location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Nh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Paid extra for king executive suite and was greatly disappointed. It was sleeping in an old conference room. I will never stay here again. Now I have my doubts about staying at any other La Quinta hotels.

Room Tip: Stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Cottage, New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this location on our way to Florida. The location was great but the employees were outstanding. Maquita was extremely helpful withe the WIFI and checking us in. Kathy was also very helpful in getting us on the shuttle to tour Savannah (use Old Savannah Tours) and Bridget was a multi tasker. Constantly cleaning and keeping the lobby area in fine shape. The rooms, for the price was a great deal. The carpets in the room need some attention but other than that it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel should have earned a 4 or 5, but i'm giving it a 2 and i thought about giving it a 1. I'll cut to the chase: the shower handle didn't work (or, at best, was so temperamental i couldn't get it to work). No water in the tub, no water from the shower. My wife and i got no showers during our stay. That's a fundamental flaw. It's too bad, because they do so many things right at this place: the staff is cheerful and helpful, the room was pretty, the location on Abercorn Street is convenient, the breakfast lounge looks like a restaurant, and the price is right. So much good. I would've given them a higher mark even if the tub faucet worked and the shower didn't! But a guest needs to be able to clean themself. The manager called me a week later (very good customer service, that) and insisted that they tested the shower after my complaint and were able to turn it on. Even if that's true (and i'm not convinced that it is), it still raises doubts about the hotel's choice of plumbing fixtures. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, on 4 different continents, and i realize that for some showers, you have to take the time to figure them out. I'm not against taking a few minutes to figure out how a shower works, although some would say i shouldn't have to. But if (as here) a shower resists my efforts to learn its controls, that's a serious problem.

Room Tip: Ask to test the shower before they give you the room. And later, when you take your first bath or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Average hotel. Nothing fancy. Hotel was fairly clean. Rooms compact. Staff very friendly and helpful! Heads up : walls are paper thin! Ok for an overnight stay but wouldn't recommend for more than that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherishhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at La Quinta Inn on a quick trip to pick up our college student for Winter Break. The inn was easily accessible to AASU, our son's school. The room was overall clean with the exception of a sticky rug in an out of the way spot. The mattress on the King sized bed was luxurious. The roll-away bed was painful, by contrast. The desk staff was excellent! I dealt with Night, Morning, and Afternoon Receptionists; each was cordial, helpful, and efficient. The place was being renovated and our room rate was a DEAL! We felt we could endure a paint smell in the halls for one night. We have reserved a room again for our January student drop-off trip. The handicapped accessibility of our room was very adequate. A shower chair was provided. We had a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Dan_Wittmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Savannah Midtown
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
#38 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#48 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#81 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
Address: 8484 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31406-3425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodations and convenient access to area attractions, come to the La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located just six miles south of the historic district/River Street and only half a mile from Hunter Army Base. We are pet friendly, and the front desk is open 24-hours, with fax/copy services available. A Free Bright Side BreakfastTM awaits you mornings in the lobby along with a copy of USA Today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Hotel Savannah
La Quinta Inn And Suites Savannah Southside
La Quinta Savannah
Savannah La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing