We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room, Management Never Cleaned Properly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown
Ranked #72 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location was about a 10 minute drive to the historic district and had plenty of restaurants in the area to walk or drive to and was between Savannah's 2 malls. That is pretty all I can say that was good with this hotel. We spoke to the manager and told him that the toilet was not clean, but it never was cleaned and we left the hotel 1 day early since we just did not like the cleanliness. In addition, the pool was very small, never had towels. The exercise room was also very small and never had towels and never met our workout needs. The pool was just too small and cold to use. The whirlpool worked, but it was very small. The breakfast is included with your room, but don't expect much. It is sparse and it really didn't have very much choice. Standard egg patties and sausage...it did have make your own waffle with 2 machines. Eh, OK, no real complaints, just lacked choice and did not change between the 2 days we were there, we were just so disappointed compared to other hotels we had stayed at in the area. We left the hotel 1 day early due to the fact that after telling the manager, Howie, our bathroom was never cleaned properly and I will leave it with that, very disgusting. The sofa bed hurt my nephew's back and the room had an odor. In addition, the wall unit air conditioner did not use a thermostat and was so loud and right next to a bed. I kept trying to cool the room, but could not effectively cool the room down for a few hours after arrival. The temp. throughout the room was also hugely different, but the desk area was hot since the wall unit never really cooled the whole room. In addition, I never had a good night's sleep with the clunky and loud air conditioner within 6 inches of my bed...way too loud! Overall, many other choices in the area and you can do much better and nothing really special...I tried to use the business center computer next to the desk and the printer had no paper. Hotel really needs someone to periodically walk around and replenish supplies like towels. Also, to inspect rooms periodically for cleanliness, especially the bathrooms. I expect better from a Marriott chain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVSH, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear emseiss,

I certainly thank you for taking the time to write your review. I can assure you that the property is walked at least twice daily. I wish the pool and fitness room were a little larger as well. In response to bathroom cleanliness I did speak with our housekeeping manager about the issues you reported, if they were not resolved, I was not aware. I immediatley would have made sure they were if known. The breakfast is totally what is typical for SpringHill Suites, on a positive note we are getting ready to redo our breakfast, all SpringHill Suites will be changing the breakfast by July 1st. I am sorry for the air conditioning discomfort, all of our rooms are equipped with the same units. We do value your opinion and will certainly use your comments for improvement moving forward. I thank you for you staying with us and wish you coninued safe travels.

Howard L. Loggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location, convenient to everything. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are simply but nicely appointed. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bed exceeded my expectations. I was impressed with the mattress and the pillows and got a great night's sleep here. Since this is one of the most important elements for me when choosing a hotel, I will book here again! Breakfast was a big hit, with plenty of choices and something for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLisa1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The room appeared to be clean but upon further inspection, two areas were a concern: The bathroom and the sofa-sleeper.The bathroom soap shelf had black mold in the cracks, very evident against a white tile surround. The sofa sleeper mattress also had some gray/black spots, the side mattress was ripped and there were no sheets. The Management team did provide different accommodation to help rectify the situation. Good recovery!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for our girls all star basketball game. The rooms were very comfortable and very clean and recently updated. The staff was exceptional and everything was always smooth and professional. The breakfasts were good and very well administered. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a good location -- close to restaurants, shops, etc. The staff was very pleasant and professional. Althought this hotel was Inexpensive, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However this hotel is in much need of a redo. Breakfast is typical for Springhill chain. Lots of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I are seniors and highschool and we stopped in savannah for a night on our way home from florida. The first hotel we tried to stay at wouldnt let us check in because we were under 21. The Springhill suites however let us check in and they were cheaper. Our room was spacious with nice furniture and layout. I think the room was designed well in the given space. Any time we saw a staff member they were very friendly. They had computers in the lobby with a printer, a big sitting area with tvs and decent breakfast spread. We would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Savannah, Georgia for a weekend getaway. He booked Springhill Suites Savannah Midtown for our second night’s stay on priceline.com and got a great deal.

What can I say about our unfortunately brief stay in this hotel suite except we loved it! Our room was comfortable and cozy – the way a romantic retreat should be. The bed was cushiony and made for a restful night’s sleep. The sink was separate from the shower area, which allowed us to get ready at the same time in the morning.

The staff was nice, but what was even more welcoming was how polite and friendly the other guests were.

The hotel is in good proximity to I-95, the Riverfront, and other tourist attractions without being in the hustle and bustle of downtown Savannah.

The breakfast buffet area is quite expansive enabling a modest crowd to maneuver in and out of line. It was one of the best we have had – bananas, apples, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, waffles, cold cereal, coffee cakes, bagels, English muffins, juice, coffee, tea, and milk. We were thoroughly satisfied with the selection.

We are definitely keeping this hotel on our radar for our next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLORL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
TownePlace Suites Savannah Midtown
Courtyard Savannah Midtown
#71 of 115 in Savannah
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown

Address: 11317 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-1825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $93 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residing directly off of Abercorn Street, the hotel is conveniently located to many well-known establishments in Savannah - Girl Scout First Headquarters, Armstrong Atlantic State University, Savannah College of Art & Design, St. Joseph's and Candler Hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Springhill Suites Savannah
Savannah Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing