We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful stay in Savannah!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We all were so happy with our stay at Hampton Inn we just can't say enough great things to express what a wonderful experience it was!! The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the location of the hotel was so..convenient to everything downtown Savannah has to offer. The deluxe breakfast was awesome each morning...coffee & hot tea available all day was nice too! The Hampton Inn staff were awesome & helpful throughout our stay! We love Savannah and have visited 4-5 times. We will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn Historic District again in the future! Thanks, Kathy & Roy Carlson & Friends

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axe1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelliepickhardt, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Your comments are much appreciated!! I thank you for sharing your great experience and the Hampton Team hopes to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,343 - 2,349 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

The Hampton Inn on Bay St in Savannah is an absolute gem with great location ( 5 minute walk to River St), great service, really cool design and look of the hotel and awesome roof top pool area to get a really sweet view of the city. Such a great city to walk around in and this hotel totally complimented my trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

In the end, location is the key for me and in Savannah, this hotel has it. We were pleasantly surprised how "historic" this hotel looked from the outside. It didn't detract from the overall feeling of the historic district like some other hotels. It is so close to the waterfront and great shopping and nightlife. We walked around both days and even so, managed to gain 10 more pounds. This city is fun!

We skipped the breakfast here both days as we hoped to enjoy a champagne brunch only to learn that no liquor on Sundays until after 12:30 city wide. Huh? Seriously, they give you to go cups and then get worried about champagne at brunch? It is worth a chuckle however.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I come to Savannah a lot. This was our first stay at this hotel. It is modern, clean, and was a typical Hampton Inn. Rooms had microwaves, fridges, and granite counters in the bath. The free breakfast had western omelets and other hot foods which is a step up from the usual free breakfast. The hotel is in the historic district, but there is nothing historical about the hotel. It screams chain hotel and lacks the charm of the historic inns. However, you can't beat the location. It's a 5 minute walk to bars, restaurants, and shopping. You will need to use the hotel valet parking, which is an extra $15 per night. But, you won't need your vehicle at all once you've checked in. This hotel is good for families and non-romantic vacations. If you want romance there are better options in this beautiful city.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank dgroulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We arrived in Savannah by train at 7 a.m. We had reservations at the Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District. Check in time was suppose to be 2 p.m. The taxi dropped us off at 7:30. The staff was amazing from the second we walked in the door. They agreeed to hold our bags for us until check in, and told us they would call as soon as the room was ready. Then they asked if wr had eaten breakfast yet. And told us to help ourselves to the breakfast being offered in the lobby. The entire place was very clean. And the food was good. It is the friendliness of the staff that truly made our stay amazing. The one person that stood out was Michelle Jones. She was very helpful with everything from resturant reccomendations, to having a taxi waiting to take us anytime we needed one. And she always had a smile. Our weekend was great. The view from the pool on the roof is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBrooks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I continue to be impressed with Hampton Inns as I travel the country. This one, however, had the nicest staff who couldn't do enough for us regardless of the time of day (we checked in at midnight and out at 4am). Without a doubt we'll be staying her on our next visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatieCT045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The service was outstanding as soon we checked in. The room was excellent and very clean with all the amenities and very spacious. Location was within walking distancce of all the sights and including the riverfront. We enjoyed the breakfast that came with the room. Excellent. The location was our best feature. Would go back again.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Domyankeeclipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 114 in Savannah
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $154 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing