We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern charm,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #14 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Southern charm,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel; it looks new and doesn't look like any other Hampton Inn in our experience. The lobby resembles a gracious home in the historic district. This is also the most expensive Hampton Inn we've stayed in, and it charges for parking, of which there is not enough. So if you're not there early, you'll wind up parking in a lot across the street. Located within one or two miles from all historic district attractions. Plan on doing some walking; Savannah is the perfect place to do so.

Room Tip: Try to reserve away from street noise, although the hotel is located on the corner of a busy interse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46CarolM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your support and loyalty to our brand. It is great to know that we rank with the best of Hampton Inn's in your opinion, and that you enjoyed our property. Thank you for taking the time to post this review, and we hope to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    656
    170
    56
    15
See reviews for
576
1,024
52
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
337 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you pull up you know this is no typical hampton inn. You are warmly greeted in front of hotel , asked if you need any assistance with your luggage and your car is taken and parked.( of cause at twenty dollars a day ) the lobby of this hotel is beautiful. Warmly greeted at front desk. Our room was on fifth floor. Suppose to be room with a river view. We all I had was a view of the tree tops. But the room was very clean and comfy. We had a king room. So back to the lobby. The concierge was very helpful.gave us some great things to do and places to eat. We were in walking distance to many things.they also have many nice sitting areas . Warm beverages are set up all day and night.my favorite was the fireplace and the four wing backed chairs..a newspaper was left outside our door each morning. The staff was so friendly. And breakfast was ok.lots of choices from cereal ,waffles,eggs and muffins.. Etc... A place I hope to come back to. I will say it was the nicest hampton inn we have ever been to..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts in detail regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and I am happy to see that we took great care of your needs. As, stated our location can't be beat, and we have the an awesome staff to accommodate your every need. I look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Policy has changed since our last stay. Now if you want to park under the hotel you must have valet parking. This is very inconvenient to the guests who do not want valet parking. If you do not have valet parking you have to park in City Parking. I would prefer to take my own bags to my room and now you can not do that either you must pay for someone to take them. For such a nice hotel the breakfast was terrible. The toaster did not work, most of the breakfast was cold and the selection was poor. I have had better breakfast in much cheaper hotels. We decided we would leave and had a much better breakfast on the road. The only thing I can say good about our visit this time is that the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is very centrally located but it is not worth the hassle of valet parking and a poor breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfpintHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for staying at our hotel and your continued support over the years. I understand that you haven't stayed with us since March 2005, and that services have progressed since your last stay. It is true that our parking facility is valet only, which gives our guest unlimited access to the garage for one flat rate, however it is not mandatory to tip over valet for Bellman services. The Bellman are there to provide service in a timely manner to our beloved guests, so that all hotel guests have access to luggage carts. This was a huge concern to our guests because some would take and store Bellman carts in their rooms, which would inconvenience dozens of other guests. I would also like to apologize for the breakfast experience you had at our property. I will look into your concerns and take immediate action if necessary.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We just returned home from a 2-night stay. We arrived early on Friday so our room was not yet ready. We left to walk to lunch near by and were pleasantly surprised when we received a call from the hotel when the room was ready. Our entire stay was very pleasant. The staff are quite accommodating, the complimentary breakfast was fresh and the room was clean and comfortable. Savannah is such a lovely town to walk around and this hotel's location is perfectly located for everything.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tdevoy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

We really appreciate your feedback concerning our property and staff. It is great to hear that we were able to contact you to get into your room a little early. The location we have is fantastic for tours, site seeing, and restaurants. Thank you for posting this review, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here in December last year and had a great time. It was close to the Lady and Son's restaurant, Bay street, and walking to where we had a ghost tour carriage ride. The rooms were a bit on the small side with the two beds, but it was nice and clean and we got a good night's rest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, and had a good nights sleep. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the future, and it was a pleasure having you and your daughter stay with us.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is located in a great spot; ALL the front desk persons as well as the parking attendants, the breakfast servers, and those who cleaned our room were very helpful and very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank drjack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to express your views concerning our property. I appreciate your feedback and loyalty to Hampton. Our staff is what makes our property shine, and your comments about them greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

You pretty much know what to expect at a Hampton Inn, however this one exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived, the staff was polite, always greeted us in the common areas, and the room was furnished a little more nicely than what we usually see at other HI's.

Location: the property is perfectly located on Bay St. In the Historic District within easy walking distance to all of the parks in the Historic District. The location is well worth the fee for valet parking.Breakfast: the room was larger than at other
HI's, and attractively appointed and there were 2 attendants who were helpful. The offerings were standard.

There are many restaurants close by.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for posting this review and giving us great feedback! We take every review very seriously and are always looking for ways to get better. We are so happy that your stay was outstanding, and you were happy with the amenities we offer. It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing