We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Historic District Savannah GA.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Ranked #15 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent location for walking to desired destinations and easy access to transportation if desired. Restaurants close, Quiet hotel, Pool has great view of area, continental breakfast had fruits, cereal and waffles with the works. Good coffee!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear guest:

The hot coffee is very good! Thank you this review acknowledgeing the great location and amenities we have to offer here at the Hampton Inn. We all appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to give this valuable feedback!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel had one of the friendliest and helpful staffs I have ever encountered in a hotel stay. The lobby was relaxing and had fresh cookies at 5 and ALWAYS hot fresh coffee, hot chocolate or tea. It was very clean and the rooftop pool/city overlook was beautiful. The one and only downside was paying 20$ to park each day. But it was a great location to walk anywhere you would like to see in Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Heather K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Heather K L:

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the cookies and hot coffee in the lobby. We all appreciate this wonderful review and look forward to another opportunity to serve you and your family.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is across the street from the river front and so close to all the shops and restaurants. Great place to stay and the staff and hotel are wonderful. The lobby is beautiful with the original brick walls. The breakfast is typical for hot fare but good. The staff can't do enough for you and oh so friendly. We would definitely come back to this hotel again if we are ever in Savannah again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Fran N:

Thank you! Everyone here enjoyed the interaction with you and your wonderful wife. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. See you soon, maybe when the temp is a little cooler.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at this property, and similar to the previous two visits, we enjoyed our stay yet again. First off, the location cannot be beat, period! We park our car (parking tip coming), and walk everywhere (even with an 11 & 7 year old). Places such as "busy" River Street (restaurants, shops, nightly entertainment, etc.) & Broughton Street (shopping, restaurants, etc.) are less than a five minute walk outside the Hampton doors. City Market is less than 10 minutes away also, so again, the location is ideal. Again, you will pay a little more, but it is well worth the extra money. Hotel wise, both check-in & check-out was a breeze, with attendants always smiling and saying "hello." The roof-top pool is a gem also, with excellent views of the River Street area. As for the parking tip, we have never used the valet parking ($18 daily), but instead opt to pick up a parking pass at the visitors center for only $12 (good for 48 hours), and park directly across the street in the Bryan Street parking garage. Thanks again to Hampton Inn, our "home away from home" when we make our yearly visit to Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear dk0823:

We always enjoy when you and your family come and visit us. You also feel like extended family to us as well. We appreciate the wonderful review and look forward serving you again next time.

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here exploring Savannah, The location is excellent, being a stones throw from River Street. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us food and attraction recommendations that were spot on. The king bed was very comfortable and the 6th floor view over the river relaxing after enjoying Savannah all day. The hotel was clean and everyone that we interacted with on the property was very friendly. I would stay here again when in Savannah.

Room Tip: Bay street is noisy, so the higher the better. Older A/C units in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dupetersentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear dupeterstravel:

Thank you for taking the time to write ths review. It is always a pleasure to hear for our guest and appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were able to park in the city lot across the street, which did save us some money. However, we arrived on a Sunday night, so not exactly the busiest time. It was challenging to find luggage carts, but once we were able to, we were in business! This hotel was literally right next to the trolley stop, and across the street from the River. You couldnt ask for a better location, it was perfect dor walking, picking up the trolley, etc.

My only complaint is that we had the air conditioner on 66 degrees, and it felt like is never really got cooled off in there. And my allergies went haywire , which is traditionally because of the dust in the AC units. Some hotels are better than others in that respect, and this one was pretty rough. The humidity in Savannah in August is no joke, so I don't know if there is any AC unit that can handle it, but we were only there 4 a few days, so not a dealbreaker.

Even with that being said, great hotel and the fam had a great time! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffins_mom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear muffin_moms_11:

Thank you for this wonderful review! We all appreciate your valuable input and we understand your concerns.

Thank you!

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location, staff, service, and pricing for this hotel all exceeded my expectations. Overall a very good experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone staying in the Savannah area. The complimentary breakfast was very good with many choices and a great value and time saver.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you!
We all appreciate your recognition about our property. We all look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 115 in Savannah
3,051 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#5 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#16 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $146 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing